Heartland Dental Employee Reviews about "dentist"

Updated Mar 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Dental President & Chief Executive Officer Pat Bauer
Pat Bauer
513 Ratings
Pros
  • "We get great benefits, awesome continuing education courses all over the U(in 67 reviews)

  • "When my doctor partnered with Heartland I left 3 days in and did not even give it a chance(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "Free dental services for you and your dependents is limited to what YOUR dentist can do(in 43 reviews)

  • "Alot of spiteful people in upper management(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dentist"

Return to all Reviews
  1. COVID-19

    "Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Hygienist in North Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’ve been a practicing hygienist for over 15 years now. Five of those years have been with Heartland Dental. I was very skeptical when my dentist decided to affiliate and sell his practice to Heartland Dental years ago. I read all the negative reviews online and didn’t hear very many positives. Over the past five years, Heartland has been great to my family and I. The company has invested in my co-workers and I with nice continuing education classes all over the U.S. However, the thing that I am most proud of is how this company has taken care of their employees during the recent COVID 19 pandemic. They have and continue to go above and beyond to take care of their employees so we do not have to go without pay. I know how fortunate I am because I have seen many of my colleagues in private practice be sent home without any pay or PTO time issued to them. Thank you Heartland Dental for valuing your employees and our families!!

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Heartland Dental Response

    March 30, 2020HR

    Thank you for sharing these kind words! We are grateful to have you as part of our Heartland Dental supported family. One of the reasons we are able to offer great support is because of team members like you. Thank you for all the contributions you have made as a hygienist. They do not go unnoticed. Thank you for standing with us in this challenging time. Thank you for being a valuable part of our Heartland Dental community!

  2. "Keeps Getting Better"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dentist in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The leadership is what continues to be the success of Heartland- Dr. Workman and Pat Bauer are truly awesome- I have grown with the company and continue to respect our leaders and growth- To see the new dentists at our conventions learning and embracing Heartland makes me so proud to be a part of this company- And to have an investment with stock is just icing on the cake!

    Cons

    None so far- It has been the best company- and it continues to excel!

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    January 2, 2020HR

    One of the reasons we are able to offer great support is because of employees like you, and we are grateful for the contributions you have made to Heartland Dental. We are also happy to hear about your growth and the lessons you take from being a part of our family. Feedback like your own helps us know where we're successful in addition to what areas we can do better, so we very much appreciate you taking the time to write this review!

  3. "Incredible opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Assistant in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We have the best general dentist Dr. Cardman. He treats everyone as if they are his family. Not only his patients but his staff as well. He’ll make sure you are smiling all day. His assistants are so wonderful as well, Dena and Caren. They work so hard to make sure all patients are comfortable and they help ease any dental fears they may have. And also Donna and Holly will create art in their lab and they’ll keep you laughing all day. Blanca, Lorraine, Melissa and Marci are the hygienists and they are excellent. They are professional and efficient. Kerri is our PMO and she keeps all of us in line. She is the sweetest of us all. She is an amazing leader and wonderful teacher. Suzan and Jennifer make sure that everyone are fully informed and up-to-date. They help everything work out at the end :)

    Cons

    Nope , Not a single con

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    December 2, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're happy to hear that you've enjoyed your time with Heartland Dental and your comments are greatly appreciated.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company but could improve"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EFDA in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent, opportunities are good, benefits are decent, ability to move between offices, bonuses.

    Cons

    NO PAID MATERNITY LEAVE. This really doesn't support the work/life balance that we are so often reminded of. Pay is good but not good enough for you to take your full maternity leave peacefully, you will be stressed out the whole time, worried about bills AND they force you to take your paid vacation during that time. You cannot stack vacation time. Free dental services for you and your dependents is limited to what YOUR dentist can do. Raises are soooo small.

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    October 23, 2019HR

    We believe one of our biggest assets is our people, so thank you for being a dedicated member of our Heartland Dental network. There is always room for improvement, and we're always looking for ways we can do better. Thank you for your feedback.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Just say No"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Your boss will not micromanage.... or even manage

    Cons

    Literally everything. Horrible benefits, rude physicians, incapable management team, not a team-friendly environment, lack of organization, no appreciation or value given to employees, basically do what the dentist wants - even if it's insurance fraud - and be quiet

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    December 2, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking time to share your experience with Heartland Dental. We read all reviews in an effort to take the information that has been provided and maintain or improve the support we offer. If you would like to share more about your experience, please email feedback@heartland.com.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Garbage company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rdh in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits with an 8-5 Mon-Thursday work schedule

    Cons

    Treat patients like ATMs and dentists are crocks of crap

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    December 2, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the benefits you received at Heartland Dental. We read all reviews in an effort to take the information that has been provided and maintain or improve the support we offer. Your feedback will allow us to do just that.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Slow to Adapt to Change"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager of Operations in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If I were a dentist interested in working hard, learning, and growing my skills, I wouldn't hesitate to work for Heartland. You'll be in a fail-safe environment with administrators that will work tirelessly to get you the resources you need. If you value personal responsibility and make no excuses for your outcomes, you'll do well and enjoy the network of thousands of dentists.

    Cons

    Patient care is literally equated in dollars, so it can feel a bit dirty. If your practice isn't producing, you will feel pressure. Not necessarily unreasonable, if your practice is in financial distress. That said, the main con here is if you're an administrator. Because you can't go out there and do more dentistry, you have to influence your dentist to produce more. But even if your practice was wedged between a trash dump and a junk yard, you can count on getting raked over the coals if your practice isn't growing the way it "should."

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    September 19, 2019HR

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sincerely sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at Heartland Dental. We are committed to providing a superior company culture throughout the organization and within our supported offices and it sounds like we dropped the ball here. If you would like to share more about your experience, please email feedback@heartland.com.

  8. "World Class Company and Leader in Dentistry!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager of Operations in La Plata, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellence in patient care and superior support for all employees Growth potential and even stock ownership options for all.

    Cons

    It can be difficult at times to find like minded people to support the companies vision and mission of supporting dentists and communities they serve.

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    July 31, 2019HR

    Thanks for your review! We're so happy to see that you've had a positive experience at Heartland Dental. As a Regional Manager of Operations, we know that you work hard to support your office, and are grateful for all the contributions you have made. Keep up the great work!

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company but growing too fast"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Dentist in Naples, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great way to learn about the business of dentistry, great ability to bonus, can be involved as much or as little as you want to be in regards to the operations of your office. Good CE courses available. Able to talk with thousands of dentists and ask feedback on email chain.

    Cons

    Becoming too big, too quickly. Same direct marketing for every office and websites all are very easy to tell they are "Heartland" so it is difficult to have your office "stand out" from the others. A lot of focus of the administration is on money these days with pressure to make certain money goals. Administrators are financially rewarded when a practice does well and get accolades as if they are the ones making the difference, not the doctors.

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    June 25, 2019HR

    Thanks for your positive feedback! We're happy to hear you're enjoying Heartland Dental's support. We're continuing to find ways to improve, so we appreciate your remarks regarding marketing and recruiting as well. We greatly appreciate your positive comments.

  10. "Always Focused on the Right Thing!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Focus is on supporting dentists and their success!

    Cons

    Must be Open, Positive and Mentally Flexible

    Continue reading

    Heartland Dental Response

    June 25, 2019HR

    Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback! Your comments are greatly appreciated.

Found 74 reviews