ICBC (Canada) Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ICBC (Canada) Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
ICBC (Canada) President and CEO Nicolas Jimenez (no image)
Nicolas Jimenez
74 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "New hire and loving it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Support Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time

    Pros

    1. government job 2. benefits and union 3. hours 4. location 5. every other Friday off 6. 40 min lunches and two 15 min breaks 7. denim Fridays 8. personalize and decorate your own desk area 9. uses Skype for daily communication/training 10. ICBC hires internally first, therefore advancement is a definite option

    Cons

    Only a few minor cons: 1. No water dispenser (only tap) 2. No cleaners (only when requested?)

    ICBC (Canada)2019-06-07

    ICBC (Canada) Response

    December 10, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to offer some feedback. We're happy to hear you're enjoying life at ICBC.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist 
    Recommends

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work environment with lots of opportunities

    Cons

    Advancement limited for employees without education

    ICBC (Canada)2020-01-19
  3. "Customer Service Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Adjuster in North Surrey, BC

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    benefits, salary, vacation time, union

    Cons

    micro management and shift bids

    ICBC (Canada)2020-02-21
  4. "ClaimSpecialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very chill, lots of autonomy

    Cons

    heavy caseload but i find it manageable

    ICBC (Canada)2020-02-14
  5. "Dumpster Fire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Examiner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reliable pay, benefits, interesting coworkers

    Cons

    Like working to re arrange the deck chairs on the titanic.

    ICBC (Canada)2020-02-10
  6. "Flexible work schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Telephone Claims Adjuster 

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, benefits and opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    The one thing I didn't like was that it was micro-managed

    ICBC (Canada)2020-01-18
  7. "Stress on a daily basis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Claims Specialist in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, vacation time, good management, CRAs, good location

    Cons

    Workloads are next impossible to handle

    Continue reading
    ICBC (Canada)2020-02-05
  8. "Technical Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ICBC (Canada) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment, good team, good benefit

    Cons

    not many chances to have a promotion.

    ICBC (Canada)2019-12-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Politically infested swamp by leadership - DANGEROUS / POISONOUS ENVIROMENT- STAY AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DTVI Customer Contact in North Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Quay, lunchroom, bus station, Seabus

    Cons

    Leadership harassment, bullying, lying, attacking hard working employees who speak up against unethical / immoral management / leadership . Many employees too scared and terrified to speak up or complain .. if u do speak up and/ or complain you either get disciplined, fired.

    Continue reading
    ICBC (Canada)2020-02-03

    ICBC (Canada) Response

    February 5, 2020Recruitment Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to offer some feedback. I am truly sorry to hear of your experience. If you would like to talk further on this, we'd be pleased to hear from you. Please contact us at askhr@icbc.com

    Continue reading
  10. "Indoors + Decent Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ICBC (Canada) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Indoors + Decent Pay, "renovated" Lunch room

    Cons

    Repetitive, draining, anxiety creating - Imagine yourself telling people who don't want to hear if they are liable or not all day. Close the blinds during summer - Every day you change seats so you never get to know the people around you.

    ICBC (Canada)2020-01-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 315 reviews