Hudson's Bay Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hudson's Bay Company Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Hudson's Bay Company CEO Helena Foulkes (no image)
Helena Foulkes
104 Ratings
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Scarborough, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team, Flexibility in tasks, Opportunity to network

    Cons

    Shortage of staff, employees sometimes must bite more than they can chew

    Advice to Management

    Hire more Floor sales associates

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-11

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    October 22, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

  2. "Good part time job if you are in school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company part-time

    Pros

    - discount - flexible availability - get to converse with some good customers

    Cons

    - understaffed - too much pressure to sell Hudson's bay MasterCard - there are a lot of rude customers

    Advice to Management

    - empower your employees instead of micromanaging them

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-10

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    October 22, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

  3. "Good work environment but?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to start from as a beginner.

    Cons

    Salary base is low and you get no bonuses regardless of the great achievements you make! They will eat your head by asking you to apply the customers for the company's credit card.

    Advice to Management

    The retail sales associate position is to help the customer to find what suits them. Keep pushing the associate to get the customer applying for a credit card is not a nice thing because it is a retail store not some sort of bank or insurance services.

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-08

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    October 22, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful is the best way to describe it

    Cons

    Managers are just amazing individuals

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-23

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 24, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the company!

  5. "Nice Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee discount nice coworkers

    Cons

    I like the work environment there

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-20

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 24, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the company!

  6. "PT Job... Only."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible with hours, able to accommodate to your own schedule.

    Cons

    - Toxic environment, depending who you are working with.

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-02

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    October 3, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

  7. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company

    Pros

    Amazing manager and team Good work-life balance Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Lacking growth opportunities Compensation Lay offs

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-16

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 17, 2019

    We appreciate your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership. Please reach out to your HR business partner if you’d like to discuss the issue further.

  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule and employee discount

    Cons

    limited advancement and career growth

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-30

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    October 3, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

  9. "Good for customer service experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lots of walking space easy tasks lots of coworkers

    Cons

    lots of walking space same tasks every day lots of coworkers

    Advice to Management

    A for effort

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-30

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    October 3, 2019

    Thank you for reaching out. We appreciate all associate feedback and will be sure to share with the appropriate leaders.

  10. "Very hostile environment with no personal development options and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    No work life balance, no personal development

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-10-22
Found 1192 reviews