Heartland Dental Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Heartland Dental Reviews

Updated 13 December, 2018
705 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Heartland Dental President & Chief Executive Officer Pat Bauer
Pat Bauer
343 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "work/life balance can sometimes be hard to achieve" (in 18 reviews)

  • "The main reason they are doing this is because of the numbers first approach of upper management" (in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (9)

    "Dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dentist in North Port, FL (US)
    Current Employee - Dentist in North Port, FL (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, they practice what they preach. I am well supported with education, training, and technology, and systems that enable me to provide world-class care to my patients. I have a healthy work-life balance that I could not achieve as a private practice owner trying. To figure it out on my own. When our practice was closed for 8days because we lost electricity when Hurricane Irma came through Florida, Heartland payed myself and my team members, even though the practice wasn’t open.

    Cons

    No company is perfect, but I have never belonged to one that cares so much about its employees

    Advice to Management

    Keep caring! Don’t ever lose sight of your mission and vision, or it will change the culture and Heartland will lose what makes it special.

    Heartland Dental Response

    6 Mar, 2018 – Manager, Talent Attraction & Employer Branding

    We start every meeting at Support Office with reciting our mission and vision. Keeping it at the forefront of everything is absolutely critical, as you mentioned! We loving hearing stories from... More


  2. "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time

    Pros

    Heartland Dental Group is a great place to work! Most of the employee's have been here over 10 years. Once you get hired there is no reason to leave! We are a big close family. Unfortunately people get us confused with Heartland Dental CARE, they have practices all over the United States. A lot of these reviews on this website isn't even our practice. We have 3 offices located in Leavenworth, Basehor and Atchison Kansas.

    Cons

    Our name is confused with Heartland Dental Care

  3. "Walking the talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Director in Vancouver, WA (US)
    Current Employee - Regional Director in Vancouver, WA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    When they say, "You have to be nice or you can't work here", they mean it. The company mission, vision and core values are not just plaques on the wall, they are accomplishment goals that are woven into the daily, weekly and monthly tasks. Doctors couldn't be in better hands.

    Cons

    No company is perfect, but Heartland never stops striving for perfection. The result of the struggle is excellence.

    Advice to Management

    Never stray from your vision and mission.

    Heartland Dental Response

    3 Dec, 2018 – HR

    We're so happy to see that you've had a positive experience at Heartland Dental. As a Regional Director, we know that you work hard to support your office, and are grateful for all the contributions... More


  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager of Operations in Springfield, MA (US)
    Current Employee - Practice Manager of Operations in Springfield, MA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You have the support and training of working for the largest DSO in America

    Cons

    The pay could be better

    Heartland Dental Response

    3 Dec, 2018 – HR

    Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback! Your comments are greatly appreciated.


  5. "Registered Dental Hygienist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Manassas, VA (US)
    Former Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Manassas, VA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Always have education opportunities available and supportive staff. Management listened to any concerns and was encouraging.

    Cons

    Hours did not work for my family.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Heartland Dental Response

    27 Nov, 2018 – HR

    Thanks for your review! We're so happy to see that you had a positive experience at Heartland Dental.


  6. "Practice Manager of Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Practice Manager in Flowery Branch, GA (US)
    Current Employee - Practice Manager in Flowery Branch, GA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I live the company and the training that is provided. I always feel supported both locally and corporately.

    Cons

    No cons to give at this moment.

    Heartland Dental Response

    27 Nov, 2018 – HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review! We are very glad to have you as a member of the Heartland Dental family. We appreciate your comments!


  7. "Great company, opportunities for career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time

    Pros

    Continuing education is constant, doctor led, challenging and rewarding career

    Cons

    Work/home life balance can be a struggle for those in management

    Heartland Dental Response

    27 Nov, 2018 – HR

    Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback! Your comments are greatly appreciated.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Love the structure and support you are given!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager of Operations
    Current Employee - Practice Manager of Operations
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits package is better than most private practice. *Not better benefits than other companies of similar size*

    I believe that Heartland truly supports its mission and vision. The training and education has been an amazing opportunity in my personal and professional life. Being able to really understand someone’s motives, and ask questions to get to the root of problems, or being able to speak to someone the way they need to hear it is something I may not have ever learned to do had I not worked for Heartland.

    Cons

    Still no 401K matching, no accrued sick time, no Maternity leave compensation, family insurance is still more expensive than other employers.

    The biggest con is the mandatory trining/meetings for Admin but 0 mandatory training for the doctors in their leadership. While we tell the doctors they are the leaders of the practice it seems that hasty decision are made or poor actions are acceptable because they are the doctor. If the doctors were held to the same level of accountability as the admin who support them, Heartland truly would be a world class company and the leader in dentistry.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing the doctors to grow in their leadership, go to Bell, go to the doctor dinners, go to thrive, go to the winter conference.

    Heartland Dental Response

    21 Nov, 2018 – HR

    Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear that you've experienced personal and professional growth during your time at Heartland Dental. We also appreciate your comments regarding 401K... More


  9. "Dental hygienist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartland Dental part-time

    Pros

    Great working environment. Great staff

    Cons

    Long hours. Difficult patients. Weekend hours

    Heartland Dental Response

    13 Nov, 2018 – HR

    Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback! Your comments are greatly appreciated.


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Doctors are Unaccountable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Heartland Dental full-time

    Pros

    Psychology based systems that encourage healthy relationships to lead to successful teams.

    Cons

    Doctors are not held accountable like team members. They are not required to follow systems like team members are, such as "respecting disc style" or using 13 dots to keep appointments consistent. They are regarded as an asset, and do not get reprimanded for not following rules.

    Advice to Management

    Allowing doctors to treat team members any way they choose without facing consequences will only continue trends of employee turn over. Being doctor led does not have to mean doctor dominated. Team members are just as important to production as doctors are.

    Heartland Dental Response

    7 Nov, 2018 – HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Heartland Dental. We strive to make Heartland Dental a long-term career option for dental professionals and anyone interested in the dental... More