Hudson's Bay Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hudson's Bay Company Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Hudson's Bay Company CEO Helena Foulkes (no image)
Helena Foulkes
102 Ratings
  1. "Alright, for a first job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Feels like a family at times.

    Cons

    Scheduling is terrible. Hard to move up when you see how management is treated. HR is only focused on themselves and feels unapproachable.

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-30

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 30, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

  2. "Good part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time

    Pros

    It has a Flexible schedule

    Cons

    It has a Terrible management

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-30

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    October 3, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

  3. "Was a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales in Victoria, BC

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great manager, enjoyed many years of service

    Cons

    business was dropping off over the last few years

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-13

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 16, 2019

    Thank you for reaching out. We appreciate all associate feedback and will be sure to share with the appropriate leaders.

  4. "It's all about numbers there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonus package if you make goal, Good discount, Great Gratis, Nice co-workers

    Cons

    Cut-hours No manager support Big numbers No place to grow

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-27

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 30, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

  5. "Part time at the Bay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - friendly coworker - flexible hours - best to work when you are in school

    Cons

    - not pay well - managers can be unhelpful

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-22

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 24, 2019

    We appreciate your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership. Please reach out to your HR business partner if you’d like to discuss the issue further.

  6. "Lead QA Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lead QA Analyst 

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It provides amazing Employee discount

    Cons

    Doesn't have decent employee benefits

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-20

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 24, 2019

    Thank you for reaching out. We appreciate all associate feedback and will be sure to share with the appropriate leaders.

  7. "Poor management and toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there were not pros to this job. they don't even give discounts to employees

    Cons

    low wage, the manager always took her stress out on her team by yelling. The company does not care about their on the floor employees..!!!

    Advice to Management

    fix the management system

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-10
  8. "Overwhelming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good scheduling and work/life balance

    Cons

    - Only you for most shift - Policy changes all the time

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-18

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 18, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ladies Shoes Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work/Life balance - Good corporate culture - Good management

    Cons

    - difficult customers - thefts

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-02

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thank you for reaching out. We appreciate all associate feedback and will be sure to share with the appropriate leaders.

  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company part-time

    Pros

    Good management to help enhance skills

    Cons

    Very poor Customer quality on average

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-08-31

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thank you for reaching out. We appreciate all associate feedback and will be sure to share with the appropriate leaders.

Found 1192 reviews