Horizon Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Horizon Bank Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Horizon Bank CEO Craig M. Dwight
Craig M. Dwight
5 Ratings
  1. "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Horizon Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good insurance, vacation after 2 months and paid sick leave

    Cons

    Impossible to move up, boring slow work

    Advice to Management

    When someone asks for opportunities to learn, teach them!

    Horizon Bank2019-07-09
  2. "Pseudo Community Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Syracuse, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Horizon Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, Great employees, cell phone and laptop available

    Cons

    CC Happy Emails, Lots of M&A activity, systems outdated

    Horizon Bank2019-03-20
  3. "Don't recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Portage, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Horizon Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co workers are great and hours are good.

    Cons

    Pay is awful and management doesn't care about the employees.

    Horizon Bank2019-03-23
  4. "Horizon Bank review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications in Morristown, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Horizon Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large company, many perks and benefits

    Cons

    little room for advancement in some departments

    Horizon Bank2018-09-16
  5. "Boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Greenwood, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Horizon Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of my coworkers were nice.

    Cons

    Where to start. Pay is below average. Company doesn't care about employees. The "training" i recieved was a joke. I was basically thrown behind the line and expected to catch on even though it was my first bank job. At first my coworkers were not very nice to me except for 1 or 2 so it felt very lonely. When you ask questions people would get annoyed that you didn't know it so I felt like I was not able to ask anything....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My manager was fine. My advice would mostly be to corporate. Get on regular bankers hours. Stop pushing referal goals. UPDATE YOUR SYSTEMS. We operated like it was 2004 with the programs and computers we had to use.

    Horizon Bank2018-07-28
  6. "Do not work at Horizon Bank! Pay less than other banks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Michigan City, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Horizon Bank full-time

    Pros

    It’s a job. That’s about it and a paycheck. Shady management. Employees always get screwed when they acquire another bank.

    Cons

    Management cannot be trusted. Always looking to stab you in the back. Unethical. Benefits are not good and insurance expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the bank.

    Horizon Bank2018-03-09
  7. "Low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Portage, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Horizon Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Bankers hours are great, don't have to work Saturdays

    Cons

    Pay is very low and don't bother putting in a 2 week notice, they will fire you when you do.

    Horizon Bank2018-02-06
  8. "Legal Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Horizon Bank part-time

      Pros

      Great work environment and great for my schedule.

      Cons

      I have no cons thus far

      Horizon Bank2017-11-15
    • "Good Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Michigan City, IN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Horizon Bank full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good culture, reasonable hours, willing to work with you.

      Cons

      Might lowball on pay at first, but willing to negotiate. Formal training can be lackluster, but if you ask questions, you're fine. Everybody is very friendly when learning the ropes, though.

      Advice to Management

      Keep on what you're doing!

      Horizon Bank2017-07-01
    • "MLO"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Kalamazoo, MI

        I worked at Horizon Bank full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The family atmosphere and people there

        Cons

        Benefits and the referrals not given

        Horizon Bank2017-04-10
      Found 19 reviews