Heartland Dental Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Heartland Dental Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 800 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Dental CEO Pat Bauer
Pat Bauer
412 Ratings
Pros
  • "Extensive training and continuing education(in 62 reviews)

  • "The organization and training is very helpful for the doctor as well as the remaining members of the dental team(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "Must be an employee as a dentist, cannot be an independent contractor(in 38 reviews)

  • "poor upper management, lots of turn over(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people top to bottom who care about the patients, the employees and the dental teams."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Dentist in Palm Harbor, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great support network that helps everybody be more successful.Consultants are an important part of growth both financially and psychologically.World class CE,knowledgable advisors, and the opportunity to grow at every level.

    Cons

    Doctors are the leaders but major purchases are still approved by corporate.This may actually be a pro for many.

    Heartland Dental2019-06-22
  2. "I'm a better employee.. better wife.. better human"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is an honor to work for a company that invests so much in its people. It's a culture of constant feedback and growth and unites offices and people across the nation. We are a TEAM.. a family. We are encouraged to build our direct reports because that makes us a better leader and gives us the ability to contribute more. I've been taught how to communicate at a higher level that has improved my marriage and set the tone...

    Show More

    Cons

    Would love more people to join us so we can continue to accelerate and better each other!

    Advice to Management

    Keep giving the feedback, encouragement and setting great examples for us!

    Heartland Dental2019-06-21
  3. "As someone who said they'd NEVER work for corporate, I LOVE THIS COMPANY. Patient focused and educational!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Assistant in Broken Arrow, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Morals, Promotions (room to grow), Incentives (with possible bonuses), Education.

    Cons

    401k not matched. This is disappointing because I feel like it's the least they could do for the employees. Also, SOMETIMES I feel pressured to stay late and work extra even if I have plans in my personal life. But jobs come with sacrifices so... could be much worse.

    Advice to Management

    Don't ever forget where you stared, and where you had to climb from. Never be too good for any task, and never think anything is beneath you.

    Heartland Dental2019-06-20
  4. "Always Focused on the Right Thing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Focus is on supporting dentists and their success!

    Cons

    Must be Open, Positive and Mentally Flexible

    Advice to Management

    Keep the strong focus on the culture that provides such a strong foundation of successfully satisfied supported dentist!

    Heartland Dental2019-06-20
  5. "Great people and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager of Operations in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great culture in the offices, flexibility to function independently (versus corporate micromanaging), great teamwork with the doctors and regional management, huge focus and opportunities on growing yourself. Dental benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    Career growth can be limited due to some nepotism. Some members of management have a tendency to get stuck on an "impression" of certain people, which stops their growth within the company, and it seems like those who grow tend to fit a specific mold. Medical benefits are average at best and very expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Be objective when making decisions and looking at people to grow, don't just focus on the people that show up to birthday parties or happy hour.

    Heartland Dental2019-06-20
  6. "World Class Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong culture built on our Vision, Mission and Core Values that is expected throughout the Organization. Interesting job opportunities in a fast growing company. World Class education opportunities for Supported Dentists.

    Cons

    You have to be willing to be flexible because things change and we are expected to change and have to with our rate of growth.

    Heartland Dental2019-06-19
  7. "A Hands On CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dentist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Mr Bauer Is a true leader for this company. He has always had an open door policy and is very approachable. He is always aware of the changes being made and will help anyone in need.

    Cons

    As the company has grown his one on one time has decreased which is pretty normal for a company our size.

    Heartland Dental2019-06-19
  8. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PMO in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They invest in their employee's and really want them to succeed and feel important.

    Cons

    Sometimes things can be repetitive on goals and tasks.

    Heartland Dental2019-06-19
  9. "Pat Rocks!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Medical Officer in Pueblo, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The ability to see pts and not having to spend family/personal time taking to take care of business tasks.

    Cons

    None at all for cons.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to strive for greatness and help us all achieve as well.

    Heartland Dental2019-06-19
  10. "Opportunity like no other"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PMO in Flint, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The opportunity alone makes this company stand far above any other DSO. The patient's happiness is the number one priority, which puts my mind at ease as that is not always the case but a huge priority to me. The training and support available sets up new employee's for success and employee retention is a strong company focus. Benefits package cannot be beat.

    Cons

    As with any DSO communication can sometimes be a challenge as with any large corporation.

    Advice to Management

    I would love to spend more time with my RMO to try and improve my practice

    Heartland Dental2019-06-19
Found 800 reviews