Huron Consulting Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Huron Consulting Group Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Huron Consulting Group CEO James H. (Jim) Roth
James H. (Jim) Roth
411 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance hard to maintain to meet deadlines(in 73 reviews)

  • "Weak managers will throw members of their team under the bus if they feel it will make them look better to upper management(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great environment for collaborative work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The teams really care about each other. Good environment to do meaningful work for their clients. Lots of opportunity for learning and advancement.

    Cons

    Large variance in quality of consultants. The vast majority are extremely strong but some weaker ones that put projects at risk.

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2019-07-31

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    August 20, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you are experiencing the culture in a positive way. Our focus on personalized learning and the development portal will allow for more meaningful and actionable development goals.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Mont-Royal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities for advancement, extremely intelligent co-workers and large repertoire of enterprise software implementations.

    Cons

    Clique based work environment, and friend based professional development.

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2018-05-03
  3. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity for professional growth

    Cons

    Poor work life balance, as is expected with consulting

    Huron Consulting Group2017-03-23
  4. "Higher Ed Consulting Analyst."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Higher Executive Director Consulting Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growth opportunities. The culture. Rewarding work. Beneficial technical skills learned.

    Cons

    Sort of thrown in the fire to begin client work with minimal system training. Work load.

    Huron Consulting Group2019-11-19
  5. "Senior Software Test Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Test Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work is nice. Great culture. You have the Independence to learn and implement what you want. Excellent work life balance. Completion of assigned work is given priority over timings. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Yearly hike percentage can be improved Profit sharing can be extended to employees

    Huron Consulting Group2019-11-15
  6. "A great place to be a consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good bonuses in good years, amazing culture and passionate people, better work-life balance than at other big firms.

    Cons

    No generalist training since you would specialize right away

    Huron Consulting Group2019-11-15
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and challenging work

    Cons

    No training, lots of learning on the fly

    Huron Consulting Group2019-11-12

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    November 12, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Ongoing development will continue to be an area of focus as we work to ensure everyone has the resources and support to grow in their careers.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Company, Good Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people. The benefits. Strong executive leadership. A team oriented culture. A resource management department that takes the guess work out of getting staffed.

    Cons

    The travel - but it's the nature of the job.

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2019-10-29

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    November 12, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, very talented and hard working.

    Cons

    Different culture across LOBs - some groups are much more autonomous than others

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2019-10-29

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    November 12, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We pride ourselves on our people and culture.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Company, feels like family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great culture, surroundings and management

    Cons

    low pay and not much upward mobility

    Continue reading
    Huron Consulting Group2019-11-07

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    November 12, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Based on our regular reviews of the market, we believe our total rewards package, inclusive of salary, annual bonus, travel recognition bonus for traveling consultants, time off programs including flexible PTO and recharge leave, along with a robust suite of health, wellness, and financial benefits, including a strong 401(k) match, are extremely competitive.

    Continue reading
Found 756 reviews