Heartland Dental "continuing education" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Heartland Dental Employee Reviews about "continuing education"

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Dental President & Chief Executive Officer Pat Bauer
Pat Bauer
466 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Free dental services for you and your dependents is limited to what YOUR dentist can do(in 43 reviews)

  • "Alot of spiteful people in upper management(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "continuing education"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Company with Good Idea's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Thornton, CO
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Transfer offices with in Corp, positive, lots of continuing education. Positive management.

    Cons

    Positive training and team boosting without helping the actual practice of preforming dentistry. Lots or required continuing education. Dental Assistance are not recognized as a valued team member. Heartland answering service makes appointments where ever they see a 10 minute spot and so far its always bad timing and effects already scheduled patients.

    Advice to Management

    I have talk to friends in other offices and they love where they are at. I have talk to friends that left my current office and very happy at other Heartland offices. My office clearly needs attention.

    Heartland Dental2019-07-08
  2. "dental hygienist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time

    Pros

    great training and continuing education

    Cons

    company terminates employment within minutes.

    Advice to Management

    better organisation

    Heartland Dental2019-04-14
  3. "Former Employee 5-Star Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Manager of Operations in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, from the CEO down to the people in the offices. Thorough recruiting process. Extensive training and continuing education. Competitive pay. Wonderful people in management - Michelle White, Kelly Pruitt.

    Cons

    Training requirements can feel like busywork.

    Heartland Dental2019-03-23
  4. "my experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits continuing education 6 paid holidays Potential 2 weeks paid vacation(determined by hours you worked a week aprox) You do travel sometimes for ce

    Cons

    focused too much on numbers, stressed our office a lot & it showed. 401 k doesn't match. Benefits & paid holidays don't start until after 3 months employment Pay is ok (Da)

    Advice to Management

    visit your dental practices more to fully understand the challenges

    Heartland Dental2019-03-31
  5. "Like working for a private practice with support from a large network of doctors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dentist in Broken Arrow, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Continuing Education, Mentorship, Autonomy with support, Growth opportunities, Travel, large variances in office cultures so you can pick you the one that is right for you.

    Cons

    Limited offices available on the west coast

    Heartland Dental2019-01-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Beware of the recruiters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Dentist in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dentists are treated with respect and the company has the finest and latest equipment. There are also numerous continuing education courses.

    Cons

    The recruiters describe large bonuses but they don't tell you that if you go to a de nova office you will NEVER get a bonus because they make the dentists working there pay off the loan on the practice. Also whenever you take a class the company charges the practice fees that come out of the dentist's paycheck. Management at the local level is terrible and the company is expanding too quickly so that they can't hire enough qualified candidates. Beware the DMP program as they say you can make $250,000 but in the end it isn't true. If the management didn't lie to us it would be a great opportunity

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with dentist and eliminate the de nova cost burden - if you continue to make new grads pay for YOUR buildings let them get vested interest in the stock. Also allow dentists to purchase an interest in their practice not companywide stock because all a dentist cares about is her/his practice and NOT struggling practices in other states.

    Heartland Dental2019-01-26
  7. "Great company, opportunities for career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time

    Pros

    Continuing education is constant, doctor led, challenging and rewarding career

    Cons

    Work/home life balance can be a struggle for those in management

    Heartland Dental2018-11-22
  8. "Dental Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Westridge, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working at Heartland because of the people, the technology, the benefits and the continuing education offered to the employees

    Cons

    Being new to heartland dental can be alittle overwhelming. Its a lot to take in and sometimes hard to put it to use when you train in a high paced office......for example Dentrix. I believe a class would be nice to have for new employees. Dentrix is the center of how the office flows.

    Advice to Management

    State above

    Heartland Dental2018-11-03
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Expanded Functions Dental Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Expanded Functions Dental Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40 hours guaranteed, occasional overtime, up to 80 hours paid vacation after one year, 401k, health insurance

    Cons

    Very underpaid and underappreciated. Higher ups in company have a mentality that they don't have to respect dental assistants specifically because they are always replaceable. Company used to send assistants for continuing education but not anymore. I was promised continued education during my interview (very important to me as a dental professional) but I have yet to go to one class. I've watched videos on employee/patient relations but not much of anything that is dental related. Employee concerns are not of concern to management, ever. No lunches while working 10-12 hour days (illegal). Doctors are constantly converting at inappropriate times leaving patients waiting in the chair for up to 4-6 hours! Front desk makes scheduling errors daily leading to us scrambling and irate patients. Very high turn over rate with employees. 10 people have left since I started. I have been told that many Heartland offices are ran like this. I was warned about corporate while in school but gave it a chance... I was misled and regret my decision to work for this company. I have never worked somewhere with so much drama and gossiping. It is never ending tension, whispering and attitude. Run.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stay neutral and be a mature professional and respect will follow. Show employees that they really do matter and you will have a flourishing office naturally. If all you care about is reaching numbers, then do it in a way to make your team WANT to help you achieve them. If you treat everyone like they are expendable or scold them then you won't gain the world class success that you're striving for. We're a team, not your slaves. We do not have to work for your company, we choose to. Remember that.

    Show More
    Heartland Dental2018-08-08
  10. "Dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dentist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Truly Doctor led practices. Loyalty to its employees. Continuing education. Work life balance. Strives to make you a better person in life and in your community, not just a better leader in your practice.

    Cons

    Sometimes simple decisions can make you feel like there are hoops to jump through.

    Heartland Dental2018-06-04
Found 69 reviews