House of Fraser Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

House of Fraser Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 600 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Alex Williamson
80 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management, no staff discount unless opt to use store credit card(in 28 reviews)

  • "There is a lack of air conditioning on the shop floor making it very difficult to work in(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lovely start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at House of Fraser part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyable day to day work

    Cons

    No overtime available at start

    House of Fraser2019-06-11
  2. "I worked here for four years...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Administrative 

      I worked at House of Fraser part-time

      Pros

      Flexible with shifts Great Colleagues Very structured progression pathway

      Cons

      Little opportunity for pay increases Unstable company

      House of Fraser2019-06-04
    • "Support from staff and managers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Croydon, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at House of Fraser part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Recieved support from staff and managers from starting the job. Lovely atmosphere.

      Cons

      Disorganised workplace, management decisions are questionable.

      House of Fraser2019-06-04
    • "Shop Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at House of Fraser full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Responsibility given to all employees

      Cons

      Poor working conditions, lack of management , lack of flexibility

      House of Fraser2019-06-11
    • "Decent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at House of Fraser part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy job Friendly Decent pay

      Cons

      Overtime not allowed Sometimes unprofessional Not a lot of things to do

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your staff

      House of Fraser2019-05-25
    • "Nice"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Victoria, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at House of Fraser full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Nice place to work

      Cons

      No many benefits like pension

      House of Fraser2019-06-08
    • "Wouldn’t recommend"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Guildford, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at House of Fraser part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Staff discount could be done manually not just with the instore staff credit card. Lunch breaks.

      Cons

      Poor Management Not paid for going over my hours cashing up etc Not flexible with your days off Holiday management is poor

      House of Fraser2019-06-06
    • "Provided me with excellent opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Service Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland

      I have been working at House of Fraser full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Department store environment offers many opportunities to develop skills and ability to work a variety of experienced people

      Cons

      Current situation with the company not long being taken over

      House of Fraser2019-05-21
    • "House of Fraser"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at House of Fraser

      Pros

      Staff on shop floors are lovely.

      Cons

      Managers are disrespectful When things change you either don’t tell staff or tell us last minute

      Advice to Management

      Need more people on men’s floor. Managers need to be honest and stop lying to staff Stop favouriting other/more senior staff.

      House of Fraser2019-05-29
    • "good part time job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at House of Fraser part-time

      Pros

      good place to work! Thanks

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of right now

      House of Fraser2019-05-15
    Found 600 reviews