IBM Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

IBM Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46734 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
IBM CEO Virginia Rometty
Virginia Rometty
17,330 Ratings
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - IT Support Specialist 

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    Workplace, co-workers, education and training

    Cons

    Work hard, salary, manager unprepared

    IBM2019-08-29
  2. "Challenging but Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Leader in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and leadership. Solving tough problems for our clients. Exceptional opportunities for challenges.

    Cons

    It's a big company that has not quite mastered how to be agile. You have to be comfortable challenging processes and old ways of thinking on a daily basis. But it's worth the fight.

    IBM2019-08-27
  3. "It's OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many opportunities with a variety of projects and client types.

    Cons

    Disorganized. Disconnect between sales and delivery.

    IBM2019-09-09
  4. "Yup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at IBM full-time

    Pros

    it was very cool and good

    Cons

    It was slow at times and stuff

    IBM2019-08-26
  5. "ibm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    pay is great as well as benefits

    Cons

    hours are too long sometimes

    IBM2019-08-26
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Senior Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule Supportive management Training & career importance

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to work

    IBM2019-08-25
  7. "Big companies have advantages and disadvantages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Educational opportunities are great and if you get on the right project you can really make a difference. There are also great opportunities if you're willing to travel or you live in the right city. Employees are really committed to each other and their clients.

    Cons

    Locations with smaller offices have few opportunities to grow your career. The company move work around to remote teams so much that team cohesion suffers.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a manager in the same city whose utilization target is low enough that they have time to help employees grow their careers.

    IBM2019-09-08
  8. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Developer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, well respected company, most coworkers are highly intelligent, easy to talk to managers, flexible work hours, sometimes allowed to work from home (although that depends on manager)

    Cons

    Low salary compared to the competition, difficult location (the Markham lab is located in a very expensive /unaffordable area forcing me to have a very long commute)

    Advice to Management

    Consider opening locations in smaller towns where the cost of living is more reasonable.

    IBM2019-08-22
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst 

    I worked at IBM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Automated processes, good work environment, happy people

    Cons

    High pressure in most of the activities

    IBM2019-08-22
  10. "Good internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer Intern in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IBM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    IBM gives you a good starter experience to real world programming as a transition from education from school.

    Cons

    Not the most exciting tech, but dependent on your team.

    IBM2019-08-21
Found 46734 reviews
</>Embed