Hudson's Bay Company Employee Reviews about "credit card"

Updated Jan 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 134 of over 2,024 reviews

3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Hudson's Bay Company CEO and Executive Chairman and Governor Richard A. Baker (no image)
Richard A. Baker
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good employees and amiable work environment(in 91 reviews)

  • "they has good employee discount(in 87 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "All we hear about is "why didn't you open a credit card last month" or when will you(in 135 reviews)

  • "Long hours/ Average/under pay/Poor Morale/Outdated Infrastructure/High Stress(in 42 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "credit card"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place for a first job

      Nov 25, 2019 - Shoe Sales Associate in Burnaby, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount on a lot of items Great team management Great employees Proud company culture

      Cons

      Have to apply for credit card to use discount

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hudson's Bay Company Response

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the company!

    2. 4.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Good Holiday Work

      Jan 24, 2021 - Customer Service in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The music is pretty good sometimes; you get to see when all the good clothes go on sale.

      Cons

      Requires registering for their credit card; must be able to sell credit cards every day, on average; was not able to continue work after Christmas, despite good, well-received performance, because there weren't enough hours available; the dress code is somewhat formal

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Jan 12, 2021 - Sales Associate in Kamloops, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very collaborative, I worked as a Beauty associate and you aren’t rushed to know everything at once. They give you time to learn and absorb the process of things.

      Cons

      Always pressured to offer customers the credit card

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Typical retail employer

      Jan 23, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free samples; fun colleagues; employee discount

      Cons

      -dealing with bad customers and having the managers take their side. -pressure to sell credit cards -bad management

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to work

      Sep 2, 2020 - Sales Associate in Pointe-Claire, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laid back environment, flexible hours

      Cons

      Pressure to open credit card accounts

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Seems enticing but far from it.....

      Sep 9, 2020 - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training programs, decent pay, 1 hour lunch and a 30 minute break

      Cons

      Management cares more about how many credit cards you sign up as opposed to the sales you make, as well my manager only criticized me when I didn't sign up enough people to credit cards. In order to receive your employee discount on products they force you to sign up for a credit card and use said credit card in order for the discount to go through.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Nothing Special

      Aug 15, 2020 - Sales Associate in Waterloo, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good coworkers, the company embraces multiculturalism, the work is generally easy and customers are generally fairly easy to work with.

      Cons

      Raises were non-existent. Over 7 years, I received 2 raises, neither of which was significant, and one of which was a month before minimum wage increased. New people were hired for higher wages than I worked for, despite extensive experience and good reviews from customers and bosses. This is my biggest issue with the company. Flexibility was problematic depending on your manager. High turnover rate for management and for employees. Calling in sick, no matter the manager, always resulted in the employee being yelled at and belittled. This is not good for the employee or customers. You are told to push customers into getting the store credit card, including some sneaky tactics to sign them up for a specific card type. This job is fine for experience and is good for students. Leave after that though, unless you plan on entering management.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      HBC

      Mar 20, 2020 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours, positive coworkers, good discount

      Cons

      competitive, rewarded based on how many credit cards you were able to get people to sign up for

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hudson's Bay Company Response

      We appreciate you raising this issue to our attention. We will be sharing this feedback with our leadership team.

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Standing at all times

      Feb 21, 2020 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Okay for students, flexible hours

      Cons

      Deadly holiday hours, they require you to sell credit cards to customers and you have to reach a certain quota or your job is at risk

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Do not recommend, will never go back

      Jan 29, 2020 - Beauty Advisor in Pointe-Claire, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Insurance, free stuff from the cosmetics company not even the Bay

      Cons

      When I was first hired everything was great, and then a year in HBC started feeling some sort of bankruptcy so everything changed. Management became unmanageably annoying, they think we're robots. All we hear about is "why didn't you open a credit card last month" or when will you. They HARASS us with credit openings for us to harass customers. The pay is low just because I have commission. God forbid they raise more than 10 cents per hour for one of their top sales on the floor. A lot of useless stress. Cut out thee full time position. System changed and company claims that they overpaid employees and asked for their money back.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Hudson's Bay Company Response

      Thank you for bringing this concern to our attention. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 134 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hudson's Bay Company Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hudson's Bay Company? Share Your Experiences

    Hudson's Bay Company logo
    or