Hulu Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hulu Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 414 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Hulu CEO Randy Freer
Randy Freer
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The company has dramatically grown in the last two years so there have been a few growing pains, but not too many(in 20 reviews)

  • "work life balance only for leadership(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software Developer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hulu

    Pros

    1. Good working environment and facilities. 2. I worked in front end group, but attend a lot of technicals talks, learned a lot in other aspect.

    Cons

    People go there very late (12:00pm). I have some other plan in school in the evening, so I have to leave early.

    Hulu2015-08-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Programming Challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hulu

    Pros

    It was fun! and 8 hour question to implement a hangman AI. Pretty funny challenge I enjoyed it! I did good and after of couple of days they contacted me that you did good and we want to process it forward...

    Cons

    still don't know if there is any...

    Hulu2013-09-20
  3. "Fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hulu for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture of openness. There couldn't be a better place to intern in media and entertainment because everyone is willing to meet with you and share about what they are doing.

    Cons

    There were no downsides at Hulu!

    Hulu2019-08-19
  4. "The Hulu environment and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant 

    I have been working at Hulu full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, fun culture, great benefits

    Cons

    Work a lot of hours

    Hulu2019-08-16
  5. "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Planning & Analysis in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hulu for less than a year

    Pros

    Great mentorship to help you optimize your time there. Opportunity to work on projects that actually make it to executive eyes

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Hulu2019-08-14
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Program Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hulu for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks like food and wine, good corporate culture, startup feel, and great leadership

    Cons

    Disney is turning hulu culture to more corporate.

    Hulu2019-08-13
  7. "Good pla e"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TSM in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hulu full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great to have fun time great feruend

    Cons

    Nothong great place, still look yo nrry people

    Advice to Management

    Noyhibg, I.portznt

    Hulu2019-08-12
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Riding on coattails of past success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hulu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot of talent but its disappearing Everybody is overpaid (I was too) Great snacks and kitchen Fun culture Beer, and snacks No hiring competition More beer and snacks and wine and snacks and peanuts and snacks

    Cons

    Nobody does anything - great place to retire. My manager worked 2 days a week and complained of workload. He/She was shameless. Weak leadership, lots of cliches in presentations Not a tech and product driven company but feels like a more top down company - this is why Amazon will soon kill them. The increasing subs (25M+) is a smokescreen - they keep reducing prices while netflix increases it - but the product has...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Become a tech driven and product driven company. Take a shorter hit for longer success. Trim the fat. You are also a big part of that. Amazon/Apple is about to eat your lunch.

    Hulu2019-07-20
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Roughest place I’ve ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hulu full-time

    Pros

    -Opportunity to work on a variety of projects

    Cons

    - Long hours. Many people on team won’t get home to see their family. - New management has added to the workload / disorganization - Most Talent is leaving - Seems like most of the team took paycuts to work here -very little upward growth -lack of diversity in management positions -be prepared to do several jobs in one

    Advice to Management

    Figure out the team structure as its hurting the employees on the ground level daily.

    Hulu2019-07-26
  10. "Time well spent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hulu full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and great people

    Cons

    As they grown under Disney they may lose their unique culture

    Hulu2019-07-20
Found 414 reviews