Holiday Extras "call centre" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Holiday Extras Employee Reviews about "call centre"

Updated Oct 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Holiday Extras CEO Matthew Pack
Matthew Pack
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, can work from home, time banking all help with childcare needs plus a great working environment and really lovely people(in 25 reviews)

  • "Holiday Extras make considerable effort to try and create a work environment that helps their employees thrive(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Call centre very separate to the rest of the company(in 9 reviews)

  • "However holiday extras rely on thier middle management too much to rely important information when this doesn’t in reality happen(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call centre"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Holiday Extras full-time

    Pros

    Really care about you and what you think about the company

    Cons

    Can be somewhat dry in the call centre

    Holiday Extras2018-10-09

    Holiday Extras Response

    October 23, 2018Deputy CEO Holiday Extras

    Thanks for your review. It’s great to hear your feedback about caring for our team. Our amazing people are key to our ability to provide the best service to our customers so investing time to make them feel valued is really important to us. We’re sorry to hear that you felt this way about working in our Contact Centre however - as the frontline of our business, we try our best to make everyday engaging for the team. If there’s anything more specifically we can do, let us know by emailing us at people.team@holidayextras.com with your suggestions.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Travel consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Extras full-time

    Pros

    Amazing company, lots of benefits, profit share, free bbqs, parties, well being week, Christmas and Halloween dress up, birthday off as paid

    Cons

    Call centre very separate to the rest of the company

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2018-03-26
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Brilliant company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Folkestone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Extras full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Holiday Extras helps you to become the best you can be, with lots of opportunities to progress within the call centre. It is a very positive company to work for with lots of fun events to involve everyone and you always feel supported and guided within your job role.

    Cons

    Full timers still work at least 1 day most weekends however we can work mobile so can work from home so this doesn't make this as bad

    Holiday Extras2017-12-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Travel Consultant at Holiday Extras."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Extras full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    HX really do have a lot of things right as a company, from equipping and trusting everyone with Apple Macbook laptops that can be used at home for personal use as well as work to spontaneous summer BBQ's to amazing fireworks displays offering free food and beverages for all staff members and their families. The training is second-to-none, quite possibly the best I've had going into any new job, the trainers really care and the setup/methods used really installed confidence before going on the phones. Finally the people are really what makes HX the place it is, the people I have met in all job roles from CC(contact centre) staff to the CEO himself are friendly, fun and really great people, I honestly cannot name or think of one person I dislike.

    Cons

    Now for the not so goods, and there are a few I'm sad to say. Firstly, there is an apparent divide between the majority of the company and the CC. There are many fun things that go on that often CC staff find ourselves the only ones that cant participate as we mustn't leave our post on the phones. Almost all areas seem to have an hour lunch where they can partake once again in several activities, we are limited to just half an hour. I personally don't mind the half an hour lunch break, but fail to understand why there are different standards between different areas. Working hours - now this really is an issue that I and 90% of CC staff I speak to are unhappy with. Up until recently we worked a standard 8 hour day 5 days per week as full time members which seems quite common in call centre work, no issues there, however now we are expected to work 8 hours and 45 mins for 4 days, whilst having one "half day" usually in the afternoon which throws a lot of peoples daily chores/plans after work out the window. Whilst 45 minutes may seem somewhat trivial, there was no real communication down to CC staff other than receiving our weekly rota with the new shifts in place. CC staff are the only ones expected to work these shifts whilst managers, the planning team and all other roles in the hierarchy remain on the same shifts as before, a classic case of expecting the bottom rung to do things that they wont themselves. Finally I have seen MANY people leave recently, people who were long term fixtures in HX as a result of many of the points already stated, quite simply they had enough. Other members are actively looking to leave, with myself also looking down avenues away from HX. When I started at HX I was sold on the fact they pride themselves as a company on staff progression and work/life balance, but as far as progression goes, I see a LOT of "external appointments" over people who have given everything for the company because obviously externals better right? And the work/life balance, it was great but small things are slowly taking away from this and it saddens me to write this as I genuinely loved the workplace when I first started.

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2017-12-11

    Holiday Extras Response

    December 14, 2017Associate People Director

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate your honesty. We were saddened to read that you have concerns and we’d like to help you regain some of the great feeling you had when you joined. We’re really open to receiving feedback and it’s important that people feel that they can be as honest as you have been and talk to us face to face. Off the back of our latest engagement sessions we have scheduled additional buzz sessions to further listen and discuss what actions we can work together on to help improve the experience in our Contact Centre team. Your involvement in these sessions is instrumental so we hope you’re able to work with us. If you’d rather speak to someone individually, you can always speak to your manager, any of the Contact Centre Management Team or the People Team - our door is always open.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Travel Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Extras full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The other travel consultants! I made a lot of friends. Shame most of them have left now. Bbqs, firework displays, parties, hx xmas day, not that the contact centre gets to attend any of these things.

    Cons

    So being in the CC ( contact centre) you are bottom rung in HX, and they make you feel it! The CC miss out most of the " fun Hx experience" because the organ grinder won't let anyone have time off the phones. HX have lost a shed load of fantastic talent within a year just because of poor management! I actually cannot count how many good team players who have been at HX for a number of years all jacked it in. The travel consultants are over worked and under valued. The targets are a joke and customer service has slipped. HX are very good at training you up to go for a job thats coming up, then going with a complete outsider, many people have fallen for this! Leaving people feeling deflated and unappreciated. It used to be such a lovely place to work and I used to love it; but no one seems to be questioning why they are losing staff? Why are they losing key players and big personalities? Because CC management changing has made people hate coming to work... Why would you get rid of whole team from the call centre? One minute they saying we should really push car hire and transfer, the next the whole team has been disbanded! Its safe to say they all left the company rather then go back to airport. The CC now feels tired, lifeless, its a sad place,where people are constantly worried about the safety of their jobs, forced to work ridiculous hours for an average pay. Where favouritism and bullying are rife!! Its very sad. Lets just say that the HX values and ideals are a fairytale, nothing more. Apart from the villians because they are quite a few of those!

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2017-12-05

    Holiday Extras Response

    December 11, 2017Associate People Director

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We’re sorry to hear some of your feedback and wanted to respond to some of the specific points raised. As a fast-paced business there will always be changes in the team and we try our best to minimise any disruption this may cause. It goes without saying that our Contact Centre managers put the team at the heart of everything they do, so they were very sad to hear this feedback. We are a little surprised by your comments about the Contact Centre being tired and lifeless as we put a lot of work into making sure that the culture and work environment here at HX is inviting and full of energy. We’d like to understand more about this if you’re able to get in touch with us. We’d love for people to be able to attend every single event but we also need to balance this against the needs of our customers. When planning events, we try and cater for different teams so that people can attend most of them. We also provide food and treats in lieu of people not being able to come along to help them feel included. If you have any ideas about how we can do better however, we’re really open to suggestions. Finally, we were concerned to read about some of the more serious claims that you have raised in your review. To make it clear, we do not tolerate bullying in any way and take any accusations of such behaviour very seriously. We foster an open environment for people to feel that they can share and relay any concerns they may have. We hope that you were able to do this with the People Team or our managers while you were here. If you would like to reach out to discuss your concerns in more detail, please email our People Team at people.team@holidayextras.com

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Sales specialist shortbreaks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist in Smeeth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Extras full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get free use an Apple MacBook although they’re usually really old model

    Cons

    The call centre is regarded as the bottom rung of the ladder. You get timed going to the toilet and if you take more than 4 minutes on of the female team leaders literally screams at you for taking to long and to get back to work in front of your entire colleagues You get excluded from any of the bbq or fun stuff during your shift. You will rarely & in some cases never get to go to the weekly team briefings which is bizarre as you’re the only direct customer role so should know the changes to the websites before the customers?!!! However holiday extras rely on thier middle management too much to rely important information when this doesn’t in reality happen If your face fits you will be fine but for most you just get bullied work long miserable shifts and lose your self belief Don’t work there unless you’re not in a call centre role

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2017-12-26
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Travel consultant call centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Extras full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get given an Apple Mac laptop, give good pay and good benefits. Luckily I had lovely people on my team. Shame the jobs AWFUL

    Cons

    If you work in the call centre your treated horrifically in every way... if you have an angry customer there is a department trained to take those calls yet they tell you to deal with it yourself! Clearly don’t do they’re job properly... unrealistic targets and awful one to one training. ( if you actually got the once a week/ once a month training they say your meant to) They don’t care about you as long as they’re making money. Very unsociable hours. Had the worst time working there and would not recommend it in the slightest

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2017-10-31

    Holiday Extras Response

    November 1, 2017Associate People Director

    This feedback makes us really sad as this is not the experience that we want people to have. As a fast paced, customer focused business, people are at the heart of what we do and we strive to help people feel appreciated and rewarded for the contribution they make. We work very hard to ensure our Travel Consultants are supported and have regular 1-2-1 time with their managers. Our focus over the last couple of months has been all about empowering our Travel Consultants to have the skills and confidence to be able to resolve customer issues so that they can help our customers on that first contact. The feedback from our recent engagement survey within the CC was that people feel very positive about being empowered and we are continuing to support our Travel Consultants to have the confidence to do this. It would be great to have the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail. Please feel free to get in touch with the People Team if you would like to do this.

    Continue reading
  8. "Positive and uplifting working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Extras full-time

    Pros

    For call centre work the company make you feel important and create a good working environment. The culture of the company is also very good.

    Cons

    Working on the phones can sometimes be repetitive but that is the nature of the work.

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2017-06-12
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Shortbreaks Call Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Smeeth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Extras full-time

    Pros

    Supportive environment with good opportunities to progress and get on in the team or in other teams around the business if thats what you want. Recognition is always readily available for a job well done so you want to do your best as you know it wont go unnoticed. Good benefits, especially if you are in the call centre.

    Cons

    Equipment (computers etc) is sometimes not up to standard.

    Continue reading
    Holiday Extras2017-05-05
  10. "Glassdoor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Hythe, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Extras full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay for the work that is required. Good benefits. Home working widely encouraged. Flexibility. Profit share. Great friendly people. Internal promotion for the right people.

    Cons

    On boarding can be a little tough on people, as there is a hierarchy system that takes a bit of getting used to if you have never experienced call centre work before.

    Holiday Extras2017-04-27
Found 14 reviews