Heritage Education Funds Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Heritage Education Funds Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Jason R.B. Maguire
9 Ratings
  1. "Marketing Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Heritage Education Funds full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    friendly work environment, good work life balance,training and professional enrichment opportunities

    Cons

    lack of room for advancement, not a very professional environment, lack of acknowledgement and advancement opportunities for employees, under industry average pay rate, minimal year end bonus

    Advice to Management

    invest in your people and company (IT solutions and software)

    Heritage Education Funds2015-11-14
  2. Helpful (3)

    "I enjoy working here and my job; this year I will be celebrating my 15th anniversary with the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heritage Education Funds full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great open door policy, you can speak with anyone at the executive level.

    Cons

    Tight deadlines and a lot of projects on the go, all the time.

    Advice to Management

    Stick to only 3 - 4 projects per year... when there is too much on the go, you tend to miss stuff.

    Heritage Education Funds2015-03-26
  3. Helpful (3)

    "At Heritage, I feel a empowered and appreciated..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heritage Education Funds full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I would recommend the company to anyone, from a young graduate seeking to get into a financial industry to an established professional or executive with a lot of experience. It is a great company that let's you grow professionally, I mean, they get you involved with really cool and interesting projects, you get to acquire new skills that you can put on your resume, they even pay for your education.. of course if it is...

    Show More

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons to mention here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great job you are doing! We believe in you!!

    Heritage Education Funds2015-03-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, a very strong company with a great corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heritage Education Funds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Enthusiastic, motivated staff with a genuine love of the product - Management and executive leadership encourage creativity and the sharing of ideas - Everyone has a voice in how the company operates (top level management actually listens) - Plenty of opportunities for advancement (the company likes to promote from within) - Constantly evolving business practices to take advantages of emerging technologies (e.g....

    Show More

    Cons

    - The industry itself is tightly regulated and constantly under media scrutiny - Head office is in North York, which could be a good or bad thing (your mileage may vary)

    Heritage Education Funds2015-03-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very reasonable organization with a heart for treating their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heritage Education Funds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a good executive management team that is very easy to work with, reasonable and go out of their way to help out their teams. Plus, their social committee is a HUGE bonus!

    Cons

    Sometimes the lack of resources to adapt to the growing needs could be frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Allocate the appropriate resources to support the growing need - have a BIG dream, but an even BIGGER strategy.

    Heritage Education Funds2015-03-17
  6. "A Company That Does Not Have Direction or Empathy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heritage Education Funds full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fellow employees are great to work with. Senior management are rarely available to bother you or listen to you Close to transit. No need to use your car

    Cons

    Lack of Direction Lack of communication with management Not sure what products are we selling (RESP?, Mortgages? Mutual Funds? Insurance?) Pay grade is slightly above average, but struggle to get next pay raise. Too many complaints from customers and not enough resources to deal with the overwhelming complaints

    Advice to Management

    Get back to your roots. What happened to senior management? You no longer care about your staff or what value they bring to your company. Ever since senior management bought the company, management have been pompous about their positions. They were just lucky to be in the right place at the right time to purchase the company. Being owners of the company does not make senior management necessary experts at their...

    Show More
    Heritage Education Funds2014-09-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to grow with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Associate in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heritage Education Funds full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to grow with time, effort and commitment. Throughout my experience I worked in Customer service, Agency Service and was also promoted within Agency Services. Although I decided to pursue my career in Marketing elsewhere, I had lots of support from my management and senior leader.

    Cons

    Lack of HR support. Because the business is ran by the 3 owners, I find that sometimes it hard for them to make decisions which takes longer to get things done.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more backing to your senior leaders so that they can make sound decisions. Leadership training for our management team would be beneficial for the company growth.

    Heritage Education Funds2014-06-06
  8. "Boring Company that pays alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heritage Education Funds part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    team is good work life balance is good as well the pay is decent

    Cons

    work is very routine not much opportunity for improvement

    Heritage Education Funds2014-06-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, thought mentoring leadership with an excellent overall office ambiance - very little politics!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dealing Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heritage Education Funds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Grass roots oriented. Very entrepreneurial/start-up like business setting as first glance.

    Cons

    Could have better support for sales field. Growing too fast - short staffed.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people to support the rapid growing business needs! Involve the field representatives in more projects that effect them, for their feedback.

    Heritage Education Funds2014-03-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It is a good choice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Heritage Education Funds part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You have flexible time , you can help your clients' children to achieve their university dreams. They can get better return compare to other RESP plans.

    Cons

    Sometimes they make mistakes when they sent email to us, I prefer to say noting bad to my company. I am satisfied about the company.

    Heritage Education Funds2013-04-16
Found 26 reviews