Harris Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Harris Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Harris CEO Bill Brown
Bill Brown
748 Ratings
Pros
  • "Coworkers, 9/80 work schedule, department training program(in 118 reviews)

  • "good work life balance available, Vacation policy(in 99 reviews)

Cons
  • "Technical opinions from good engineers are largely not considered by upper management(in 59 reviews)

  • "Lack of vision, senior management lacks sensitivity to business or employee needs(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "postive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris

    Pros

    I like the company. Everything was fine

    Cons

    I got lay off. i hope a better management.

    Harris2017-09-14
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Harris part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and possibility of growth

    Cons

    Very busy always sometimes can't take lunch and somehow strict

    Harris2019-07-16
  3. "Sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Bathurst, NB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment and light energy

    Cons

    Love it and high salaries

    Advice to Management

    Choose it because its worth it

    Harris2019-04-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Decent on the whole"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Wages are decent - Colleagues are good - Work can be engaging

    Cons

    - Work loads aren't spear out evenly - Deeply re-enforced sense of false superiority - Distrust and toxicity beyond workplace silos

    Advice to Management

    If I knew how to fix it, I wouldn't be looking to get out.

    Harris2018-06-03
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Mediocre to non-US offices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris for less than a year

    Pros

    The salary is pretty competitive.

    Cons

    Harris has offices around the world, but treats employees outside the US as second class. All communications, including from the CEO, assume employees are American. Even mundane things like training videos are restricted to US employees only. Our names in email addresses are appended with "NON-US". International names have accents removed from HR systems, which is insulting and which I've never seen in a large... company before. Employee resource groups, like for women and LGBT folk are in the US only. There's no real possibility for advancement for other offices. Upper management also seems disconnected from employees on the ground, resulting in poor project outcomes that were preventable.

    Show More
    Harris2018-05-24
  6. "Engineering Technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Harris full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. very helpful staff

    Cons

    Management could be better with employees

    Harris2018-05-13
  7. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analysis in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good holidays, work from home, dog friendly office

    Cons

    Salary is below market. Will struggle to attract best talent.

    Advice to Management

    Start offering better perks for working there. Less travel.

    Harris2017-09-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "OK but falling behind. Good stepping stone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harris full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A lot of top notch colleagues many of whom are kind, bright and a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    Not much room for movement and salary is also stagnant (an intermediate role pays as much as junior positions at comparable firms). Mgmt is paralyzed by indecision and constant exec turnover, slave to shareholders too. One year they laid off hundreds, pushed back a menial salary increase and increased dividend to shareholders. Stock price is through the roof yet salaries move at a snail's pace.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about employees, less about shareholders. It will work out in the end.

    Harris2017-07-25
  9. "Senior software developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flex working hours, not every stressful

    Cons

    You have to learn by yourself most of time. Promotion is slow

    Advice to Management

    Try to encourage employees to

    Harris2016-11-21
  10. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Harris

    Pros

    Flexible work hours with compressed work week during the summer moinths

    Cons

    no advancement opportunities. Will do same function for entire employment

    Harris2016-10-26
Found 1729 reviews