Hudson's Bay Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hudson's Bay Company Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1164 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Hudson's Bay Company CEO Helena Foulkes (no image)
Helena Foulkes
93 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Too much focus to sell Credit card(in 115 reviews)

  • "can get extremely busy, long hours(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to move up, great learning prior to moving into the buyer role, get a lot of experience very quickly due to the small team

    Cons

    Small team so a lot of work falls on a small amount of people

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-03

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 17, 2019

    We appreciate your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership. Please reach out to your HR business partner if you’d like to discuss the issue further.

  2. "Nice Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee discount nice coworkers

    Cons

    I like the work environment there

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-20
  3. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company

    Pros

    Amazing manager and team Good work-life balance Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Lacking growth opportunities Compensation Lay offs

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-16

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 17, 2019

    We appreciate your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership. Please reach out to your HR business partner if you’d like to discuss the issue further.

  4. "A fine place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Associate 

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work with very good people, and do a bit of everything in the back of house, which means my shifts are never boring.

    Cons

    There’s a general lack of communication, and we are understaffed

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-16

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 16, 2019

    Thank you for reaching out. We appreciate all associate feedback and will be sure to share with the appropriate leaders.

  5. "Was a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales in Victoria, BC

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great manager, enjoyed many years of service

    Cons

    business was dropping off over the last few years

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-13

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 16, 2019

    Thank you for reaching out. We appreciate all associate feedback and will be sure to share with the appropriate leaders.

  6. "Lead QA Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lead QA Analyst 

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It provides amazing Employee discount

    Cons

    Doesn't have decent employee benefits

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-20
  7. "Overwhelming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good scheduling and work/life balance

    Cons

    - Only you for most shift - Policy changes all the time

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-18

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 18, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership to better address issues in the future.

  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ladies Shoes Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hudson's Bay Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work/Life balance - Good corporate culture - Good management

    Cons

    - difficult customers - thefts

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-09-02

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thank you for reaching out. We appreciate all associate feedback and will be sure to share with the appropriate leaders.

  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company part-time

    Pros

    Good management to help enhance skills

    Cons

    Very poor Customer quality on average

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-08-31

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thank you for reaching out. We appreciate all associate feedback and will be sure to share with the appropriate leaders.

  10. "Always on your toes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hudson's Bay Company full-time

    Pros

    Never a dull moment room for creativity An always evolving company

    Cons

    Lack of staff Hour shortages Can be a catty enviornment

    Advice to Management

    Coach and train your sales floor associates

    Hudson's Bay Company2019-08-27

    Hudson's Bay Company Response

    August 30, 2019

    We appreciate your feedback. We will share your concern with the appropriate leadership. Please reach out to your HR business partner if you’d like to discuss the issue further

Found 1164 reviews