Heartland Dental Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Dental President & Chief Executive Officer Pat Bauer
Pat Bauer
513 Ratings
Pros
  • "We get great benefits, awesome continuing education courses all over the U(in 67 reviews)

  • "When my doctor partnered with Heartland I left 3 days in and did not even give it a chance(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "Free dental services for you and your dependents is limited to what YOUR dentist can do(in 43 reviews)

  • "Alot of spiteful people in upper management(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "It wasn't"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Assistant in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - best training system I have ever been apart of - offer one on one training in the office setting -offer training videos for everyone from Business assistants, to dental, to hyg, to drs - offer extra learning classes for those who stand out - the company comes together once a year to do an annual training. They fly you out and pay for everything, its usually a weekend thing were we role play a lot of issues we see in our day to day office life. We offer solutions and always remain flexible, positive and open.

    Cons

    -they rather higher outside their company for management or upper management positions. Mind you they have employees who started from the bottom and spent years working their way up. These employees have years and years of experience. They are obvious leaders in the office setting and even are given titles "LEAD" to show seniority and to show they are at the mastery level to train new hires or even go to other offices to offer assistances. But Heartland rather hire from outside their company to start at management positions. - (i've work for the company in FL and CO) Upper management seems to be spread very thin. So when one office is failing, it's sometimes overlooked because that manager has X amount of other SUCCESSFUL offices and can't be bothered with the ONE office who is slowly failing. -If your doctor holds a lot of stake with the company then he/she is untouchable.

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    December 19, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the training and other professional development you received at Heartland Dental. We are, however, also sorry to hear your other comments. We read all reviews in an effort to take the information that has been provided and maintain or improve the support we offer. Your feedback will allow us to do just that.

  2. Helpful (5)

    "Check out other review sites for the truth"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Administrator in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Your home office is what you make it. Look into other review sites.

    Cons

    Upper management is a joke. The only reason the rating on this site is higher is because upper management has instructed employees to go on and say nice things.

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    December 30, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We value this forum because it gives us the opportunity to learn and improve based on what people share, and we're disappointed to hear that you did not have a positive experience with Heartland Dental. It's our goal to make all our employees feel valued and provide them with an environment where they can utilize their skills while learning from others. If you'd like to discuss the situation further, please reach out to us at feedback@heartland.com.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Practice Manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -decent pay - networking with other managers

    Cons

    -awful benefits (no 401k match) - Upper level management ONLY care about numbers and not people - LONG hours and expect many admin meetings that aren’t worthwhile - growing in the company is ridiculously difficult (unqualified people move up while the high performers don’t) - upper management is never satisfied with your performance (always could be better) - not much autonomy in the PMO role. The autonomy lies with the doctor (if they are a big producer) and upper management - upper management talks down on business assistants daily although business assistants work much harder - this company’s culture is all about politics and who you know and who you don’t - I’ve never been in a company more corporate than Heartland - raises are HARD to come by, there are limits (understandably) and depending on your region you may never get a raise no matter how well you perform or your office performs

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    December 2, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're disappointed to hear about your experience at one of our supported offices. We strive to create a comfortable and positive environment for all our employees. Your comments are greatly appreciated, and we will use your feedback as we continue to improve.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Far AWAY!!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some great people, outside of upper management, that make work bearable.

    Cons

    - Work/life balance is terrible - Upper management is full of people who knew people to climb the ladder, not knowledge in what they do. - To Heartland, you're a number, not a person - If you make a mistake or are simply disliked, upper management will do everything they can to bully you until you quit - including but not limited to, name calling, destructive criticism not related to your job performance, minimal annual increases, and allowing co-workers to make heinous remarks about you to colleagues with no repercussions. - Don't work here if you want to make a competitive wage - - Oh and they strongly "encourage" all positive Glassdoor reviews and publicly belittle you if you leave a negative one so don't believe the positive remarks on here. Honestly, I didn't want to give this company 1 star.

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    October 23, 2019HR

    Thank you for your detailed feedback. We value this forum because it gives us the opportunity to learn and improve based on what people share, and we're disappointed to hear that you did not have a positive experience with Heartland Dental. It's our goal to make all our employees feel valued and provide them with an environment where they can utilize their skills while learning from others. Your comments are greatly appreciated, and we will use your feedback as we continue to improve.

  5. "Training was good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Assistant in Fayetteville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training is good and detailed

    Cons

    Alot of spiteful people in upper management. Over worked and under paid

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    August 21, 2019HR

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments are greatly appreciated, and we will use your feedback as we continue to improve.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "BA to PMO"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PMO Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Dr’s, met wonderful team members, traveled a lot. With the previous Director loved Heartland! Drank the kool aid! Believed in doing the right thing for the right reason.

    Cons

    Change in leadership for Texas became very micro-managed. If you are not a personal friend of the director forget about growth. Always being told you need to be a cheerleader. Very cut throat. The upper management pays too much attention to gossip & he said /she said rather than performance. Their go to response for letting any team members go is “ your not a fit for heartland “ they stress to PMO’s to coach people out to find anything or any reason to write them up so they can “coach them out”

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    May 31, 2019HR

    Thank you for your detailed feedback. We value this forum because it gives us the opportunity to learn and improve based on what people share, and we're disappointed to hear that you did not have a positive experience with Heartland Dental. It's our goal to make all our employees feel valued and provide them with an environment where they can utilize their skills while learning from others. We'd like to hear more from you, please reach out to feedback@heartland.com.

  7. "EDDA (30+yrs exp) & BA"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Laid back Some real opportunity

    Cons

    Upper management Recognition Internal advancements

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    February 19, 2019HR

    We really appreciate you taking time to write a review and share your experience. It's our goal to make employees feel valued during every stage of their career and provide them with an environment where they can thrive while learning from others. We'd like to hear more about this situation so that we can improve. Please reach out to us at feedback@heartland.com.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "decent entry level position"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Assistant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great hours monday-friday, will have paid holidays off, great benefits

    Cons

    poor upper management, lots of turn over

    Heartland Dental Response

    January 22, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the hours and the benefits. There is always room for improvements, and we're always looking for ways we can do better. Thank you for your feedback.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Home Office has changed"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Office Employee in Effingham, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The non-management workers all work together and strive to communicate and fulfill what we see as our main job: supporting the dental offices. We work well over 40 hours a week to be there when our supported offices need us, and to provide a friendly can do face to our supported practices. The individual workers at Heartland are what make it a special company. We are all willing to put in the hours, and do the hard work it takes to support our offices.

    Cons

    Management between departments does not work well and breeds a political toxic environment that makes it hard to support the offices. Managers now throw calls back and forth and throw each-other under the buss to save face when an office is angry. Management in the last two years has gone from a family friendly small company feel to a cooperate numbers first approach. This has put every department behind since they enacted Fiscally Fit. Every department is now understaffed and people who have worked here for 10 years or more are dropping like flys and jumping ship. The main reason they are doing this is because of the numbers first approach of upper management. As a company we no longer care about supporting our offices, we only care about meeting production goals. This has only changed in the last two years since a new wave of middle managers has come in. Lower management has shifted their focus from supporting our offices to helping the numbers look good. This has caused a hiring freeze which has killed morale and made it a very hard place to work. We are now supporting 30% more offices with 20% less people. What finally made me quit was the lack of hiring replacements for people who had left. Every time someone would leave we would get more and more behind. This created a negative feedback loop which has affected every department at Home Office. Offices are on hold longer and every department is struggling to keep up with the increase in call volume. For some reason we are not replacing those who have left. We are now hiring half of what we were two years ago. This makes it impossible to keep up because each person is now doing two or three peoples jobs. I and many others just got burnt out. You can't expect to support more offices with less people. What finally made me quit was being told by my manager to work harder. At this point in my career I had over taken 3 peoples duties, and was putting in more than 50 hours a week on average. I had missed birthdays, sports games, and graduations. I knew they were never going to hire more help so I just left. We can't be expected to work any harder than we are right now. Everyone is working from home and going way over the 40 hours a week mark to keep this company afloat. I remember when I first started at this company within a year I had said to myself that I was going to retire here because it was such a great place to work. I finally had to leave simply because management would not hire more people. I don't know how many more will have to leave for them to get it, but at the current rate I don't think this company will exist in 5 years because no one will want to work for them.

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    August 22, 2018HR

    Thank you for your detailed feedback. We value this forum because it gives us the opportunity to learn and improve based on what people share, and we're disappointed to hear that you did not have a positive experience with Heartland Dental. We strive to create a comfortable and positive environment for all our employees. We are also committed to growing our culture and especially want to give our employees ample opportunities for work-life balance. We'd like to hear more about this situation so that we can improve. Please reach out to us at feedback@heartland.com.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Field Operations"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental

    Pros

    Great Mission and Vision. Great Systems.

    Cons

    Poor upper management. Unskilled new graduate doctors. High team turnovers. Upper management refuses to listen to support team but, rather side with doctors even when doctors are knowingly wrong in their actions and business decisions.

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    April 3, 2018HR

    Thank you for taking time to write a review. Through feedback, we are able to maintain and improve the support we offer. We're sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with Heartland Dental. We'd like to hear more about this situation so that we can improve. Please reach out to us at feedback@heartland.com.

Found 41 reviews