Hudson's Bay Company Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hudson's Bay Company Store Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
3%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Hudson's Bay Company CEO Helena Foulkes (no image)
Helena Foulkes
1 Ratings
  1. "Overall great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Had great supervisors, quality of life

    Cons

    Lack of training , system to schedule employees, towards the end became Americanized

    Hudson's Bay Company2013-08-05
  2. "Reasonably good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pros: good salary, decent hours, solid benefits package.

    Cons

    Cons: upper management not very friendly, payroll kept getting cut but expectations were maintained, always had to do more with less, hard to keep part time associates because hours for them were inconsistent

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like people and you’ll get more out of them.

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-08

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 11, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    hours, discounts, paid expenses, gym

    Cons

    management, location, vacation time, restrictions

    Advice to Management

    stop micro-managing employees, dont play favourites

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-07-20

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    July 22, 2019HR Operations Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership. Please reach out to your HR business partner if you’d like to discuss the issue further.

  4. "Need more communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Gatineau, QC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So much to do you dont see the time fly. Loved my team

    Cons

    Not enough managers so end up always working to fill up emergencies and not doing your job that you were hired for.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is the key to success. Need to regroup with managers at least once a week for a focus but the G.M. in place does not seam to understand that. I will go back only if the mentality change with a new G.M.

    Hudson's Bay Company2016-04-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive Salary Good benefits Great work environment Lots of room for growth

    Cons

    Change strategies and directions too frequently Difficult life/work balance

    Advice to Management

    Be flexible and very open minded

    Hudson's Bay Company2015-10-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "from a Store General Manager persepective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Store General Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It looks pretty from the outside. Thought I would be proud to work here. Saddened when I learned the inside truth about such a foot print in our history.

    Cons

    Upper management is clicky and pretentious. They lack integrity and will rip you down if you out shine them. They will let their people suffer as long as they can save a buck. Bad Working Conditions etc. HBC sabotaged many good people's lives and names. Mostly because these people had integrity and passion and while HBC hires for that, when you are in, they want to rip it out of you. Judge you, conform you. Lie to... you. They bully you. Especially if you are a strong female. I know I was asked to be a part of it. It sickened me. Hence the "former employee" part. Be warned there are many other Retail companies out there who will pay you more, and treat you with more respect and dignity then good old Hudson's Bay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    According to what I've heard any more wrongful dismissal cases, someone may end up heading up/ launching a class action law suit against HBC! When the public hears how awful HBC mistreats their people they will all go to Nordstroms or buy Online!!

    Hudson's Bay Company2015-06-05
  7. "Store General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store General Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great interations with both Customers and associates. Fast paced exciting retail enviroment. High fashion merchandising and marketing.

    Cons

    Migro managed by regional mgmt. Underappreciated. Told to actively engage your associates but not followed through at the mgmt level.

    Advice to Management

    appreciate those who work for you. Trust that they have the skill level and intelligence that they do not need to be micro managed or talked down to.

    Hudson's Bay Company2015-04-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Up and down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Meet and work with alot of different people, and everyday there is always a new challenge

    Cons

    Customer service head office believes all the crazy stories customers tells them and then gives them whatever they want

    Hudson's Bay Company2013-03-04
Found 8 reviews