Hootsuite Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hootsuite Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 335 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Hootsuite CEO Ryan Holmes
Ryan Holmes
218 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Vancouver is really still the heart of the organization and it feels like good work in the Toronto office goes unnoticed(in 19 reviews)

  • "1000 employees in 5 years, which naturally causes some growing pains(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "People just chill already!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This has been my most favorite workplace ever!! I am telling 101% truth here. Extremely good work-life balance, get in just before 8 and disappear before 4:15. Team Managers are cool and we often troll each other for fun. Amazing snacks and fruits!! The gym is small and smelly but functional! Free yoga and fitness classes! Also free courses provided by HR on how to behave and interact around here. Easy brownie points!...

    Show More

    Cons

    Hardly any honestly. No weird politics, just trolling around. There will be stressful periods but you gotta know how to push for extra temps. Why kill yourself right? It's just a job guys... I believe most complainers here have nothing better to do or just never satisfied despite their fat pay cheques. Not a single one person I know ever complained about pay and workload. Sales peeps just getting too greedy!

    Advice to Management

    Loving the fun culture here so keep it up!! Do whatever it takes to keep your head above the water! I do plan on sticking around for next 8-10 years after a couple mat leaves.

    Hootsuite2019-08-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "People are great - company values/product is meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analytics in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hootsuite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - only real positive is the people are great. a lot to learn from. - exposure to the social media world and the power it holds.

    Cons

    - slow hiring process - unclear processes. - below avg pay.

    Hootsuite2019-08-16
  3. "Flexible, Fun, Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time

    Pros

    Lots of interesting new engineering projects to work on, good work culture with lots of flexibility with regard to working from home and such.

    Cons

    I understand that your experience can vary a lot depending on what team you are on.

    Hootsuite2019-08-01
  4. "Good people but unclear career path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Executive in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and team. Managers on this team are good and most have been with the company for a while. Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    After a couple months in this role many people realize it is not what it was made out to be in the interview process. Not many perks or benefits for working at Hootsuite. CAE team is underpaid compared to industry standards

    Hootsuite2019-07-22
  5. "People are great, But unclear of company direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time

    Pros

    - Fun people, and the Toronto office is great

    Cons

    - Lack of leadership and vision

    Hootsuite2019-07-12
  6. "Great place - a bit all over the map"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, steep learning curve

    Cons

    Pay scales vary broadly across teams and roles

    Hootsuite2019-06-26
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hootsuite

    Pros

    Seems like it was fun and may have had potential 4 or 5 years ago. Vacation, work/life and TRAVEL

    Cons

    The Old Guard is stuck in startup land, and well established and protected which makes it pretty much impossible for new people to make changes.

    Advice to Management

    They need to let the past go and allow some of the new experienced people bring some life back into the business.

    Hootsuite2019-07-04
  8. "Great Learning Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Insight Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Market Leader in the field Lots of smart people to work with

    Cons

    Still behaves like a startup sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Connect the islands

    Hootsuite2019-06-18
  9. "Amazing place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. You can set up meetings with anyone (seniors, directors) and gain valuable knowledge from these encounters that you would otherwise not be able to do in a larger company. Fosters a growth mindset. Great work/life balance. People are into being healthy and trying new things.

    Cons

    It's pretty much career limiting to not be social so if you like to just come in and not talk to anyone, it will not work out. Company getting bigger and more structured so growing out of its startup culture abit.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to lead with humility and set good examples.

    Hootsuite2019-06-12
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Disappointing leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hootsuite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing caliber of worker bees. Everyone tries hard to make the company successful. Lots of resources to help salespeople be successful.

    Cons

    The CEO is so hell bent on getting his exit that after the unsuccessful attempt to sell the company for a price he felt it was worth, they continued hiring like mad just before leading up to a major layoff. What kind of company keeps hiring at full tilt only to lay off people a few weeks down the road? And just so that they can pretty up the balance sheet and make it look more attractive to buyers? Let's just...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe try focusing on building the kind of company people want to stay at, rather than a company you can sell. Treating people as dispensable is never a good long term play.

    Hootsuite2019-06-07
Found 335 reviews