Hogg Robinson Group Reviews

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Hogg Robinson Group Chief Executive David Radcliffe
David Radcliffe
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "The virtual office work from home situation is nice and convenient(in 5 reviews)

  • "flexible working environment, acceptable workload, good benefits(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low Pay - No Pay Rise at all for many years(in 5 reviews)

  • "Senior Management are very catty and cliquey(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Counselor in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hogg Robinson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full time hours Dental, Health benefits Career opportunities available Supervisors are very accomodating and has pleasing personalities

    Cons

    Pay is minimum wage Some Callers are to stressful

    Hogg Robinson Group2020-03-10
  2. "Nope!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hogg Robinson Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s a chance to get your foot in the door in the travel industry- Sometimes they randomly bring you in treats, like ice cream, or different travel suppliers will come and give a presentation and get little gifts

    Cons

    Low wages, you have no choice about your scheduling are the hours you work, they vary from day today, or week to week, all of your breaks are timed, not enough staff, very hectic, very short training, agents not qualified working, very poor management

    Continue reading
    Hogg Robinson Group2019-03-13
  3. "Travel Agent"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Agent in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hogg Robinson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Convenience of working from home - Good compensation and benefits - Travel perks for you friends and family

    Cons

    - low wage start 13.50 an hour and raise by 1.00 every 1 year anniversary - Unstable work can have long work days 9 hours a day but only paid for 8 hours as 1 hour lunch is not paid - During slow season work hours are constantly cut - No growth opportunity

    Continue reading
    Hogg Robinson Group2019-01-13
  4. "Good to grow"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hogg Robinson Group full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to advance. Great people.

    Cons

    Low pay, cliques, high stress

    Hogg Robinson Group2018-11-29
  5. "underpaid, poor management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hogg Robinson Group for more than a year

    Pros

    the location of the office was convenient

    Cons

    I felt like i was treated very poorly by the management in my office. I simply did not agree with how things are ran and felt like i was underpaid for the work i was asked to. I started as junior agent, yet eventually had to deal with very complicated situations but was still paid the same starting wage. The training was not enough, there was too much figuring things out on your own and hope your work was done right and i found assistance was hard to get. You could not walk up to a supervisor to ask the most simple question, you had to call a helpdesk and wait on hold forever to get a yes/no answer. It was not a good experience for me and felt like i was just a number.

    Continue reading
    Hogg Robinson Group2018-10-31
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Fine job if you’re just looking for a pay check"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fla in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hogg Robinson Group full-time

    Pros

    Easy to get to office, fun co workers, coffee machine in office

    Cons

    I didn’t understand micromanaging until I worked here. Any moment you’re off the phone your supervisor will question you. You will be put through their inadequate service training after 3-6 months (if you last that long) little to no options for shift flexibility unless you’re willing to work every weekend. They frequently change your shifts with little to no notice despite Ontario labour laws requiring them giving you notice. Schedules are inaccurate and if you’re scheduled for vacation you will lose out on promotion opportunities if your vacation is when their mandatory training is. The online booking tool will give you problems every day with no exaggeration and it seems if you ask one supervisor a question regarding protocol they will say something completely different than what another supervisor will say. There have been employers fired for missing days (with a doctors note) even after 3 month probation and reports of employees not getting the raises they were promised for moving into different roles.

    Continue reading
    Hogg Robinson Group2018-09-20
  7. "Typical crappy call center experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hogg Robinson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food from hotels and airlines (mostly fattening food, so expect health to worsen if you indulge), some really nice people there

    Cons

    Sneaky upper management, almost like weasels.

    Continue reading
    Hogg Robinson Group2018-08-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Mostly bad, with some good"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Agent in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hogg Robinson Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent health benefits, full time or flex hours, vacation time

    Cons

    Underpaid, overworked, underappreciated, company has some possibly illegal practices in Ontario, training is barely sufficient.

    Continue reading
    Hogg Robinson Group2018-07-24
  9. "Financial analyst"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hogg Robinson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible working environment, acceptable workload, good benefits

    Cons

    not meant for career development

    Continue reading
    Hogg Robinson Group2018-05-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Travel Consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hogg Robinson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The virtual office work from home situation is nice and convenient . - Management and staff are very friendly helpful and nice and patient and do their best to help you grow and succeed and try to reach out to agents and establish relationships within the company by setting up get together events. Company parties are very fun fancy and luxurious . - Great benefits package after passing 3 month probation and travel perks with IATA and other perks discount with Perkopolis as much as 75 % and 50% of air travel for you and spouse with airlines like Air Canada and West jet etc each year , they pay Full medical MSP, 80% dental, full life accident and dismemberment, 40 % vision care, 3 weeks paid annual vacation starting for 1st year , 5 paid sick days a year ,your own private internet line for work up to 110 CDN a month and after 3 years of service they pay for 50% of your gym membership /physical activity annually - Flexible shift hours and Great work life balance guaranteed 2 consecutive days weekend off every second week !! - management teaches you a lot about customer service and travel in training and and invest a lot into you and pay for your TICO licence which allows you to sell travel for any Travel agency based in Ontario - No target or quota it is just purely customer service

    Cons

    - the base pay start is really low it's 12.75 CDN an hr and then after 9 months you are raised to 13 and then 13.50 on your 1 year anniversary of joining and then receive a $1 raise each year up to about $16.50 - 17 an hr max as an FLA based on performance but there will be a lot of overtime depending on time of season or time of month however overtime is compensated handsomely you get overtime pay and overtime incentive which is gift cards of your choice X amount depending on X amount of overtime you put in during the week - Not a lot of room for salary growth unless you have been serviced trained which happens after your first 9 months and can land one of the open supervisor positions - Its really boring and lonely working from home in a home office environment compared to working in an actual office environment with co workers - long work hours during peak travel season and when company is required to meet TSF goals by the end of the month for RBC and Expedia be prepared to be scheduled for 9-9.5 Hr + shifts which you get a 1 hr lunch break starting from 12PM to 9:30 PM or 12:30 PM to 9:30 PM and later closing during those times as YVR is the closing office you do not get off until the last customer in the Queue line has been served. and you may be expected to come in early for overtime to help out it is a nightmare when the RBC rewards travel website is down and not working !!

    Continue reading
    Hogg Robinson Group2018-01-17
Found 92 reviews