Hyatt Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hyatt Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Hyatt CEO Mark S. Hoplamazian
Mark S. Hoplamazian
1,074 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Unexpected shifts and long hours(in 163 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance will always be challenging in the hospitality industry where we offer services 24/7(in 120 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great atmosphere between staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and enjoyable environment between staff. Staff meals and benefits available.

    Cons

    Disorganized but understandable based on the newness of the property.

    Hyatt2019-10-07
  2. "Working at The Hyatt Hotel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Banquet Captain 

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits. Flexible. Approachable Management.

    Cons

    Union ran. Competitive. Inconsistent hours.

    Hyatt2019-08-20
  3. "Hyatt a generally decent place to work, depends on particular management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Concierge 

    I worked at Hyatt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits Wages on par with industry Opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    Disorganized management structure Some questionable hiring decisions

    Hyatt2019-09-03
  4. "Great company to work work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Hyatt part-time

    Pros

    They treated their staff with respect and paid fairly

    Cons

    Hard to schedule time off during the busy seasons

    Hyatt2019-07-17
  5. "Experienced in Sales Management especially in customer-goods industry, worked as Key account"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Create future and improve in job

    Cons

    To being familiar in sales field

    Hyatt2019-04-05
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hyatt full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work and rise

    Cons

    Lot of red tape on processes

    Hyatt2019-04-08
  7. "banquet server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Hyatt

    Pros

    free lunch, hotel rooms discount

    Cons

    less hours, cut benefit and workload is heavy than before

    Hyatt2019-01-28
  8. "My time at the Hyatt, managed by Pandox"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    WE have a union so Salary is amazing. Discounts great plus 12 free nights anywhere! Friend and family discount too no questions ask Software to book discounts GReat company

    Cons

    If managed by another company expect conflict and having to pay the price.: Guest expectations Vs Owners trying to make profit but cutting in everything Vs Hotel brand not doing anything

    Advice to Management

    Hotel is a HOSPITALITY BUSINESS ... do not charge 300++ a night and out minimum staff to avoid cost .. also stop burning out management.. specially the supervisors and assistants

    Hyatt2018-11-15
  9. "Hyatt Front Desk Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hyatt full-time

    Pros

    Thorough and educational training process

    Cons

    Corporate with lots of rules and regulations, but this is to be expected within such a large company.

    Advice to Management

    Try not to micro manage.

    Hyatt2018-11-13
  10. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hyatt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Working all through the week

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up,

    Hyatt2018-11-12
Found 2878 reviews