Hays "career progression" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hays Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated Feb 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,431 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Developing a successful career as an agency Recruiter does require long hours at times(in 456 reviews)

  • "long working hours, set targets(in 129 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career progression"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pros of this company are without a doubt the positive corporate culture, unlimited earning potential and career progression. There is a wealth of recruitment expertise and management/colleague support in this organization, from the President and VP to Business and People Managers. It isn’t common to have such seasoned experts who day in and out are there to support your continued success and growth. This is a large contributor to the success of the consultants and the business as a whole.

    Cons

    The recruitment industry in general is not for everyone. All the tools, training, and support are provided at Hays for you. The rest is up to your own positivity, commitment and work ethic.

    Continue reading
    Hays2018-01-30

    Hays Response

    February 5, 2018

    Thank you for your 5 star review

    Continue reading
  2. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Career progression and working culture.

    Cons

    Workinng hours required within role.

    Hays2020-02-11
  3. "Hays Wakefield- A great office if you are looking to build a career in recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Hays Wakefield office is a fun, friendly, work hard, play hard environment, good office culture and the autonomy to build your own desk, motivational management who have a wealth of experience and knowledge and offer support accordingly to help with career progression.

    Cons

    Long hours of work, but you get out of it what you put in to it.

    Hays2020-02-03
  4. "Amazing place to start a career in recruitment if you're willing to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Sourcing Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays for less than a year

    Pros

    The social side of the office is fantastic, there's always charity events going on, nights out being planned and after work drinks, and the Christmas party was amazing. As soon as I walked in on my first day in the office I was invited to join the 5 a side football team by about 5 different people, told about the next few nights out that were planned and introduced to everyone on my team. After just a couple of weeks I pretty much knew everyone in the office. The company really focuses on training in your first 6 months, both from your manager, in classroom based week-long sessions with other colleagues from different offices at a similar level to you, and through online training modules. Although the hours are long, (42.5 hrs a week is standard), I'd disagree with people saying that work-life-balance is a con of working at Hays - they've introduced flexi time (although this is at your managers discretion and needs to be pre-arranged), there's the ability to purchase extra holiday days, and there is no expectation to take your work home - your weekends are completely yours and so are your evenings, often you cannot even access your emails outside of work. Hard work is always rewarded, from 'Star of the Week' awards as voted by other members of your team, lunches and after work drinks on your director if you hit targets, bonuses, and eventually promotions. Higher billers also get the opportunity to be entered into a company holiday competition, period end afternoons off for a lunch and drinks. Management are also incredibly supportive of both personal life and career progression, and will give up their time to have one-to-one meetings with staff to offer advice and help. I've often seen my director having meetings with junior staff giving them career advice, and also being very understanding of other staff members when they've had issues in their personal lives. This is something that I know a lot of the staff really appreciate. Every 4th Friday (period end) we all have beers/prosecco together towards the end of the day, and the whole office gets together to celebrate the achievements from the past 4 weeks, give out some company updates, congratulate people on promotions and have a laugh at some of the embarrassing things people have done in the past week. Usually everyone goes to the pub after, and then the younger members of staff tend to stay out quite a bit later. There's loads of benefits, but for me the best one, and the one I've utilised the most, is the online GP appointment service. You can literally book an appointment and have a video call with a GP on your phone for free within half an hour where they can diagnose symptoms and email a digital prescription for you to go and pick up on the same day. If you do need to go to an appointment face-to-face, management will allow you to flexi-time your work around it. I have to stress this is based on my experience in my team in my office, I think different people in different offices will have had different experiences compared with me.

    Cons

    KPI targets are set as standard, and don't always reflect the difficulty of the desk that you have. Some KPIs are unrealistic and unattainable. It's a very large company so (especially in compliance-heavy sectors) there's a lot of red tape and it's hard to be innovative. Some desks are very competitive, but that's the nature of recruitment. As an intern, doing the exact same job as other members of staff, it can be frustrating when you pay is substantially lower. The rate of pay was something that really put me off applying for this internship, but in the end I'm glad I did.

    Continue reading
    Hays2020-01-31
  5. "Excellent company that focuses on employee development and engagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant work environment and culture. Training offered at all levels is way above industry standard. Even senior managment receive regular training. Brilliant commission scheme and massive earning potential All staff are friendly and social Brilliant opportunities for career progression

    Cons

    Not a con but - Job depends on your own self will and perseverance- if you cannot motivate yourself to succeed and perform high levels of activity without micromanagement you will not succeed

    Continue reading
    Hays2019-11-25
  6. "Long term career opportunities and great at celebrating success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long term career progression opportunities and great at celebrating success. Very supportive Senior Management.

    Cons

    Luckily my team has a fantastic culture, but I know the culture isn't necessarily consistent throughout the entire business as a whole.

    Continue reading
    Hays2019-10-09

    Hays Response

    November 21, 2019HR Coordinator

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear about your positive experience with Hays and in particular your appreciation of our company culture and leadership support. Best of luck with your endeavours in the future.

    Continue reading
  7. "Can’t fault it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Geelong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and systems for those new to recruitment. Career progression opportunities given scope and scale of organisation. Lots of perks and incentives for top performers at all levels. Meritocratic organisation. Industry leading tools to leverage.

    Cons

    Agency recruitment is a sales role, so those that don’t enjoy having targets (like most organisations) or those that arent willing to invest in their own training/put in effort early won’t last very long.

    Continue reading
    Hays2019-07-30

    Hays Response

    September 10, 2019HR Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying our industry leading training & resources together with our strong culture, and employee benefits. Your feedback is important to us and we highly recommend sharing your specific feedback with your Manager. We wish you ongoing success with Hays!

    Continue reading
  8. "Good people, great culture, clear and defined career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Focused and entrepreneurial environment with a really good management team. Targets are clear and the career progression is road mapped well. Great earning potential also.

    Cons

    Big business so some decisions can be slow.

    Hays2019-07-12
  9. "Working at Hays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Christchurch, Canterbury
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training and support for learning at Hays is ongoing and really in depth. The career progression opportunities are also very transparent, so you know what you have to do to succeed and get promoted. You don't have to have recruitment experience before joining Hays to do well, and the team support means you always have someone around who can help. There are heaps of incentives to do well, and there's a good social side to the job.

    Cons

    The base can be low, but commission makes up for that.

    Continue reading
    Hays2019-07-04

    Hays Response

    August 22, 2019HR Coordinator

    We are thrilled to hear about your 5 star experience with Hays and highlighting the opportunities for career progression and our supportive, meritocratic culture! Thank you for your review and for sharing a snapshot of your Hays Story so far.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great career choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are open, and helpful across teams. There is a very work hard, play hard culture! Work life balance is encourage here compared to other sales places. Supportive managers. Career progression are very transparent.

    Cons

    Needs to be loud sometimes in order to be notice.

    Hays2019-06-20
Found 142 reviews
</>Embed