Heritage Education Funds Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Heritage Education Funds Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
83%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Heritage Education Funds CEO Jason R.B. Maguire (no image)
Jason R.B. Maguire
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, thought mentoring leadership with an excellent overall office ambiance - very little politics!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dealing Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heritage Education Funds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Grass roots oriented. Very entrepreneurial/start-up like business setting as first glance.

    Cons

    Could have better support for sales field. Growing too fast - short staffed.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people to support the rapid growing business needs! Involve the field representatives in more projects that effect them, for their feedback.

    Heritage Education Funds2014-03-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It is a good choice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Heritage Education Funds part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You have flexible time , you can help your clients' children to achieve their university dreams. They can get better return compare to other RESP plans.

    Cons

    Sometimes they make mistakes when they sent email to us, I prefer to say noting bad to my company. I am satisfied about the company.

    Heritage Education Funds2013-04-16
  3. "Heritage Education Funds offers a solid product however takes time to get going."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Heritage Education Funds full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best part of the job is that you can have the freedom to work the job when you want. It can be rewarded once you have a clientel base underneath you. Great as a part time position, but difficult if pursuing full time employment. Can pay very well if you work hard at it.

    Cons

    Heritage is a commision based position in which what you put into it is what you get out of it. The first years are difficult because you must prospect your own leads, market your own product, and follow up with clients. It is the all in one sales position. Diffucult to develop in the first 3 years, smooths out out once you have a clientel.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more into your salesforce to ensure that you're people stick around. It is difficult when you feel you are working by yourself and only hear from the head office a couple of times per year. Training needs to be standardized and a true leaders are needed to motivate and encourage your salesforce to work hard for the company. The bottom line is not everything.

    Heritage Education Funds2013-03-12
  4. "Great for young professionals or retiring professionals but not in between professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Heritage Education Funds full-time

    Pros

    -good starting company -very relaxed environment -super friendly people -pretty easy going

    Cons

    -pay is quite low due to being a non-profit organization -contract based initial employment

    Advice to Management

    -increase pay to compete with competitors -increase bonuses

    Heritage Education Funds2012-08-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "There is great income potential for those who have money to invest into their business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Saskatoon, SK

    I worked at Heritage Education Funds

    Pros

    - Great income potential for successful candidates - Offering an outstanding product - Flexible hours and time off when needed

    Cons

    - VERY expensive to get started -VERY regulated.. can not advertise without sending all materials through compliance, can not have business cards made unless they are made through head office and they charge too much. -No help to gain leads for new reps -Rewards and recognition only kick in when you are at the very top of the company, so you have very little motivation from the team when its needed most - in the... beginning.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow your rep's to move at their own speed and exercise their creativity. Host contests and reward rep's for jobs well done.

    Heritage Education Funds2011-12-14
  6. "A great part-time income source!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Heritage Education Funds

    Pros

    You have the ability to set your own hours,. There is an unlimited commission pay structure. There are really great promotions to encourage you to work hard and be productive. You get to work from home and set your own hours. Once you build a customer base you will have "bonus" babies to existing clients as well as referrals.

    Cons

    Flipside of commission - you are strictly on commission, you must pay for all of your own marketing materials. It's tough to get started without a doubt.

    Advice to Management

    Websites have a lot of glitches, when tracking leads, etc. Please make Salestree a more user friendly and productive sales tool.

    Heritage Education Funds2009-02-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Extremely nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heritage Education Funds

    Pros

    Heritage Education Funds have a fostering environment filled with people who value growth of the company as much as the growth of each individual contributing.

    Cons

    Can be a bit too relaxing sometimes, may not be for people who need constant challenges in their lives.

    Heritage Education Funds2015-02-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "This is the Company I would recommend to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heritage Education Funds full-time

    Pros

    As it was already mentioned, this company has lots of opprtunities. But, again, you need to work really hard and show you creative approach. Like, today, I work at sales department at EssayOnlineStore Website and I can say that I have lots of sales because of my previous job experience with Heritage Education Funds. So, it was a great sales exprience for me.

    Cons

    Maybe there are small cons, but I don't find them too big to mention here.Just like any company it is not perfect (yes, they lack HR support which makes it difficult to works sometimes. But it is not that significant.Just hire more people-this is a good solution)

    Advice to Management

    Better directions, better HR

    Heritage Education Funds2014-10-01
Found 28 reviews