Hoffman York Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hoffman York Reviews

Updated Jan 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Hoffman York CEO Troy Peterson (no image)
Troy Peterson
19 Ratings
  1. "New Location, New Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Director in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoffman York full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The culture here has done an 180 since we moved into our new location. Great people and great work.

    Cons

    Our agency kegerator runs out of beer a lot.

    Hoffman York2020-01-30
  2. "Incredibly inviting work atmosphere, would recommend to anyone wanting to pursue advertising!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Coordinator in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoffman York full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed, inviting, open, friendly, wide variety of clients

    Cons

    Work hours can be long depending on workload

    Hoffman York2020-01-31
  3. "Wonderful Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoffman York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's easy to tell that those who work at Hoffman York are passionate about their clients, the work the agency does for their clients, and overall employee satisfaction within the agency. The people are what makes the agency, and there is a great group of people who come to work each and every day to make Hoffman York an enjoyable place.

    Cons

    At times communication between the upper management and the staff could be improved.

    Hoffman York2019-02-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoffman York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture and clients are awesome. They really care about employee health and happiness, which is uncommon in most companies. There are also growth opportunities for all experience levels!

    Cons

    Employee reviews from managers are supposed to happen but are not as frequent as they are supposed to be.

    Continue reading
    Hoffman York2018-04-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Account Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoffman York full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The agency has always been dedicated to providing great service, strategy, and creative to their clients. But the split from the Chicago office, has reinvigorated Hoffman York. Employees are dedicated to make HY a great place to work! Each account is built to provide mentorship to more junior employees and all levels of management - including the CEO - are easily accessible. HY looks to grow their clients and their people.

    Cons

    The overall agency visions has been slow to be executed. Progress seems to slowly be picking up over the last few months.

    Continue reading
    Hoffman York2018-02-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Heading in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoffman York full-time

    Pros

    Things seem to be heading in the right direction since the sale of Chicago.

    Cons

    Sometimes communication feels a bit disjointed. The new office is great, but there is still a lot going of work being done which can be distracting.

    Hoffman York2017-07-05
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hoffman York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hear they have a new office

    Cons

    Provide more growth opportunities for creatives, as well as training seminars, conferences, team building activities. Creative teams were not unified, very competitive. Creative direction and strategy was always too safe.

    Hoffman York2017-06-20
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Splitting from our Chicago office..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Creative Director in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoffman York full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Splitting from our Chicago office was the best thing Hoffman York has ever done. Especially with our new, awesome office space, we have a new energy and culture here at HY. Also with Dave Hanneken coming onboard as ECD, we continue to crank out great creative work for real clients. Not just pro-bono work to win awards. More than ever before, we have the right group of talented people to get the job done and done well. The good people here and lack of egos, gives HY the advantage over the other agencies.

    Cons

    We tend to always be super busy and we are understaffed in the creative department. We really could use more junior writers and designers at the very least. For employee reviews, you do have to personally seek out feedback and self drive any opportunities for personal growth.

    Continue reading
    Hoffman York2017-01-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoffman York full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The ownership and management teams at Hoffman York are extremely accessible and willing to listen to input/advice from anyone who cares to speak up. This is especially true of the current CEO. The management team firmly believes in the power of its employees, and they offer up great opportunities for young, entry-level employees to take the reins and run with projects if you can prove yourself as a hard working, dedicated employee. HY developed a series of committees (i.e. Brand, Culture, Environment, Employee Development, etc.) to help with the agency's transition after the sale of the Chicago office, and I believe these have been hugely beneficial in getting more employees involved in shaping the HY into a great work place. Lastly, the new office space is extremely cool (so much better than the last office). You can tell a lot of thought went into the development of the space, and it is a great environment to work in.

    Cons

    The "six-month" reviews are not necessarily scheduled every six months, and employees usually have to make sure to ask their supervisors for their reviews. You may have to ask more than once, but they will schedule your review if you bring it up with your supervisors. Some of the committees that were developed have had less output than I personally would like to see. It would be great to see those jump started in 2017.

    Continue reading
    Hoffman York2017-01-09
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Start, Stay and Grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoffman York for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity if you're willing to step forward and step up! Lots of super smart people to work with and learn from. A company with a long history of success that know that what made it successful is not necessarily what will keep it successful - always looking for new ways to grow. Located in a great part of town (the 3rd Ward). The agency has lots of energy and optimism.

    Cons

    Nothing major. As much as you can be at an agency, you're really in control of your own destiny.

    Continue reading
    Hoffman York2016-12-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews