Homebase Limited Employee Reviews about "bunnings"

Updated Sep 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 535 reviews

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Homebase Limited Managing Director Damian Mcgloughlin (no image)
Damian Mcgloughlin
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly staff, staff discount, breaks(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great team and customer focused(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, terrible shift patterns(in 21 reviews)

  • "For that alone Homebase is not friendly to those who are non-DIY(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "bunnings"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Loosing staff to our competitors

      Sep 3, 2021 - Retail Till Operator in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pressure on staff both in lack of staff and hourly rates. I Havant had a pay rise since Bunnings, what's that , 3 years. Company up for sale so unlikely anything will happen before that is concluded.

      Cons

      Pay, wonga, money 💰. Should you have to leave to get a pay rise.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Worst company

      Nov 18, 2020 - Customer Service in Newport, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You were paid on time

      Cons

      Treat staff awful,really need to look at managerial skills.rotas very late,holidays always denied unless you were a favourite.headoffice not really in the know of how things are being conducted in the workplace.Area managers are just as bad not interested how staff are treated,this company went down hill when bunnings took over. This company will never be the same until till changes are made and staff are looked after better.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work and real sense of energy / desire to win across the whole team

      Feb 14, 2020 - Buyer in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good cascade of information and chance to contribute Opportunity to advance through the business definitely there Upbeat atmosphere and good humour 20% discount Being part of a really positive story as the business recovers post Bunnings Able and talented board and exec team Empowered to make day to day decisions I need to do my job Part of the team that leads the DIY market

      Cons

      No cons to mention that don't arise from time to time in any large company

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Helped to serve and assist customers

      Nov 17, 2019 - Customer Service Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Enjoyable place to work for

      Cons

      Went downhill when bought out by Bunnings

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Shop floor

      Nov 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Make lots of friends, fast paced work, get to talk to lots of customers, make sure you have breaks

      Cons

      New management under Bunnings changed things that worked well, managers don't care much about staff, left to staff members to support each other.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Coordinator

      Oct 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome team, made some friends for life there. If you work very hard - I mean work you’re gut out-the progression was there. I worked for some exceptional store managers

      Cons

      Bunnings. Thank God they’re gone. What a mess that was. It can only go upwards from here on No work life balance at all. I did various roles over the years but 48-50 hrs a week were average.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      It was okay, not the best

      Apr 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gained a good understanding of retail environment

      Cons

      Transitioned to bunnings warehouse and was not the same

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Please don't work for them

      Feb 25, 2018 - Coordinator in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are no pros to this company

      Cons

      Ridiculously long hours....I often worked 60 hrs + a week with no extra money or even a thanks. But I was told I was management and it was expected. I then had to add 2 hrs a day travelling. So actually I was probably doing 70 hrs a week. Also often and I do mean often did an late shift into an early so was lucky if I got 3 hrs sleep due to the travelling. They then rebranded my job and employed new people for 7k less than I was on so they made my life a misery until I was so ill I had a nervous breakdown. So guess what they refused to pay me. I left. Don't bother working for homebase/Bunnings it is horrific

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      The worst, bullying, non incusive horrible company ever! DO NOT make a mistake of joining!

      Nov 7, 2017 -  in Milton Keynes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Homebase was still part of the Home Retail Group when I joined and it was a fantastic, inclusive business then with leaders who had employees best interest at heart. There was a real team spirit, fantastic values, flexible working and engagement and people working to the best of their ability to do well for the company. All of that changed when the takeover took place. It was a graduate change over a few months while little changes started to creep up to then hit people hard.

      Cons

      Since the acquisition by Bunnings they treat people like necessary evil. Instead of engaging teams (as it was the case in previous years before takeover) they bully people and if you don't conform you are almost literally told you are free to leave because clearly you don't have the 'Bunning's' vision. Colleagues are asked by senior managers to spy on other team members to understand what time they come in, who they speak to and for how long. This is not the environment any self respecting adult would like to be in. Homebase advertises roles suggesting they are flexible but there is no flexibility at all. The work is no longer about output but about being seen to be working at your desk. Senior managers also 'encourage' teams to be seen to stay behind and come early to give the Australian senior leadership team the perception of a hardworking local team. No one cares if you are able to achieve goals in normal working hours, it is their way of working more because that is the Australian way or no way! That certainly didn't support creativity and engagement not to mention work life balance.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Depends on your circumstances

      Sep 12, 2017 - Garden Centre Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff on shopfloor are very friendly Variety of work to be done, no two days are the same Decent pay (especially for over 18's) Fairly compromising with shifts

      Cons

      Bunnings takeover has been a shambles. Stock systems not consistent, showing loads of an item and no where to be seen. Sometimes you get 1 pallet of an item, other times it's over 10. Very little contact from our new owners since the takeover. Having to hit ridiculous targets from head office (which filters down all the way to the shop floor staff). Stores are a mess. Very little product knowledge training given, just thrown in at the deep end Management use aggressive techniques to get their own way (even firing long term staff) You may have 1 job to do but you will be all over the shop floor and be expected to know about all areas of the shop, regardless of experience. Very understaffed so rushed off your feet

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Homebase Limited Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Homebase Limited? Share Your Experiences

    Homebase Limited logo
    or