Humber College Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Humber College President & CEO Chris Whitaker
Chris Whitaker
80 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "if you dont have a Masters or PhD then you dont have much of a shot for a full time position(in 14 reviews)

  • "part-time employees do not have any health benefits(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Humber College full-time

    Pros

    Got experience in relation to handle issues with the students and other responsibilities. In addition, they provide hours according to the availability of the peer tutor.

    Cons

    According to me, I found it amazing and experiential.

    Humber College2020-05-26
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humber College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great sense of teamwork - management has an open door policy and are very approachable - many events and activities at the school for staff to participate in - internal job opportunities are available - active union for different types of employees (even part time)

    Cons

    - part-time employees do not have any health benefits - hours vary per semester depending on budget and number of tutors, so hard to get a stable income

    Humber College2020-05-20
  3. "Web Developer | Software QA | Tester(Automation + Manual )"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recent Graduate in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humber College full-time

    Pros

    it has been good experience

    Cons

    i don't have anything bad experienced at humber

    Humber College2020-05-13
  4. "Great job for students"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Studio Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Humber College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling. Wonderful staff and management.

    Cons

    Working environment can be a bit stressful during recording sessions.

    Humber College2020-03-31
  5. "Software Devloper"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Humber College part-time

    Pros

    Good Environment, Friendly, Diversity, a great place to learn new things

    Cons

    Humber provides a very nice environment so has no cons

    Humber College2020-03-11
  6. "Peer tutor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Peer Tutor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humber College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Schedule your tutoring time. Flexible

    Cons

    The income is changing every week.

    Humber College2020-03-20
  7. "A personally fulfilling experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor, College Or University in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Humber College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your work experience will depend entirely on your Associate Dean responsible for your program. I had the great fortune of having an Associate Dean truly devoted to the program. Instructors are hired for their practical experience in the field, so it is an opportunity to give back to your industry. Also, the students value your practical expertise, more so than traditional pedagogical instructors. The Lakeshore campus is beautiful. Humber provides you with a work space at which you can leave your coat and bag, use a computer on a network, plus unlimited printing of course material. We used Blackboard as our software system for disseminating course materials.

    Cons

    Humber only pays for your hours in the classroom. The rate is based on a Union-approved schedule based on the number of years of experience you have in your field, and there is no negotiating. The rate is considerable high, because the rationale is that it includes prep time. Be careful to keep your prep or marking time in check, and leave class time for student meetings, otherwise you'll see your true hourly earnings go down dramatically once you account for your non-in-class hours. To teach post-graduate programs, you must have an MBA regardless of the years of experience. This is a requirement from the Ontario Ministry of Colleges and Universities.

    Humber College2020-03-02
  8. "Supportive Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Humber College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Humber is a very caring organization

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Humber College2020-02-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place I Have Worked So Far"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer 

    I have been working at Humber College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible and amazing staff, since day 1 I have felt so welcome within this community of people. Very easy going environment as well.

    Cons

    Work study position, cannot be kept upon graduation.

    Humber College2020-01-15
Found 158 reviews