Hastings Direct "team leaders" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hastings Direct Employee Reviews about "team leaders"

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Hastings Direct Chief Executive Officer Toby van der Meer (no image)
Toby van der Meer
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Benefits, Nice people, Good location(in 12 reviews)

  • "good pay and work flexibility for students(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of 20 year olds as team leaders that think they know everything; very patronising(in 11 reviews)

  • "These problems are typical of many call centre based environments but have increased in the Renewals department compared with how things used to be(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "team leaders"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Inbound Call Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training, healthy team based work environment, little perks

    Cons

    The workplace app & communication between Team Leader & Staff could have been better

    Hastings Direct2020-03-29
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyed working at Hastings Direct

    Cons

    Speaking to customers, strict team leader

    Hastings Direct2019-11-01

    Hastings Direct Response

    November 5, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "great for part time and university students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Representative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company culture Flexible Decent training (depends on the department) Good benefits and incentives Nice and friendly people

    Cons

    Vast majority of managers are not trained on the systems Poor management Very slow and difficult to progress or become a team leader. Company would rather hire inexperienced leaders from outside then internally promote qualified agents who have been working there for years.

    Continue reading
    Hastings Direct2019-10-17

    Hastings Direct Response

    October 24, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
  4. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get all weekends off

    Cons

    Team leaders do not care about employees

    Hastings Direct2019-10-09

    Hastings Direct Response

    October 24, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
  5. "Terrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits scheme, very fun place to work with strong colleague culture.

    Cons

    Terrible management structure, team leaders will over micro manage you without justification and apply pressure to reduce KPIs without actually understanding the wider factors of the business. Hard to progress unless you have 'talk to the right people in the right way'. Majority of current team leaders have minimal competency in the role and barely have the skill to be customer service advisers let alone management material.

    Continue reading
    Hastings Direct2019-10-21

    Hastings Direct Response

    October 24, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and we value your feedback. We will take your comments on board as we continually review and work to improve our colleague experience.

    Continue reading
  6. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Having a cantina on site Free coffee vending machines/Card payment vending machines for sweets and snacks Free fruits three times a week Holiday allowance Can increase in levels and increase yearly income With the right Leader can develop professionally

    Cons

    Favoritism Team Leaders with 0 skills of Leadership Lazy leaders Backwards methods of work Harsh language from certain leaders Having a different opinion can be considered as bad behaviour and be marked down and not considered for career progression Not a friendly environment sometimes

    Continue reading
    Hastings Direct2019-09-28

    Hastings Direct Response

    October 2, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
  7. "Perfect first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Representative 

    I worked at Hastings Direct full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a good training program for new recruits, as a group to support each other. Lots of opportunity for reviewing own and others calls to aim to improve

    Cons

    Disorganised and mixed messages about what happens after training. Lots of 20 year olds as team leaders that think they know everything; very patronising!

    Hastings Direct2019-08-28

    Hastings Direct Response

    September 3, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at Hastings Direct.

    Continue reading
  8. "Decent for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Free fruit -Cheap food -Chilled out atmosphere -Relaxed dress code -Lovely pay

    Cons

    -Constantly hearing differing advice and processes and being reprimanded rather than aided -Team leaders abuse their power and can sometimes be useless -Pressure -More/longer breaks needed

    Hastings Direct2019-08-26

    Hastings Direct Response

    September 3, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thanks for your review! If you would like to leave any further feedback please email RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
  9. "Calls after calls after calls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of trainings at the beginning like 7-12 weeks and you get pay for it

    Cons

    Depending on the team you go into, as only few really good team leaders. Lots of team leader is useless

    Continue reading
    Hastings Direct2019-08-08

    Hastings Direct Response

    August 16, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We take your concerns on board and we will look into how we can improve these areas further to ensure working at Hastings Direct is a positive experience for all. If you would like to provide further feedback or have ideas on how we could better improve these areas please email us at RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Direct part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and the other employees

    Cons

    The company is compiled of 90% student employees, however, team leaders at Hastings, do not remember this, and it is an ordeal for students to get time off for exams If a student needs time off for exams and they have the holiday time available management should not require them to make up the time, they should have the option to use a holiday. The company should not be allowed to deny any student time off for exams. I have been there for three years and I notice the changes; now it is a pressure cooker. The original TL I had recently quit because the direction the company is going in is not about treating employees fairly. The TL's have their favourites and if you are not one of them you will be subjected to bullying. Upper management does nothing to intervene and you are treated like just a number, and your only purpose here is to make as much money for the company as possible and spend less time on the phone trying to help customers. Different information told from coaches so customers are angry. Some TL's have inappropriate relationships with team members. No chance for advancement in the company unless you are friends with TL's Show Less Advice to Management

    Continue reading
    Hastings Direct2019-05-31

    Hastings Direct Response

    June 4, 2019Recruitment Media and Events Executive

    We value your feedback and are disappointed to learn that your experience working here was not a positive one. Our colleague/candidate experience is very important to us and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss further with you so we can fully understand your personal experience. Please do feel free to get in touch with us at RecruitmentTeam@hastingsdirect.com

    Continue reading
Found 11 reviews