Home Trust Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Home Trust Reviews

Updated Aug 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Home Trust CEO Yousry Bissada (no image)
Yousry Bissada
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "A great place to gain experience as a student(in 6 reviews)

  • "Good location , made some good friends from different teams(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "don't borrow form home trust because they put a lean on your house unknowing to you and it screws up your mortgage when it come up for renewal(in 3 reviews)

  • "First day of my joining, he was cribbing about the upper management and that I should not expect a lot out of them(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Securitization Officer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Home Trust full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great senior management team. Fantastic colleagues.

    Cons

    Any where in the world, there is always someone to make your experience terrible.

    Home Trust2019-06-12
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Total Rewards Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Caring company, strives to improve, management cares about their staff as much as their clients.

    Cons

    Can’t think of anything negative.

    Home Trust2019-08-31
  3. "Hometrust"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Trust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people there are great to work with

    Cons

    The management will get you terminated to prove themselves

    Advice to Management

    Stop firing people to prove yourself instead help them to become better to prove yourself

    Home Trust2019-08-29
  4. "Stay clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Home Trust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free pop, free juice, free coffee

    Cons

    politics. poor leadership and a general lack of care for others

    Advice to Management

    listen to your people

    Home Trust2019-08-27
  5. "Good overall experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Home Trust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall great people to work with.

    Cons

    Difficulty getting HR operations approved.

    Home Trust2019-08-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Control Officer - Co-Op in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Trust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working in/closely with the IT department means you'll be in close contact with the senior management group at all times--full of highly mentoring individuals that truly care about their employees and are invested in them. The CIO is a great leader and will definitely take the time to talk to you. Executives are all open to new and big ideas and will take the time to chat about anything you're interested in.

    Cons

    Outside of the IT/PMO departments, things can be a nightmare in terms of being able to effectively work with cross-functional teams. Staff in Underwriting, Risk Management, and so forth seem to blow off most of what IT or the PMO is doing. You will have lots of no-shows to your meetings and last-minute rescheduling or cancellations. This is just an issue with antiquated company culture that is targeted for change as... per the new CEO though.

    Show More
    Home Trust2019-06-12
  7. "Treats employees poorly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Home Trust full-time

    Pros

    Nice office downtown, good location good people to work with

    Cons

    Management is horrible. They do nothing to help employees grow and do not promote a healthy workplace

    Advice to Management

    Hire new management

    Home Trust2019-05-27
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Data Quality Analyst in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Home Trust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Like all companies, it depends which department you end up with and how those managers are. In general, the company does a lot to try promote a positive and fun culture. I worked on the I.T side and enjoyed my time there. Was lots of fun.

    Cons

    No complaints. I was lucky to work for a great manager.

    Home Trust2019-04-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Finance professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Home Trust full-time

    Pros

    Good location , made some good friends from different teams. Overall company has good professionals but finance department needs a better management and culture.

    Cons

    Bad upper management Low growth Management only concerned about themselves No recognition or appreciation for the employees The management creates a culture of fear where lower level employees are just too scared to raise their concerns or opinions. And if they are confident enough to raise them nothing is done to address those issues.

    Advice to Management

    You hire people because they bring valuable skillset with them to work with. Learn to trust the knowledge and skills an employee brings to your company. If you cannot trust your own hiring decision and feel the need to constantly micro manage, you have failed at your management .

    Home Trust2019-04-23
  10. "Senior manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Trust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    high opportunity to make an impact

    Cons

    unprofessional staff and outdated systems

    Home Trust2019-03-01
Found 58 reviews