Hot Topic Seasonal Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Find jobs for Seasonal Sales Associate

Hot Topic Seasonal Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Hot Topic CEO Steve Vranes
Steve Vranes
3 Ratings
  1. "LOVE IT THERE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management. Best manager I have ever had. Coworkers are all nice and the customers most of the time were amazing.

    Cons

    For me, the travel time from where I live to there is hard, because of pay.

    Advice to Management

    The management is the best. 10/10

    Hot Topic2019-04-16
  2. "Terrible Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Employee Discount (40% off in store)

    Cons

    Not Enough Hours Too Much Free Time

    Advice to Management

    Give employees more hours. I was only getting MAYBE one 4-hour shift every week. There was a period where I wasn't even put on the schedule. Hire less seasonal and pay more. I made less than $200 in 2 and a half weeks of working for them. Also, teach part time workers other skills rather than register and folding shirts. When it was slow, I would have to fold shirts until someone came to the register. However, once... the shirts were folded, my manager would get mad if we weren't doing anything. We weren't trained in anything else.

    Show More
    Hot Topic2019-02-27
  3. "It was a great starter job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Ventura, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was a seasonal sales associate. The discounts were good, the environment was fun, and everyone was great to work with. The manager also kept excellent communication with his employees. Definitely recommend if you need a first job.

    Cons

    Not any cons I can remember.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Hot Topic2019-02-08
  4. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate 

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers, friendly customers, amazing boss

    Cons

    Little pay and little hours

    Hot Topic2019-02-13
  5. "Seasonal sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Palmdale, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management and customers as well as associate discount!

    Cons

    for cons i would have to say split shifts.

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you’re doing!

    Hot Topic2018-05-10
  6. "Great job, especially for someone who’s currently between jobs and just needs some money in their pocket."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Seasonal Sales Associate in North Bend, WA

    I have been working at Hot Topic for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount is 40%. Biggest discount out of all the other places I’ve ever worked. Discount bumps up to 50% for a weekend in December - the last weekend before Christmas, I believe - so employees save even more money if they do any of their Christmas shopping at Hot Topic.

    Cons

    A lot of locations only really hire for temp/seasonal positions, so there isn’t much room to move up in the company unless the manager, ASM, or keyholder are planning on quitting and you’re hired as a replacement.

    Hot Topic2017-12-28
  7. "Great seasonal job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Charleston, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and cool co-workers, good discount, great products, customers are friendly for the most part. Easy to learn, easy to execute.

    Cons

    Store is quite slow very often, floor is hard on the legs, store changes very often and quickly. Certain themes can be in all in one spot one day, then spread across the store the next.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, allot more hours for the manager to assign.

    Hot Topic2017-12-06
  8. "Cool place for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Chula Vista, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management and Co-workers are awesome. Its cool that you work and interact with customers with the same interest as you.

    Cons

    If you go in during the black friday season, training may be rushed so stay alert. Cashier may be tricky at first.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more time to training new employees as well as a more organized schedule where we actually know when break time is.

    Hot Topic2016-11-17
  9. "It was generally okay, no complaints, just be honest and bring out the best in your qualities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in El Centro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hot Topic part-time

    Pros

    You can gain experience, the salary goes up depending on title, can be a regular employee if you do a great job.

    Cons

    The work is demanding, time consuming and managers can cut your hours if they wanted to, simply because someone can work better than you b

    Advice to Management

    Ask more questions relating work experience other than personality.

    Hot Topic2016-10-07
  10. "Just OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Bowling Green, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hot Topic part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discounts were amazing; 40% is what it was I believe. At the time, I was really into their clothes so the discount was a big deal for me.

    Cons

    It's retail. I was 14 at the time and was not allowed to work the register or do most anything besides greet people at the door.

    Advice to Management

    Let your temporary employees know ahead of time when they're employment term will end, instead of having them show up to get a shift schedule and just say 'lol sorry you don't work here anymore.' Very unprofessional.

    Hot Topic2016-07-05
Found 18 reviews