Huron Consulting Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Huron Consulting Group Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 739 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Huron Consulting Group CEO James H. (Jim) Roth
James H. (Jim) Roth
402 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance hard to maintain to meet deadlines(in 69 reviews)

  • "Long hours are sometimes necessary and upper management consistently had poor communication regarding significant changes in the organization(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great environment for collaborative work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The teams really care about each other. Good environment to do meaningful work for their clients. Lots of opportunity for learning and advancement.

    Cons

    Large variance in quality of consultants. The vast majority are extremely strong but some weaker ones that put projects at risk.

    Advice to Management

    Review lower performers more frequently and create road maps to performance improvement that is meaningful and actionable. Improve communication to teams, with the regional offices there is a lot of information that does not make it out of the headquarters.

    Huron Consulting Group2019-07-31

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    August 20, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you are experiencing the culture in a positive way. Our focus on personalized learning and the development portal will allow for more meaningful and actionable development goals.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Mont-Royal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities for advancement, extremely intelligent co-workers and large repertoire of enterprise software implementations.

    Cons

    Clique based work environment, and friend based professional development.

    Advice to Management

    Technical based training is a must.

    Huron Consulting Group2018-05-03
  3. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity for professional growth

    Cons

    Poor work life balance, as is expected with consulting

    Huron Consulting Group2017-03-23
  4. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Reporting Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing and the atmosphere is welcoming. Everyone I have encountered has been polite and respectful.

    Cons

    I find nothing wrong with Huron

    Huron Consulting Group2019-09-11
  5. "I drank the kool-aid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture Teams Willingness to invest in their associates Great orientation

    Cons

    I feel like I’m an outsider because I’m over 40 and an experienced hire.

    Advice to Management

    There isn’t a lot of age diversity in the organization.

    Huron Consulting Group2019-09-10
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is good, nice infrastructure

    Cons

    As usual , bit politics

    Huron Consulting Group2019-08-29

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    September 10, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thanks for you feedback.

  7. "Healthcare Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    unlimited PTO, amazing people

    Cons

    Work life balance is non-existent

    Huron Consulting Group2019-08-29

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    September 10, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Work life blend is an area of focus within each of our practices.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Analyst in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They have snacks and other stuff

    Cons

    Layoffs are prevalent and frequent

    Huron Consulting Group2019-08-25

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    August 28, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Our Hillsborough and Lake Oswego offices in the Portland area are important to our current and future business strategy. We continue to grow as represented by the open positions for which we are recruiting in both offices.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, team, collaboration, exposure

    Cons

    No work life balance, not enough staff for projects

    Huron Consulting Group2019-08-22

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    August 26, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Work/life blend is an ongoing area of focus for all of our practices as we continue to grow.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "No Work-life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Huron Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You'll rack-up a lot of air miles and hotel points. - If you don't have friends or family and want to work 24x7 you'll do great.

    Cons

    - Work-life balance is non-existent. They tout the unlimited vacation but you will never truly get to "sign-off". - Management will start an engagement before the right resources are available which leads to people working multiple projects. - Values are talked about a lot but never lived. Quality is not important.

    Advice to Management

    Hire skilled functional consultants rather than just seat fillers. Scrap unlimited vacation.

    Huron Consulting Group2019-08-21

    Huron Consulting Group Response

    August 26, 2019Employee Experience Leadership

    We are disappointed to hear your experience was not aligned with our culture and values. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience, please reach out to hresources@huronconsultinggroup.com

Found 739 reviews