ICBC (Canada) Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ICBC (Canada) Reviews

Updated 5 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
ICBC (Canada) CEO Nicolas Jimenez (no image)
Nicolas Jimenez
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No challenges - need to adhere to what senior management want - no creativity or input from employees(in 9 reviews)

  • "Slow work environment for the new learner(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "New hire and loving it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Support Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time

    Pros

    1. government job 2. benefits and union 3. hours 4. location 5. every other Friday off 6. 40 min lunches and two 15 min breaks 7. denim Fridays 8. personalize and decorate your own desk area 9. uses Skype for daily communication/training 10. ICBC hires internally first, therefore advancement is a definite option

    Cons

    Only a few minor cons: 1. No water dispenser (only tap) 2. No cleaners (only when requested?)

    ICBC (Canada)2019-06-07
  2. "Good work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Developer in North Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not too much pressure to work here. Bottom line, always can get contractor to take those new technology challenge.

    Cons

    If you don't live on north shore and have to drive to work, you have to cross bridge, that's always painful.

    ICBC (Canada)2019-10-18
  3. "Just ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in North Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people...mostly. Ability to work from home, gym onsite

    Cons

    Have not had salary increase since 2012. Good at planning projects, OpEx but bad at following through

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees, stop making unnecessary changes

    ICBC (Canada)2019-11-05
  4. "Good for people who want to stay in one place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA 

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Even if you don't do anything your salary will go up

    Cons

    seniority - not able to move around freely

    ICBC (Canada)2019-11-05
  5. "Finance at North Vancouver Head Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in North Vancouver, BC
    Recommends

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team members Many internal opportunities to pursuit your career Good educational support where related to your role Good location

    Cons

    Paid parking A/C heating (first floor gets very cold)

    ICBC (Canada)2019-10-11
  6. "Awesome work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Surrey, BC

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional work environment. Enthusiastic staff

    Cons

    Paid parking Nothing else but that

    ICBC (Canada)2019-10-09
  7. "New hire and so grateful for this opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Support Assistant in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For me the most important reason to join ICBC would be the opportunity to develop my skills and grow within the company. The company offers: - Great workplace; - Friendly environment; - Room to grow within the company; - Professional performance plain; - Great career opportunities - A good work-life balance. I am so excited and motivated to work for this company and I think I have a strong background in customer... service and negotiation skills that I can use in potential future roles in ICBC.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have no complaints about this company so far.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to thank you for the attention and patience that I have received at ICBC Burnaby Claim Center..

    ICBC (Canada)2019-10-07
  8. "ICBC Is A Good Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intermediate Business Systems Analyst in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They are a competitive company with good wages and benefits.

    Cons

    The political climate surrounding ICBC creates a culture of uncertainty with in the corporation.

    Advice to Management

    Engage with your employees and value them. ICBC is a good company and retaining hard workers with good work ethic is important.

    ICBC (Canada)2019-10-18
  9. "A good place of doing less getting more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ICBC (Canada) full-time

    Pros

    Pension, working environment, easy going culture, all kinds of benefit, paid time off, easy job, union, government job security... This is a good place for people doing less and getting more. Everyone would love this kind of job, right? :)

    Cons

    If you do care about quality/performance/skill/knowledge, here might be some cons for you: many talk, little result high bureaucracy, low efficiency nice propaganda, poor implementation high goal, low quality good at small things, bad at core business lot of managers, short of workers If you worked in ICBC for long time, it would be hard to move to other place.

    Advice to Management

    The most important thing is to stay within government, or not survive.

    ICBC (Canada)2019-10-12
  10. "Great place to work but some jobs are impossible to do well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Injury Adjuster 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    benefits, vacation time, people,

    Cons

    low pay for many jobs, claims is a difficult place to work, impossible demands in claims

    ICBC (Canada)2019-09-25
Found 292 reviews