Hootsuite Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hootsuite Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Hootsuite CEO Ryan Holmes
Ryan Holmes
218 Ratings
Pros
  • "That said, the work-life balance is probably as good as you can get (the vacation policy is about as good as you can get with a company this size)(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great people, cool office, great location(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Vancouver is really still the heart of the organization and it feels like good work in the Toronto office goes unnoticed(in 19 reviews)

  • "Growing pains that any company goes through(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "All-around a fair and interesting work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hootsuite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Before I go on, quick note: everything varies team to team, leader to leader. If you're considering working at Hootsuite, I strongly recommend speaking to a few people currently on the team you're interested in joining. -Flexible work culture: Employees are trusted to fulfill their responsibilities on their own accord. Work times, locations, and approach can all be molded to your lifestyle. This of course varies... team-team though. I also felt that most colleagues were relatively easy-going. -Collaborative: Generally, in my experience, teams are collaborative and open to cross-silo input. -Room for Creativity: Despite Hootsuite's size, there are processes that are lacking or outdated. As such, there's room to shape the role that you're in and bring new ideas forward. I never felt beholden to a certain approach to anything. -Interesting Product, Ecosystem, and Partners: Hootsuite is so much more than the simple social media scheduling tool you may know about. There's several modules within the enterprise platform, multiple partners to resell, and 200+ tech ecosystem integrations - all of which make selling and supporting Hootsuite intellectually more interesting than you may think. Broad Scale: Hootsuite has an impressive footprint across small, medium, and large businesses, across multiple verticals. This helps reduce monotony in sales + service roles.

    Show More

    Cons

    While I really enjoyed working at Hootsuite, every pro listed above does come with a downside. Product Strategy: The product direction can be spread between to SMB, Mid-Market, and Enterprise needs. It's challenging to do anything particularly unique with that broad of a focus. Visibility = Work Quality: At times, it feels like the ability to sell your work internally is equally important to the actual work... that you do. There's so much happening at all times, so you do need to invest time into internal visibility in order to gain recognition and respect internally. As such, there can be unintentional bias against introverts or employees that don't focus on this. This could just be a reality in larger companies though (I came from smaller companies <100 people where the internal schmoozing / selling was as necessary). Pace: While the business is still growing, it's no longer in hyper-growth mode. If you're looking for something extremely fast paced, this isn't it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Invest more time and energy meeting and understanding our customers -Invest in market segmentation and focus accordingly (which admittedly was happening when I left) -Don't be afraid to be honest, vulnerable, and transparent internally. Own and explain mistakes. Not everything has to be on the up and filled with optimism.

    Hootsuite2019-09-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Building momentum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite

    Pros

    Seems like the company struggled for a while but is back on track and picking up momentum with regards to leadership, product, focus and customer efforts

    Cons

    Challenge with connection to global offices can be a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the changes coming. Brave and dedicated leadership and strategy is making a difference.

    Hootsuite2019-10-14
  3. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Product 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Kind people, easy to get along with* - Good culture in HQ, with decent amount of events and happenings - Product-design-tech actually get along & work well together, are making moves in securing the future success of the product & company - Great WLB: life comes before work - ^ You are trusted to be mature about it and do your job* - Overall mature company * Your experience depends largely on what... department, what portfolio, and who is your manager

    Show More

    Cons

    - Sluggish work pace, more like large corporate than startup environment. Can be a long time before seeing any payoff from product initiatives - Culture and office life = YMMV in satellite offices - Uncertainty looming around IPO/acquisition can feel like a slowly sinking ship - Desks and chairs suck - Holding on to outdated features, processes, slow to implement and effect change

    Hootsuite2019-10-03
  4. "Great first job in tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Executive 

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, cool office, great location

    Cons

    No clear career paths or planing

    Hootsuite2019-10-03
  5. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Collaborative culture - Work-life balance - Young working force - Interesting problems to solve - Working on scaling problems - Startup mentality

    Cons

    - Some processes need more maturity - Using obscure or non-industrial languages (e.g., Scala, Go)

    Advice to Management

    - Introduce performance rewards and recognition - Implement HootPulse results

    Hootsuite2019-09-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "AE at Hootsuite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Account Executive in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hootsuite full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work culture, with solid work/life balance Lots of great people, everyone is friendly Strong brand recognition

    Cons

    Very poor leadership - especially at the executive level Lack of transparency from C-Suite and Founder Tons of product issues, and no real strategic direction

    Hootsuite2019-09-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "People just chill already!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This has been my most favorite workplace ever!! I am telling 101% truth here. Extremely good work-life balance, get in just before 8 and disappear before 4:15. Team Managers are cool and we often troll each other for fun. Amazing snacks and fruits!! The gym is small and smelly but functional! Free yoga and fitness classes! Also free courses provided by HR on how to behave and interact around here. Easy brownie... points! If you push the right buttons of your manager's manager, you get promoted within a year like myself! :) Don't really get all the negativity here. Hootsuite is famous for paying above market and doesn't expect too much of your work. In order to survive you must show up properly in team meetings. Key is to make people think you are way more important than you really are.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hardly any honestly. No weird politics, just trolling around. There will be stressful periods but you gotta know how to push for extra temps. Why kill yourself right? It's just a job guys... I believe most complainers here have nothing better to do or just never satisfied despite their fat pay cheques. Not a single one person I know ever complained about pay and workload. Sales peeps just getting too greedy!

    Advice to Management

    Loving the fun culture here so keep it up!! Do whatever it takes to keep your head above the water! I do plan on sticking around for next 8-10 years after a couple mat leaves.

    Hootsuite2019-08-14
  8. Helpful (4)

    "People are great - company values/product is meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analytics in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hootsuite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - only real positive is the people are great. a lot to learn from. - exposure to the social media world and the power it holds.

    Cons

    - slow hiring process - unclear processes. - below avg pay.

    Hootsuite2019-08-16
  9. "Flexible, Fun, Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time

    Pros

    Lots of interesting new engineering projects to work on, good work culture with lots of flexibility with regard to working from home and such.

    Cons

    I understand that your experience can vary a lot depending on what team you are on.

    Hootsuite2019-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good people but unclear career path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Executive in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hootsuite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and team. Managers on this team are good and most have been with the company for a while. Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    After a couple months in this role many people realize it is not what it was made out to be in the interview process. Not many perks or benefits for working at Hootsuite. CAE team is underpaid compared to industry standards

    Hootsuite2019-07-22
Found 340 reviews