Hays "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hays Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Mar 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,431 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Developing a successful career as an agency Recruiter does require long hours at times(in 456 reviews)

  • "long working hours, set targets(in 129 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Hmm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Intern 

    I have been working at Hays for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team and office environment.

    Cons

    Long hours. Mundane work. Poor salary for the fact you do the same work as full time permanent staff

    Hays2019-11-17
  2. Helpful (6)

    "A revolving door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are young and green this will be a fun place for the first few months until you realize that it is back breaking work for very little compensation.

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours, little or no confidentiality regarding HR conversations. When you leave you are essentially bad mouthed and forgotten. Management will not pay out owed salary/ commission due to arbitrary reasons. Making minimum wage for the first year and propping up senior consultants. Party culture that can be very alienating for people. Not somewhere that you can grow your career unless you drink the kool-aid.

    Hays2019-01-21
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Hays Calgary - Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Once upon a time hays had a very good commission scheme, (terrible base but decent commission for the senior people) They do have a good training program for junior recruiters getting in to the market. Good club trips for those of us who bill well. Good CRM, and good company intranet.

    Cons

    Aggressive and condescending Vice President and Senior Management Long hours - feeling scared to be the first out the door - inflexible hours unlike the majority of the rest of Calgary Old School KPI's Cult like mentality with in the office and feeling pressure to fall in line with that lifestyle Crazy amounts of back stabbing Very little support from management with the exception of micro management Hays Calgary will make you question your self worth and really grind you down, having spent a longtime in recruitment you can understand it is a numbers game but the VP from the Calgary office makes you feel like no matter how well you do or try nothing is good enough for them. Hays Calgary has a blame culture not a fix it lets work together culture.

    Continue reading
    Hays2018-02-28

    Hays Response

    March 22, 2018HR Generalist

    Hi. Thank you for your review. I am sorry for the experience you had, as this is typically not the type of feedback we receive from our consultants. We pride ourselves on providing support and world class training to set our employees up for success and to ensure they have all the necessary tools to achieve their very best. If you would like to discuss further, or bring any other concerns forward, do not hesitate to contact me directly at Aynsley.hamilton@hays.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is an entrepreneurial culture, if you want to try something you are encourage (just make sure you are right). Fun, young work environment and social activities are encouraged.

    Cons

    Have to work really long hours, and leaving at 5 is almost unacceptable. Micromanagement for the smallest tasks, although that changes heavily based on manager. High turnover, but that can be accredited to the entire recruitment industry. Lots of office gossip.

    Continue reading
    Hays2014-02-20
  5. "My view on hays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good commission schemes Very good work parties

    Cons

    Life and work balance not right you have to work very long hours

    Continue reading
    Hays2020-03-14
  6. "12 Month Industrial Placement Year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Recruiter 

    I worked at Hays

    Pros

    Great social life, build a lot of transferable skills

    Cons

    long working hours, set targets

    Hays2020-02-16
  7. "*"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Personal Training and development opportunities

    Cons

    Low commission and long hours

    Hays2020-02-28
  8. "Good company but more improvement is needed to retain staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Very thorough training.

    Cons

    Sometimes unsupportive management. Very high pressure. Really low salary. No flexibility and very long hours.

    Hays2020-02-22
  9. "Hays Wakefield- A great office if you are looking to build a career in recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Hays Wakefield office is a fun, friendly, work hard, play hard environment, good office culture and the autonomy to build your own desk, motivational management who have a wealth of experience and knowledge and offer support accordingly to help with career progression.

    Cons

    Long hours of work, but you get out of it what you put in to it.

    Hays2020-02-03
  10. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Demolition Labourer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly Payments & Great Staff Attitude

    Cons

    Long Hours & Short Breaks

    Continue reading
    Hays2020-01-29
Found 456 reviews
</>Embed