Herring Broadcasting Company Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 9 reviews

2.4
30%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Herring Broadcasting Company CEO Robert Herring Sr. (no image)
Robert Herring Sr.
5 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company to work for

    Dec 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The owners are nice, schedule is consistent, you get life insurance and health benefits, and you get a bonus at Christmas time!

    Cons

    I cant think of any

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Bush League

    May 6, 2013 - TV Production in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun content to create Nice area to be in Nice (but frightened) co-workers Benefits after 90 days (if you make it)

    Cons

    Where to begin... A Clueless Leader An office run on fear and intimidation Mickey Mouse sets Minnie Mouse budgets Crappy pay High turnover 40 minute Lunch breaks... in TV PRODUCTION??? Adding insult to injury, there's nothing within walking distance for lunch!!! Surveillance cameras in every corner of the office (yes, you read that correctly) Expect to do two other jobs in addition to the one your hired for Expect to be chewed out by the boss for no reason - it just happens and is to be expected Seriously the worst production kitchen in the history of production kitchens with vending machines charging $1 for a can of Coke; gourmet coffee beans and grinder but no sugar or cream and brown roll paper towels for napkins A run down, shabby building The bosses drive 100K sports cars while everyone else drives a bucket Seriously bad location - almost two miles from the freeway exit in a stupid industrial/hill section Ok, you might be reading the above and be thinking, in your unemployed desperation, yeah, I can handle all that if I get a paycheck. But please, do try to remember, if you get hired - YOU WERE WARNED!

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A Great Place to Learn

    Oct 22, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    During my time at Herring Broadcasting, I was offered all the opportunities that I earned. If I worked hard, it was very clearly appreciated and rewarded by my manager. Every employee is a key part of the company, and it was important that we all worked together. I would make suggestions and I got to see my ideas translate into real things in the company. I don't think this could be possible without the great management.

    Cons

    As with any growing company, it is a lot of work. It is very fun and rewarding work though.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Kingdom of Dirt

    Feb 7, 2014 - Videographer/Editor in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The hiring process was a whirlwind that left me feeling like royalty. Flown out to meet the management with all expenses paid. Promised the world and even the kitchen sink. Amazing first impression that left me awash with a warm glow until...

    Cons

    ... until the actual job. In areas where guests walk through, cameras roll, and executives kick up their snakeskin shoes on their desks; its marvelous. Everything else makes the dingiest dungeon look like an interior design masterpiece. That's how it goes. The Herrings spare no expense to impress, but hope that their work ends there. They're experts at dazzling and misdirection, and that's about it. The work of production is micro-managed with blind incompetence. They squawk about what they want, demean the grunts, and marginalize supervisors.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The Great American News Network

    Oct 24, 2014 - Producer in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employees who work here will be your favorite part about the company. They are all young, hardworking, and are what is to be expected for a start-up company. Some of them will become your best friends, and just about everyone working on the news side are great all around people.

    Cons

    There are some cons, but they’re pretty basic. Herring Broadcasting Inc. is family owned and operated, which means you only have one true boss, which is the in-house CEO, Robert Herring Sr. He leaves his door open all day as an “open door policy” to all of his employees. This seems cool, but the fact that the CEO is the end-all management system hurts the company, and prevents it from utilizing the full potential of it's employees. Especially because of the fact that the CEO has not worked in television before starting the production company. Employees in the company are allowed to walk into the CEO's office anytime to pitch any idea, but all decisions are solely up to him, and him alone. Sometimes he’s in a good mood, and will give the green light for whatever you want to do if he thinks it’ll be entertaining. If he’s in a bad mood, he will likely kill any idea you pitch to him. It’s good to keep the ideas flowing, and go with whatever he says. Everything in the office is recorded and archived, so keep that in mind and don't stay too attached to your creative ideas. All employees at the company are well aware that the CEO has surveillance cameras installed in every corner of the building. He makes sure to remind employees that they’re being watched, and will page them on the intercom if he sees someone talking on the cameras and thinking they’re not working. It gets a little stressful, but everyone there is used to it. He will also watch the cameras remotely from home, just because he thinks the employees slack off when he leaves the office. The work schedule is very demanding. For the 3 travel shows that are shot in-house, only one photographer, and one host is sent out. Sure, you're shooting in the Bahamas, but you'll be in charge of everything, doing the jobs of an entire camera crew. The job duties are so strenuous on one man, that it took out one of our best photographers, giving him a compressed disc in his back. And he was forced to work through two shoots afterwards. On the news side of the company, writers are judged by how many stories they write over a set amount of time, rather than be judged on the accuracy of their reporting, or quality of their writing. Everyone's data is printed and taped to the walls, and the CEO walks the newsroom only looking at numbers. Once a story is put into the day's rundown, it is almost never touched again, and we get some complaints from people about checking our facts. We originally started out wanting to be a "credible source of news" but stopped fact-checking a long time ago. Also, 3/3 talk show hosts are far right republicans, and our viewers have started to call us "Fox News Jr." because of it. The company doesn’t pay the rates that most jobs in production provide, but it is a start up company, and employees are reminded of that often. Most of the people who work on the One America News side come from local news stations. There are some individuals who don’t have much experience in tv production, but the company is viewed by the majority of the people who work there as a place to learn, or a launchpad towards the next step in their career. Overall, it would be very wise to watch some of the programming on both networks before considering working for them. From there, an individual will be able to assess the production value and content of the writing. The AWE side that the Herring’s have owned for the last 10+ years (Formerly “Wealth TV”) mostly has licensed out programming, and only shoot around 3-4 of their shows in-house.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good for travel, pretty crappy otherwise.

    Jul 27, 2014 - Producer in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Travel opportunities. Great, but terrified coworkers.

    Cons

    This is a weird, weird place to work. It's a lot like this: one day a very wealthy man woke up and decided he wanted to own a broadcasting company that makes random shows that show the world's wealth. He creates the company, with not a single ounce of history/experience in television production. This lack of knowledge becomes very apparent in the quality of work that comes out of the building. I gotta give it to the guy, he's really old and still manages to terrify his family and employees without a hitch. Every show has a process of being pitched, and either turned down or approved. It really depends on his mood. Every conversation he has in his office is recorded, so be aware of that. He is extremely paranoid and has cameras everywhere in the building which he watches all day. It's super awkward when you enter his office and he's staring at the screen of your desk area. Yeah, REALLY weird. When you think of someone as wealthy as he is, you would think that he would have to have some sort of taste to get where he's gotten. That is what he is lacking most, class and taste. I think if he had it his way, the walls would be plated with gold and hideous. Oh, the dreaded weekly meetings. Everyone meets in the conference room and he has everyone go around one by one explaining what they're working on. These meetings are really awkward, and there are often really absurd comments made that are so very unprofessional. It's a shaming circle that sucks the life out of you, and takes much too much time out of your day when you could be working on something productive. The pay is pretty much horrible. The only way it really makes it worth it is the fact that you can travel to some pretty great places (while doing 5 people's jobs, of course). Because the turnover is so high (I saw many people fired before their three months was up). If you work here, plan on it being short lived and take full advantage of the travel opportunity. Don't count on learning how television production actually works. This is a world of it's own and operates nothing like a legit television production company. Good luck!

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Want to get experience at a professional TV news station? Look elsewhere.

    May 18, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Our two studios have nice production equipment. We have nice cameras and nice camera rigs. We also have a very nice brand new studio for the newscasts. There is one older studio for the talk shows, but it still holds up all right. Employees are very nice.

    Cons

    Herring Broadcasting runs 2 small cable networks, WealthTV and a start-up news network, One America News. I was told in my interview that One America News would be a "credible source for news" that would hopefully and eventually compete with FOX News and CNN. So going in, I was expecting to find an organization that was actually going to try create solid, ethical newscasts. Instead, I found a disorganized operation with an owner/CEO that had zero experience in news, did not know how to lead people or rally a team, yet still wanted to control every aspect of the news channel based on false assumptions on how television newsrooms are run. And if that wasn't enough, I found a complete disregard for the rules of newscast ethics and journalism. Literally everyone that has any say in the company has little to no experience in news. If you're trying to launch a news channel, you can imagine how difficult this might make things. The CEO has actually said he wants inexperienced people because he can control them easily and they won't put up the slightest protest to his news judgement. Writers are told to just copy and paste from our Associated Press and Reuters news sources. Many on-air anchors are hired purely for their looks. And Producers do not check stories for updates. I can't really blame the producers for this since they don't know any better. They're inexperienced! Once a story is written and put in a show rundown, that's usually the last time anyone ever checks for updates on that story, let alone double-check the facts on that story to begin with. But since, the CEO doesn't care about those pesky details (ie. actually being a "credible" source for news) everything is alright as long as he sees a good looking anchor on his television. Since, management has little experience in news, there is very little in the way of advice on how to further our craft. There are little to no performance reviews for writers, anchors, or technical people. But if anyone dares question this, they're threatened with their jobs. So all these employees right out of college that were so excited to get their first job in TV news, are actually not getting any real world experience at all. You think that's bad? I haven't even gotten to other the problems with company culture. The CEO doesn't trust any of his employees and routinely watches them through cameras in literally every corner of our offices. He regularly questions workers on what they are doing if he sees employees talking to each other. This is a problem especially if you have a CEO that has zero experience in news and doesn't understand that working in a newsroom is a cooperative experience where employees must talk to each other to put a newscast together. The environment that this creates is one where everyone is afraid and no one wants to improve our product for fear of retaliation. I do not recommend this company to anyone. If you're looking for just a job that pays OKAY for a recent college grad, and do not really have a passion for news news or TV, or if you don't mind a controlling boss, then this job might be okay for you for the time being. If you care about news and if you're looking to get real world experience in TV production, go elsewhere. If you care about ethical standards, want to learn how the rules of journalism work, and want to learn how to put a professional high-quality newscast together, go elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    From dream job to hell job!

    May 28, 2014 - Producer in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sure, I got to travel and see some pretty amazing things (which I'm grateful for), but what I and all the rest dealt with to get ANYTHING done was a nightmare.

    Cons

    I worked for the company long enough to understand that it is what it is... I will be as honest with you as possible that it had way too many downs to call it a career. First, the turnover is quite bad, considering the only level of approval is through the CEO, Robert Herring, who is a very CRYPTIC man. Lets just say from the moment I started working with the company, I was told to only speak with him when he was in a "good mood"... Well it was always difficult, because no one could ever tell if he was in good mood or not. However, I did catch him a few times which is how I got any work done there. However, I basically couldn't work on anything unless it was approved by Mr. Herring, and he was always quite difficult to chase down. It became a place where one did not feel comfortable approaching their one and only boss. Lots of awkward meetings where he would argue or shout at his son. Overall, there was an extreme lack of management, human resources and professionalism. If you work here, be careful with socializing or you'll be spied on! And the company offers extremely low pay for those that wear a lot of hats! But the lack unprofessionalism from the CEO is appalling! It was a great opportunity for me to build a nice tv/host reel and get some travel out of it, but I wouldn't recommend anyone to work for the company unless it was being ran by someone other than Robert Herring. I must tell you that the people that do continue to put up with these conditions are amazing people that just adore the travel aspect (who wouldn't right?) or simply don't know any better. The CEO doesn't care about experience and intellect but rather pretty faces on the 50 inch screen that sits in his office. I do not recommend this company to anyone unless Robert herring senior is 100% out of the picture.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Liars, intimidators, thieves, unethical, cheap, cowards

    Apr 9, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working there will hurt your career. You do NOT want to be affiliated with this company

    Cons

    Constant intimidation, lying, unprofessional behavior, workers pay for their own office supplies, waste of time

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

Work at Herring Broadcasting Company? Share Your Experiences

Herring Broadcasting Company logo
or