Heartland Dental "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Heartland Dental Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Dental President & Chief Executive Officer Pat Bauer
Pat Bauer
466 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Free dental services for you and your dependents is limited to what YOUR dentist can do(in 43 reviews)

  • "Alot of spiteful people in upper management(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "It wasn't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Assistant in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - best training system I have ever been apart of - offer one on one training in the office setting -offer training videos for everyone from Business assistants, to dental, to hyg, to drs - offer extra learning classes for those who stand out - the company comes together once a year to do an annual training. They fly you out and pay for everything, its usually a weekend thing were we role play a lot of issues we see in our day to day office life. We offer solutions and always remain flexible, positive and open.

    Show More

    Cons

    -they rather higher outside their company for management or upper management positions. Mind you they have employees who started from the bottom and spent years working their way up. These employees have years and years of experience. They are obvious leaders in the office setting and even are given titles "LEAD" to show seniority and to show they are at the mastery level to train new hires or even go to other offices to offer assistances. But Heartland rather hire from outside their company to start at management positions. - (i've work for the company in FL and CO) Upper management seems to be spread very thin. So when one office is failing, it's sometimes overlooked because that manager has X amount of other SUCCESSFUL offices and can't be bothered with the ONE office who is slowly failing. -If your doctor holds a lot of stake with the company then he/she is untouchable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop over looking hard working individuals who want to stay and grow with you. Its very offensive to remain stagnant but I'm good enough to TRAIN the new hire you hired thats suppose to be my superior... BUT here I am training them the BASICS of what it is to be a business assistant....

    Heartland Dental2019-12-17
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Check out other review sites for the truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Administrator in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Your home office is what you make it. Look into other review sites.

    Cons

    Upper management is a joke. The only reason the rating on this site is higher is because upper management has instructed employees to go on and say nice things.

    Advice to Management

    Look into HR complaints from current and former employees to see why your company is loosing so many amazing employees. You have the wrong people in regional management. They chasing away anyone that they may threaten their "intelligence".

    Heartland Dental2019-12-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Practice Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -decent pay - networking with other managers

    Cons

    -awful benefits (no 401k match) - Upper level management ONLY care about numbers and not people - LONG hours and expect many admin meetings that aren’t worthwhile - growing in the company is ridiculously difficult (unqualified people move up while the high performers don’t) - upper management is never satisfied with your performance (always could be better) - not much autonomy in the PMO role. The autonomy lies with the doctor (if they are a big producer) and upper management - upper management talks down on business assistants daily although business assistants work much harder - this company’s culture is all about politics and who you know and who you don’t - I’ve never been in a company more corporate than Heartland - raises are HARD to come by, there are limits (understandably) and depending on your region you may never get a raise no matter how well you perform or your office performs

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Practice the “servant leadership” you preach. Get in the trenches with the offices when they need help. Support your PMOs and doctors fully and treat us like humans instead of numbers.

    Heartland Dental2019-10-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Far AWAY!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some great people, outside of upper management, that make work bearable.

    Cons

    - Work/life balance is terrible - Upper management is full of people who knew people to climb the ladder, not knowledge in what they do. - To Heartland, you're a number, not a person - If you make a mistake or are simply disliked, upper management will do everything they can to bully you until you quit - including but not limited to, name calling, destructive criticism not related to your job performance, minimal annual increases, and allowing co-workers to make heinous remarks about you to colleagues with no repercussions. - Don't work here if you want to make a competitive wage - - Oh and they strongly "encourage" all positive Glassdoor reviews and publicly belittle you if you leave a negative one so don't believe the positive remarks on here. Honestly, I didn't want to give this company 1 star.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promote based on skills/knowledge Treat your employees like humans Respect is a 2 way street

    Heartland Dental2019-10-21
  5. "Training was good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Assistant in Fayetteville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training is good and detailed

    Cons

    Alot of spiteful people in upper management. Over worked and under paid

    Advice to Management

    Office managers are lazy

    Heartland Dental2019-08-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "BA to PMO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PMO Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Dr’s, met wonderful team members, traveled a lot. With the previous Director loved Heartland! Drank the kool aid! Believed in doing the right thing for the right reason.

    Cons

    Change in leadership for Texas became very micro-managed. If you are not a personal friend of the director forget about growth. Always being told you need to be a cheerleader. Very cut throat. The upper management pays too much attention to gossip & he said /she said rather than performance. Their go to response for letting any team members go is “ your not a fit for heartland “ they stress to PMO’s to coach people out to find anything or any reason to write them up so they can “coach them out”

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to who you put in charge! Actually listen to the complaints of team members if you see a lot of people leaving then that’s a big flag that who you have directing your business isn’t doing such a good job!

    Heartland Dental2019-05-19
  7. "EDDA (30+yrs exp) & BA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Laid back Some real opportunity

    Cons

    Upper management Recognition Internal advancements

    Advice to Management

    I worked in private practice for years, have been with Heartland Dental almost 10 yrs. I don't have many cons except our upper management. When I went to New Employee training I had the pleasure of listening to Dr Workman speak to us. One thing he said I have not forgotten was this "when asked how does a person advance in this company", he answered "work hard and continue to grow". I personally have done nothing but that. I'm not perfect but I do know dental, how to schedule, place fillings, run the front office, took every class offered to me and can make things happen. But, I am not ever informed of job Positions when they open up or considered to step up in management. 2nd Dr I worked with even asked me if there was something personal with myself and my RDO. She over looks me, she demoted me when office managers were no longer, gave the pmo position to another. While my Dr, a 2nd Dr and 3 other PMO' s wondered why not me the same as I did. So the info on clicky, I do feel is true. I have often wondered how many things just stop with the RDO to never reach the next level for consideration. My knowledge allows me to step in almost anywhere in the office and take over only exception is licensing (Dentist and Hygiene related). In my current position I was required to be listed as a BA floater so outside management wouldn't bark about being over staffed--we are not! Not one person outside of this office recognizes I have multiple skills in several areas. Even with the changes to PMO's as a rule only to have 1 office ours has two. Mostly because RDO won't plan or try to allow another to step up. Advice, take a look at what decisions are being made or decided on by RDO'S that never get past that point. And tell them all the statement "just a BA", when it comes to pay increases is very offensive to all and especially when you bounce back and forth and can float in as a BA or EDDA position when needed! I don't feel the company holds me back I feel certain individuals do. Current RDO, is not honest either most do not place any trust in what she says.

    Show More
    Heartland Dental2019-02-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "decent entry level position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Assistant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hours monday-friday, will have paid holidays off, great benefits

    Cons

    poor upper management, lots of turn over

    Heartland Dental2019-01-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Home Office has changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Office Employee in Effingham, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The non-management workers all work together and strive to communicate and fulfill what we see as our main job: supporting the dental offices. We work well over 40 hours a week to be there when our supported offices need us, and to provide a friendly can do face to our supported practices. The individual workers at Heartland are what make it a special company. We are all willing to put in the hours, and do the hard work it takes to support our offices.

    Show More

    Cons

    Management between departments does not work well and breeds a political toxic environment that makes it hard to support the offices. Managers now throw calls back and forth and throw each-other under the buss to save face when an office is angry. Management in the last two years has gone from a family friendly small company feel to a cooperate numbers first approach. This has put every department behind since they enacted Fiscally Fit. Every department is now understaffed and people who have worked here for 10 years or more are dropping like flys and jumping ship. The main reason they are doing this is because of the numbers first approach of upper management. As a company we no longer care about supporting our offices, we only care about meeting production goals. This has only changed in the last two years since a new wave of middle managers has come in. Lower management has shifted their focus from supporting our offices to helping the numbers look good. This has caused a hiring freeze which has killed morale and made it a very hard place to work. We are now supporting 30% more offices with 20% less people. What finally made me quit was the lack of hiring replacements for people who had left. Every time someone would leave we would get more and more behind. This created a negative feedback loop which has affected every department at Home Office. Offices are on hold longer and every department is struggling to keep up with the increase in call volume. For some reason we are not replacing those who have left. We are now hiring half of what we were two years ago. This makes it impossible to keep up because each person is now doing two or three peoples jobs. I and many others just got burnt out. You can't expect to support more offices with less people. What finally made me quit was being told by my manager to work harder. At this point in my career I had over taken 3 peoples duties, and was putting in more than 50 hours a week on average. I had missed birthdays, sports games, and graduations. I knew they were never going to hire more help so I just left. We can't be expected to work any harder than we are right now. Everyone is working from home and going way over the 40 hours a week mark to keep this company afloat. I remember when I first started at this company within a year I had said to myself that I was going to retire here because it was such a great place to work. I finally had to leave simply because management would not hire more people. I don't know how many more will have to leave for them to get it, but at the current rate I don't think this company will exist in 5 years because no one will want to work for them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Focus more on office satisfaction scores and not production. This numbers first approach is killing the people who work for your company. 2. Hire more people to do the jobs. Every department is behind and middle management is not letting upper management to know to hire more people. We are now more behind than ever, and being told by upper management that our numbers are better than ever. This is like spitting in the face of the people who are sacrificing their personal lives to make those numbers look good. 3. Provide more paid vacation days sooner. The lack of vacation time at this company is a joke.

    Show More
    Heartland Dental2018-08-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Field Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental

    Pros

    Great Mission and Vision. Great Systems.

    Cons

    Poor upper management. Unskilled new graduate doctors. High team turnovers. Upper management refuses to listen to support team but, rather side with doctors even when doctors are knowingly wrong in their actions and business decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your support team, the people who are actually in the office trying to make a difference each and every day. Stop siding with the doctors just because they have the doctor title behind their names does not make them smear business people in making smart business decisions.

    Heartland Dental2018-04-03
Found 41 reviews