IG Wealth Management Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

IG Wealth Management Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 639 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
IG Wealth Management CEO Jeffrey R. Carney
Jeffrey R. Carney
221 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Best Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IG Wealth Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and fast paced Work life balance, Diversity and inclusion Compensation highly competitive and leading the market

    Cons

    None. Great time to join the organization

    IG Wealth Management2019-07-10
  2. "Great company with huge potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IG Wealth Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great bracket of investment and insurance products. Complete personal financial report for every client.

    Cons

    Commission based. Maybe hard start up for some new consultant, but a huge potential if you can pass it.

    IG Wealth Management2019-08-15
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IG Wealth Management part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Using the highest technology to provide the best and accurate PFP in the market

    Cons

    Office fees are so high, especially for beginner

    Advice to Management

    Reduce the office fees

    IG Wealth Management2019-08-16
  4. "Flextime hours and great co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Processor in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IG Wealth Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great cafeteria, cheap food, excellent workstation

    Cons

    No employee parking as it is located in downtown.

    IG Wealth Management2019-08-12
  5. "Best Place to learn the financial ropes!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Consultant in Whitby, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IG Wealth Management full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The level of training, coaching, on-going mentorship, and continuous learning that was provided was a crucial foundation at building an independent personal financial planning business.

    Cons

    You will get challenged at every step to overcome obstacles that you may or may not want to face but you're never alone doing it. I would highly recommend getting your own personal finances in order and laid out for 6-12 months when starting a career as a consultant. Self-employment is a tough place to start with no guarantee of income to pay you bills but no matter how tough it got; it always worked out. For many times...

    Show More
    IG Wealth Management2019-08-08
  6. "Great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 

    I worked at IG Wealth Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great support from leaders and management.

    Cons

    You really must work hard to get your own clients, but in the end, it's worth it.

    IG Wealth Management2019-07-30
  7. "Rapidly changing organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Securities Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IG Wealth Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Jeff Carney is doing his best to turn this ship around.

    Cons

    Legacy assets - or liabilities of the firm - such as Consultants who make a killing at the expense of clients - need to be gone if they're not truly adding value. If DSC was still an option, they'd load people up 9 times out of 10.

    Advice to Management

    Lower comp to the beasts who are getting too fat. Penalize 'leaders' for bad past recruiting practices.

    IG Wealth Management2019-08-08
  8. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at IG Wealth Management full-time

    Pros

    Good career development programs. Sponsor educational advancement

    Cons

    Typical corporate atmosphere. Too much work, too few people.

    IG Wealth Management2019-08-06
  9. "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Administrative in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IG Wealth Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My first full time job in Canada and I had good experience working with nice colleagues and boss. There was no one day I feel like I don’t wanna go to work. Pay is fair because it’s not busy environment .

    Cons

    Work volume is low at the time I was there

    IG Wealth Management2019-07-21
  10. "Take a long look here and your your homework before making a move."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managementq in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IG Wealth Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very strong and diversified product shelf for clients. There are great people representing this firm in the field and equally committed management teams at the region levels. It is a client first model, however much work needed to support the front line. A long path to travel still...

    Cons

    Poor communication, and very top down management style. Support for the field is poor and too many promises are not kept. The back end support for operations is still challenged on too many levels and brings frustration for the field.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose sight of what IG stands for, clients first and then your support team culture/morale. In my opinion, you've lost sight of the later.

    IG Wealth Management2019-07-29
Found 639 reviews