Heartland Dental Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Heartland Dental Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 837 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Heartland Dental CEO Pat Bauer
Pat Bauer
433 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Must be an employee as a dentist, cannot be an independent contractor(in 41 reviews)

  • "Alot of spiteful people in upper management(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager of Operations 

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Support is great for a growing company

    Cons

    Work life balance could be better

    Heartland Dental2019-10-02

    Heartland Dental Response

    October 8, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review! We are very glad to have you as a member of the Heartland Dental family.

  2. "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Assistant in South Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company with benefits and care for employees.

    Cons

    There are a lot of systems and acronyms to learn.

    Heartland Dental2019-10-02

    Heartland Dental Response

    October 8, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're happy to hear that you've enjoyed your time with Heartland Dental and your comments are greatly appreciated.

  3. "Came in as an affiliation and it was horrible. Austin/Dallas Region is RDOs are awful. No training at all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental

    Pros

    Free dental care and communications was fun. That’s about it.

    Cons

    Upper management. So much for transparency. Oh and only wants you to follow “certain” rules in AR Handbook regarding claims, etc. It’s all about the money. No incentives as of this year even though our practice is up with a DSO of 14 Days. Also if homeroom isn’t done but since you are always sent home you don’t get a raise. No matter what your metrics.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better managers and have them actually come work in a practice not just sit in a office and think of reports for practices to fill out. Come interact with patients and staff. Get back to your values not just the money.

    Heartland Dental2019-10-11
  4. "Dental assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ce classes, opportunity to learn

    Cons

    Not matching 401 k,

    Advice to Management

    👍

    Heartland Dental2019-09-17

    Heartland Dental Response

    September 19, 2019HR

    Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback! Your comments are greatly appreciated.

  5. "My name is not Kiran"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Hygienist in Niceville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays well. Friendly staff. Learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Company doesn’t know my name. Demanding job.

    Advice to Management

    Unknown

    Heartland Dental2019-10-02

    Heartland Dental Response

    October 8, 2019HR

    Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback! Your comments are greatly appreciated.

  6. "Run!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Dental Hygienist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. And good pay.

    Cons

    Want you to sell dentistry and do procedures not needed sometimes to hit goal.

    Heartland Dental2019-09-27

    Heartland Dental Response

    October 8, 2019HR

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments are appreciated, and we will use your feedback as we continue to improve.

  7. "Management was atrocious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Depending on the particular office you work for you do get yearly bonuses if the office did well that year.

    Cons

    They eventually worked me up to full time hours without the benefits. They take advantage of you. I started at front desk and then moved to lab technician (no pay raise), then moved to dental assisting. When asked for a raise, they did, .72 cents! Astonishing that hard work gets you no where. They don’t care if you work and do your best. All they care about are the numbers. I will never go back to working at... corporate handled office. Very stale environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Compensate your workers adequately. Make them feel that they are to be part of the team.

    Heartland Dental2019-10-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental

    Pros

    Great training and courses (communications was my favorite!)

    Cons

    Austin/Dallas Region is filled with inappropriate conduct and drama. The things you hear people say about the leadership is mind blowing and so disappointing and then for you to witness it personally, is just sad. Regional Managers should be much more careful who they talk about with so many ears around... especially if it is about the Regional Director. I was really hoping Heartland Dental would be my forever home... but I graduated high school a long time ago.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would just say... There is a reason retention is so low. In this region and there is a reason why so many doctors are upset and junior level management is so upset.. If you continue to IGNORE it, Heartland will never be world class.

    Heartland Dental2019-10-09
  9. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Associate in Bourbonnais, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work balance, pay and staff is excellent! I love the people that I work with.

    Cons

    Very expensive medical insurance, almost unaffordable for a single mother.

    Advice to Management

    Please reevaluate the medical insurance costs, and thank you for having me!

    Heartland Dental2019-09-03

    Heartland Dental Response

    September 6, 2019HR

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! Your comments are greatly appreciated, and we will use your feedback as we continue to improve.

  10. "Teamwork is the main goal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager of Operations in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came into a very rough team environment because my predecessor was not focused on her team. My RMO has maintained the same ideals as me.... keep your team happy and they will love coming to work! I have 3 amazing doctors in my practice and 2 amazing hygienists.

    Cons

    Training. I am the practice manager and came from another dental practice. The training I needed was mainly on the Dentrix system and because I was starting with a small and very new team, it was hard at first. I had a lot of support though and not too much pressure given the circumstances.

    Advice to Management

    Have a trainer or send new employees for training.

    Heartland Dental2019-09-03

    Heartland Dental Response

    September 6, 2019HR

    Thanks for taking time to write a review! One of the reasons we are able to offer great support is because of employees like you, and we are grateful for the contributions you have made to Heartland Dental. Taking care of our people is extremely important to us and feedback like your own helps us know where we're successful in addition to what areas we can do better.

    Show Less
Found 837 reviews