Hydro Ottawa Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hydro Ottawa Reviews

Updated Sep 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Metering summer student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Hydro Ottawa for less than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing opportunity to learn -Great crew

    Cons

    -Shop days could be slow

    Hydro Ottawa2019-03-22
  2. "No training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hydro Ottawa

    Pros

    Free parking Diversity Good benefits

    Cons

    Isolated far location Low pay Toxic environment

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees

    Hydro Ottawa2019-09-08
  3. "Disappointing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hydro Ottawa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits Company gives a lot back to the community

    Cons

    Culture Pay, never get a raise beyond 1 or 2 percent

    Hydro Ottawa2019-06-19
  4. "Few Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hydro Ottawa full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary, people, benefits, free parking

    Cons

    Hydro offers few growth opportunities for existing employees and little to no training. Job opportunities are written for outside hiring.

    Advice to Management

    Develope your people. Learn about intrinsic rewards

    Hydro Ottawa2018-10-19
  5. "Unionized utility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hydro Ottawa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unionized monopoly will never be out of buisness.

    Cons

    Union/management hostility and lack of good faith. Poison environment caused by both sides. So much public facing positive projection but it's somewhat of a sad place to work. Compensation and benefits less than private sector

    Advice to Management

    Relax a bit. You will always have a job and everyone needs to get along

    Hydro Ottawa2017-12-17
  6. "IT Full Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT FTE in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hydro Ottawa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly People, Safety oriented culture

    Cons

    Rules based organization, Very hard to create change

    Advice to Management

    Trust staff to make good change

    Hydro Ottawa2017-12-12
  7. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hydro Ottawa

    Pros

    Great people and safety is first

    Cons

    Terms should have annual salary reviews

    Hydro Ottawa2017-10-05
  8. "Summer Student Program Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Summer Student in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hydro Ottawa for less than a year

    Pros

    My experience working at Hydro Ottawa was very positive. The team is very friendly, and leaving my position after four months was difficult after making so many close friends. The atmosphere working at Hydro Ottawa is pretty laid back. All of the summer students get the opportunity to interact face-to-face with the CEO and executive staff. My supervisor was very informative and I learned a ton about the... electricity distribution industry.

    Show More

    Cons

    I believe that your experience at Hydro will be highly dependent on your supervisor. While I felt like I was making valuable contributions to the organization, not all students were so lucky. I know there were a few who felt that they were not being used to their potential, however this issue was brought up and might be resolved by next summer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great engagement with your students!

    Hydro Ottawa2017-09-06
  9. "Summer Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Student in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hydro Ottawa

    Pros

    Great place to work and learn from experienced workers. Everyone is so friendly and looking out for the best interest of the students. A lot of support and events for students

    Cons

    Supervisors are normally too busy in meetings to help students so you have to be resourceful and ask others for help

    Advice to Management

    Hiring process is much later than for other companies, so try to expedite the process.

    Hydro Ottawa2016-12-01
  10. "Key Accounts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hydro Ottawa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very fair organization that focuses on people's well-being

    Cons

    I have no cons to note at this time

    Advice to Management

    not providing in this forum

    Hydro Ottawa2016-10-06
Found 14 reviews