Hulu Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hulu Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 352 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Hulu CEO Randy Freer
Randy Freer
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The company has dramatically grown in the last two years so there have been a few growing pains, but not too many(in 20 reviews)

  • "work life balance only for leadership(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software Developer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hulu

    Pros

    1. Good working environment and facilities. 2. I worked in front end group, but attend a lot of technicals talks, learned a lot in other aspect.

    Cons

    People go there very late (12:00pm). I have some other plan in school in the evening, so I have to leave early.

    Hulu2015-08-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Programming Challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Hulu

      Pros

      It was fun! and 8 hour question to implement a hangman AI. Pretty funny challenge I enjoyed it! I did good and after of couple of days they contacted me that you did good and we want to process it forward...

      Cons

      still don't know if there is any...

      Hulu2013-09-20
    • "Great team and benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Hulu full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - Team culture - Benefits - Business

      Cons

      the teams are not operating effectively enough to build products.

      Hulu2019-06-14
    • "-"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Former Employee - Vxa in San Antonio, TX

      I worked at Hulu full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun and they actually care about their employees

      Cons

      Downside is some of the managers have absolutely no experience with our job.

      Hulu2019-06-04
    • "Best decision I ever made"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Everything about Hulu is incredible. The culture is the best anywhere I have ever worked - it merges the best of three great industries; Entertainment, Technology and Creative and everyone is genuinely positive and happy.

      Cons

      The office isn’t super inspiring - but they’re not hiding behind fancy looking facilities

      Advice to Management

      Look to middle management more for some inspiring ideas.

      Hulu2019-06-01
    • "Great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Technical Program Manager 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great place to work in LA

        Cons

        More opportunities for lateral movement would be great

        Hulu2019-05-28
      • "Hulu's A Great Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Campaign Manager in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Overall Hulu has great benefits, culture and flexible work/life balance. They understand the value of their employees and want to ensure they are given visibility to how they are influencing the business. Hulu is also are aware that the industry is constantly changing, so are open to change - which is a huge win for me, personally. I admire Hulu's focus on having a one-team environment to allow collaboration among employees...

        Show More

        Cons

        Just like any company, Hulu is not perfect. They're running at an extremely fast pace environment due to the massive scale Hulu is becoming as a business. They're trying their best to keep up the momentum as well as ensure they maintain positive core values/culture to all their employees.

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the good work!

        Hulu2019-05-24
      • "Proud to be a Hulugan"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Culture, people, growth, product, innovation

        Cons

        Nothing I can think of.

        Hulu2019-05-07
      • "A great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Hulu full-time

        Pros

        Great benefits and field of work

        Cons

        Work load can be high

        Advice to Management

        Nothing much to say here

        Hulu2019-05-06
      • "growing company, startup feel"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Software Development Lead in Seattle, WA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Hulu full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        * friendly atmosphere and good relationships between teams * company-wide focus on TV * opportunities for technical and career growth

        Cons

        * upper management lacks alignment on priorities * process improvements sometimes favor upper management

        Advice to Management

        * align on a planning process that addresses real problems

        Hulu2019-05-05
      Found 352 reviews