Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great people and the company takes care of you(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "No concept of work life balance; impossible to take a vacation; don’t even think of receiving a raise(in 35 reviews)

  • "It seemed like people were stretched thin and frequently worked long hours(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Experience as a new hire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Prior to my first day, I was made to feel welcome. I knew in advance what my first day/weeks would look like. Very thoughtful and organized approach. Very positive experience from the start.

    Cons

    No cons to speak of

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing. Share out with industry all the great things you do, offerings to clients and job seekers.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-11-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good team, good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good place to work. Good people. Interesting clients.

    Cons

    Relentless pressure to increase revenue and push work down to juniors.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-04
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    brilliant people, interesting clients, lots of different projects. You learn a lot working here.

    Cons

    you'll never get a raise once you're inside the company. Ask for what you are willing to live with before you get in

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-06-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Often toxic, rarely supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outside of what's already been mentioned - the variety of work, etc - I can't identify much that would have differentiated H+K from any other agency/PR shop.

    Cons

    A total lack of mentorship or opportunity for growth. No real sense of leadership; a lot of ho-hum ideas and thinkers masquerading as innovative. Working at H+K often felt like a rudderless journey with little in the way of a work/life balance, which is why the turnover felt high. Unclear goals and expectations, and poor communication was an ongoing issue. Clique-based favouritism often felt toxic, while management... could also exhibit petty behaviour. I have very little in the way of fond memories for my time here.

    Show More
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-06-10
  5. "Decent experience to gain various industry experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting, fun projects, lots of variety

    Cons

    Poor formal mentoring, career development - totally depends on the manager/supervisor you have and if that's in their wheelhouse/interest.

    Advice to Management

    Treat juniors better. Get out of the burn and churn agency mentality

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-05-04
  6. "Run away...fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not much to add except the great people and interesting work

    Cons

    Lack of senior management; they will work you till you drop dead! No concept of work life balance; impossible to take a vacation; don’t even think of receiving a raise…it wont happen! The people are excellent but are treated with zero respect. If you get offered a job here…run for your life! They have offices in Canada but have no idea how to run a business in the Canadian Market

    Advice to Management

    If you are not sure of the Canadian Market then hire people that do get rid of the United States mentality it doesn't work in Canada. Start promoting and paying your people who want to work in this environment. Management is beyond repair and I have no other advice to give.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-05-21
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to learn and work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    Amazing benefits package, everyone is working really hard : you will learn a lot.

    Cons

    Management not transparent enough, we don't know what the big picture is, where the HR is going, what is the goal...

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-03-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "No."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    -Good benefits. -Pretty good office location

    Cons

    -Management provides absolutely no guidance to junior staff -Poor account on-boarding -Very clique-y environment. -Only ones who succeeded were the ones who were closest to upper management and enjoyed gossiping the most. -Only one personality type will exist here. I wouldn't recommend if you are "different" in any way, quiet, or a POC.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to your people. Be a mentor. Get out of your offices and from behind your desks...talk to people, make them feel comfortable to foster good work.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2018-12-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "I've enjoyed my time at H+K"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    Great people, open concept office with lots of light and interesting projects.

    Cons

    WPP has very strict compensation rules that govern whether people get raises based on the financial performance.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2018-08-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    H+K is a great place to work. There are lots of very intelligent, motivated people.

    Cons

    WPP has very strict compensation and advancement rules that govern whether people get raises and promotions based on the financial performance of the whole group.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2018-06-26
Found 311 reviews