Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hill+Knowlton Strategies Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great people and the company takes care of you(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work life balance - expected to work well beyond regular hours and be available by phone/email at all times(in 37 reviews)

  • "Long hours (8 -7am/8pm) is the norm(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Experience as a new hire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Prior to my first day, I was made to feel welcome. I knew in advance what my first day/weeks would look like. Very thoughtful and organized approach. Very positive experience from the start.

    Cons

    No cons to speak of

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-11-07

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    November 18, 2019People + Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We value your input and are happy to hear you're enjoying your experience with H+K! We're definitely working toward more frequently sharing the great work our people do here and if you have any further feedback, please email us at feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company, even though benefits aren't that high"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    Very interesting and diverse projects from the first day make it a very exciting opportunity for junior managers. Everyone on board has exceptionally high levels of education, is creative and full of ideas. Exposure to world known brands.

    Cons

    Salary is not very high. For really many people on board it is actually first place they work at.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2020-03-12
  3. "Poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the most brilliant minds work here so a lot of learning opportunities. Lots of big clients as well so work is never boring. Lots of growth opportunities.

    Cons

    No work life balance - expected to work well beyond regular hours and be available by phone/email at all times. Management is hit or miss.

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2020-03-05
  4. "Good starting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    They offer lots of opportunity and room for growth

    Cons

    Similar to any agency in the city

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2020-01-22

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    March 10, 2020People + Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re glad to hear that the agency has offered opportunities and room for growth as we believe in helping our employees lead the career they want to have here today and beyond. We welcome any feedback you may have on how we can set ourselves apart from other agencies, so please don’t hesitate to reach out to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good team, good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good place to work. Good people. Interesting clients.

    Cons

    Relentless pressure to increase revenue and push work down to juniors.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-09-04
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    brilliant people, interesting clients, lots of different projects. You learn a lot working here.

    Cons

    you'll never get a raise once you're inside the company. Ask for what you are willing to live with before you get in

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-06-18

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    June 24, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We love hearing all the things you liked about working with us – we happen to agree! Regarding raises, our HR team conducts regular audits in an effort to keep pace with our competitors, and compensation is based on both individual and corporate variables. Thanks again for your input. If you’d like to share additional feedback, we encourage you to email feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Often toxic, rarely supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outside of what's already been mentioned - the variety of work, etc - I can't identify much that would have differentiated H+K from any other agency/PR shop.

    Cons

    A total lack of mentorship or opportunity for growth. No real sense of leadership; a lot of ho-hum ideas and thinkers masquerading as innovative. Working at H+K often felt like a rudderless journey with little in the way of a work/life balance, which is why the turnover felt high. Unclear goals and expectations, and poor communication was an ongoing issue. Clique-based favouritism often felt toxic, while management could also exhibit petty behaviour. I have very little in the way of fond memories for my time here.

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-06-10

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    June 12, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re sorry you didn’t feel you had the support you needed during your time at H+K. We’re working hard to ensure all our employees feel like they belong, and have excellent professional development opportunities and clear goals – both individually and as a company. You may know we’re in a period of transformation, and will welcome a new global CEO later this month. We’re excited about what’s to come, and wish you could be part of it, but respect your decision to move on. If you have additional feedback you’d like to share, don’t hesitate to send it to feedback@hkstrategies.com. We wish you all the success in your future!

    Continue reading
  8. "Decent experience to gain various industry experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting, fun projects, lots of variety

    Cons

    Poor formal mentoring, career development - totally depends on the manager/supervisor you have and if that's in their wheelhouse/interest.

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-05-04

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    May 28, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re grateful for the time you spent with us, and so glad to hear you enjoyed the projects and clients you worked on! It’s difficult to provide a thoughtful response without knowing where you were based, but we want you to know we’re rolling out a new global performance system in the coming months, which will help us be more consistent across the company in how we review + reward employees for their hard work. The rollout will include coaching and mentoring training to help everyone perform at their best. We value your input and would love to hear more about your experience and how we can improve at feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  9. "Run away...fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not much to add except the great people and interesting work

    Cons

    Lack of senior management; they will work you till you drop dead! No concept of work life balance; impossible to take a vacation; don’t even think of receiving a raise…it wont happen! The people are excellent but are treated with zero respect. If you get offered a job here…run for your life! They have offices in Canada but have no idea how to run a business in the Canadian Market

    Continue reading
    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-05-21

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    May 22, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. What you describe isn’t at all consistent with the culture we strive for, and we’re sorry to hear you didn’t have a wonderful experience with us. PR is among the fastest-paced professions in the world, and it sounds like your experience was no exception. Sometimes our best efforts to balance the workload miss the mark. Regarding performance and rewards, we’re excited to be rolling out a new system in the coming months to ensure consistency across the globe in our appraisal process. We value your input and would love to hear more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us additional feedback at feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to learn and work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill+Knowlton Strategies full-time

    Pros

    Amazing benefits package, everyone is working really hard : you will learn a lot.

    Cons

    Management not transparent enough, we don't know what the big picture is, where the HR is going, what is the goal...

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies2019-03-06

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

    March 19, 2019Global Communications + Culture Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re pleased to hear about the things you love about working at H+K! Our people are our greatest asset, and we’re always looking for ways to enhance the employee experience at H+K. We recently restructured our internal communications strategy and team to address the areas needing improvement. We hope you will notice the results soon, and invite you to submit any additional feedback to feedback@hkstrategies.com. Thanks for all you do for H+K!

    Continue reading
Found 320 reviews