Honeywell Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Honeywell Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Honeywell CEO Darius Adamczyk
Darius Adamczyk
1,796 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Slow progress with a Work/Life Balance(in 312 reviews)

  • "There are typically travel bans every year and furloughs even though the company is making profits(in 174 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Honeywell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to learn and try new careers; benefits ok; a lot of room for personal growth & development

    Cons

    Need to be able to handle change, as the organization shifts and adapts to new leadership and markets

    Honeywell2019-10-01
  2. "Working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Honeywell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very dynamic, autonomy, good benefits and advantages

    Cons

    Less professional growth opportunities

    Honeywell2019-11-09
  3. "Honeywell st Glance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Honeywell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fortune 100 world wide locations.

    Cons

    Very large corporation. You cannot balance work and life

    Honeywell2019-11-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company ever. Do not go here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Kanata, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Honeywell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They work on some interesting products.

    Cons

    Ottawa plant is treated as a low cost design center. Benefits are poor, salary is poor, management is completely inflexible. No cafeteria. No stock purchase plan.

    Honeywell2019-11-12
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer 

    I worked at Honeywell full-time

    Pros

    Consistent training for all employees

    Cons

    Bad management no promotion chances

    Honeywell2019-10-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Where the bottom 10% of your graduating class goes to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Honeywell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice fidget spinner given as onboarding gift. There is total work/life balance as this is a culture where people only do the bare minimum, and then go home.

    Cons

    Honeywell is a conglomerate, which means it tries to be good at everything and fails. Further, Honeywell does not grow organically; it grows by raising prices and cutting wages. As an employee, you quickly learn which side of that equation you're on. Pay raises are meagre (mine was <1% in 2019), benefits were very expensive compared to any other I've ever had, and our division--the business unit of the year... in 2018--was punished with a 2-week unpaid furlough in 2019, as it was just a few years earlier. Honeywell generally operates on a zero goodwill, letter-of-the-law business practice, so employees should be very well versed on all clauses of their employment contract, as Honeywell is unafraid to exercise parachute clauses that would be rarely used otherwise. From what I saw at Honeywell, fairness is irrelevant, contractual obligations are the only thing that matters. I've never seen a company so unafraid to flush its customers down the toilet. Honeywell's culture is defined by employees who compete with each other to play the role of Captain No, and management who go around yelling at people to just do some work. Basic decisions are constantly stalled in "SEA approval," meaning management is continually operating as petty financial approvers rather than executing to a grand vision. Management runs its businesses off a spreadsheet, generally with little-to-no understanding of the customers or markets it serves. With a corporate culture where 'no' as the de-facto answer and talent management is nowhere to be seen, most people who had any semblance of ambition lost their mind and went elsewhere (and I did), often in less than a year at Honeywell. Turnover in sales was particularly bad, as many people quickly realized that it's easier to win a prize at a rigged carnival game than it is to earn full sales commission at Honeywell. A customer of a fellow colleague told him (who was the umpteenth Honeywell rep they had had): "you won't even last a year there!" and the customer's premonition was ultimately right. While Honeywell's offer looked close to my previous employer's total compensation on paper, as the year wore on, had I not quit, my 2019 pay would have been nearly $45,000 lower than what I earned at my previous employer. In conclusion, I learned the hard way that you can`t fix stupid. Honeywell's workforce is rife with morons, nincompoops, and dumb-dumbs, which fosters a willpower and spirit depleting environment where it's just easier to be complicit in letting bad decisions pass along rather than push 20 boulders back up the mountain to fight it. The only people who do stick around are bottom 10%'ers who enjoy the comfort of swimming in a sea of incompetence and are generally unemployable elsewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Break up the company.

    Honeywell2019-10-06
  7. Helpful (3)

    "bureaucratic, rigid and rule bound"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Cambridge, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Honeywell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Space Technology is intrinsically appealing

    Cons

    bureaucratic, rigid and rule bound demand to sign overreaching IP agreement

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are not lego blocks. Value their talents.

    Honeywell2019-10-04
  8. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branding and Communication Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Honeywell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance and the work culture is good

    Cons

    I wouldn’t say there are any downsides.

    Honeywell2019-08-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Competitive salary but boring place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Honeywell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Efficient work systems, fair salary, friendly collegues

    Cons

    Lack of culture, poor and expensive health/dental benefits for family, no company support for social or fun activities

    Advice to Management

    Need to improve on social aspect of work culture. Making it a place for people to want to be not just a place to work. Give the option to occasionally work from home again.

    Honeywell2019-08-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Honeywell in Canada is great to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DCS Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Honeywell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good at keeping people by rotating them if projects decrease in one area. Fair wages, and excellent teams and co-workers.

    Cons

    Lots of politics in upper management from Texas, but as is with many companies ..

    Advice to Management

    Clean up Houston from older mentalities and think bigger

    Honeywell2019-08-12
Found 7771 reviews