Handy "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Handy Employee Reviews about "customer service"

Show All Reviews >

50 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "I never got paid for job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Albany, NY (US)
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Albany, NY (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy as a contractor

    Pros

    Side money (If they pay you) I've been waiting going on 3 weeks for $90. Measly dollars for clean a reck of a house

    Cons

    They should have a number for customer service

    Advice to Management

    Pay when people work

    Handy Response

    14 Jun, 2018 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    We can look over your billing if you email us at team@handy.com.


  2. Helpful (5)

    "Can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - House Cleaner in New York, NY (US)
    Current Contractor - House Cleaner in New York, NY (US)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Make your own schedule, meet new people, get tips.

    Cons

    Where do I began, well let's start with handy new cancellation policy for customers, they have up to 30 mins prior to the booking to cancel and pay the pro $15. Does handy not know that we pro are already on our way 30 minutes before the booking. That's more then an inconvenience, that's time and money taken away, then the fact that handy may or may not have another booking to claim and 9 out of 10 if they cancel last minute all you making that day is $15.
    If the Pro cancels 48 hours to 24 hours before booking it's $10, 24hours to 4hours $20 and $40 there after... if the pros are being charged $40 for canceling 4 hours prior, giving handy enough time to let another pro claim the job means handy comes off with not only there payment from the booking, but the cancellation fee as well.
    Customer service sucks the majority of the time takes them hours to answer a simple question and 9 out of 10 times the answer has nothing to do with the question.
    As for the customers booking handy needs to asked more questions from the clients, the messes I have come across , and the lies. One client booked for two hours one bedroom one bathroom the information on the app said. But when I got there it was three bedrooms two bathrooms and the client home was really messy, but the client wanted me to clean it all in two hours and when I kindly informed her that she did not book me for enough time that the job would take more then two hours she got up set and emailed handy to cancel the booking.

    Advice to Management

    Customer service needs phones and email not just email. The cancellation pay 30 mins prior to booking is wrong in some many ways, it's showing the pros that there is no point in working with handy let alone for handy. $15 could be our only pay for that day if the pro only have one booking that day. Because the likelihood of claiming an other booking is slime to none.
    The pro's cancellation fee 4 hours prior needs to be changed. $40 is a lot of money, especially when handy can not guarantee jobs to claim, let alone be completed because the clients cancellations. Just today I had there claimed jobs and all three cancelled. So that means I made not one dollar today why because of handy cancellation policy for customers, and the fact that handy has no jobs to claim. It's sad because I really do like working for them aside from all that

    Handy Response

    23 May, 2018 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    We used to have a direct phone line but wait times were too long. During this time we could not offer efficient support to the tens of thousands or customers and pros using the app. When we switched... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "very rude company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Cleaner
    Former Contractor - Cleaner
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Handy as a contractor

    Pros

    good amount of pay for no brainer

    Cons

    bad customer service and rule


  4. Helpful (3)

    "THE WORST EVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Cleaner in New York, NY (US)
    Current Contractor - Cleaner in New York, NY (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    You make your own schedule

    Cons

    Low pay
    THE WORST customer service ever !!!
     have email and telephone support for Christ sake!
    No benefits
    No perks working with this company
    I had a new customer who booked a 4 hr job for a 2 bdrm 2 bath apt. It was huge with walkin closets that needed to be vacuumed. she had paid extras, oven inside fridge and cabinets. I arrived early and the customer herself wasn't there she had left her mother to let me in and work and leave. The mother didn't tell me to do anything specifically so i went to work. Right before i left the customer comes home and does a walk through to tell me i dont know how to clean. As far as the cleaning inside cabinets, she wanted me to go through everything look at expiration dates and throw out some things. 4 hrs wouldnt have been enough time to do all of that and wipe the inside and outside of the cabinets and put the dishes and stuff back. So, i calmly told the client that if she'd like to request me for longer time she can do so in the app. She claimed to do that and i continued to work, i dont know how that works, if the app notifies me or whatever the case may be. When i finished doing everything she asked i had worked a total of 6hrs. I then checked out of the job on the handy once i got to her front door and left. i wasnt nasty or rude and gave her a smiley face and said i wouldnt mind working with her again. Then it goes to tell me i only made $75 for that booking. That is ridiculous, so i gave it a couple of days thinking maybe an add on would be made to compensate for my extra time and it never did. then i reach out to customer service and they jerk me and say she never requested extra time. So then i go to write the customer myself and shes blocked so i cant even attempt to speak to her about my time wasted. I worked for free come on thats just crazy. you dont treat people like that. and handy knows that i was there, they track your every move via gps so they know where i was and know what time i checked out from the booking.
        Then the latest crap, i show up to a booking late. i told the customer i would be late and never got a response. I never get a response from her, even when asking a question while in her house. So i show up and she tells me its not a good time and to come back for the next booking. Ok, i get it but a response to the text wouldve been great before i paid a babysitter and took an hr train ride during spring break. So now 2 weeks later, i get notifications that all my future bookings with her are removed from my schedule and then im charged a $80 fee for not showing up. WHAT !?

    Advice to Management

    you NEED telephone customer service !!
    In the case that i stayed at that ladys house 2 extra hours dont you think its safe to assume that im still working, you're quick to charge me a fee. hit her with a fee too and compensate me!
    I get that the customer is <i>supposedly</i> always right, but we workers are people too.

    Handy Response

    12 Apr, 2018 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    We would like a second look into this so we can review the bookings and see if what you're saying is accurate. If it is, we're more than happy to compensate you accurately. Could you please email us... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Can't be trusted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor

    I have been working at Handy as a contractor

    Pros

    Flexible for the most part.

    Cons

    Very vague reviews
    Poor customer service
    No support for pros
    No incentives
    Ih8

    Handy Response

    23 Feb, 2018 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for your hard work and dedication to providing your customers with an amazing experience. We offer support over email by going to the Help Center. If you click on a Help Center article link... More


  6. "Not such a great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - House Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA (US)
    Former Contractor - House Cleaner in Los Angeles, CA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    15.00 hour
    Work when you want

    Cons

    Horrible customer service
    Hard too get ratings and get 22 hour
    Never know were the location will be
    App has many bugs

    Advice to Management

    Actaully care about the people you hire

    Handy Response

    18 Jan, 2018 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback, we're sorry to know you didn't have an enjoyable experience while working on the platform. We don't reveal the exact location until it gets closer to the start time, we do... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "They are not lying handys the worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Housekeeper in Puyallup, WA (US)
    Former Contractor - Housekeeper in Puyallup, WA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    You can set your sechefule

    Cons

    But my jobs canceled allot.. N they arent charge for it. But handy doesnt allow the hoysekeeper to doso eitj out cgarging them allot of money no matter why they need to cancel. They also never call you there customer service suck they dont help with any problems and they let the costomer lie about the job we did or let some rate you whom handy charge them a no show fee. They shldnt allowsomeone to rate you after they wasnt even home for the apointment. My apountments kept disappearing offmy svheduleall the time with no explaination at all.

    Advice to Management

    Get it right or let it go

    Handy Response

    4 Jan, 2018 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    We're sorry about the experience you had on the Handy platform. You were a professional in one of the new cities we operate in, due to this, there will be competition for jobs in your area. We're... More

  8. "No contact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - Housekeeper in Houston, TX (US)
    Former Contractor - Housekeeper in Houston, TX (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy as a contractor

    Pros

    Select jobs in your area

    Cons

    No customer service for me or the clients. They have "Email assistance, or FAQ" What a joke no one replies! Customers would be mad at me because Handy either over charged them, or customer service lied to them or were rude. How is Handy claiming to be good to us, they can't even get the customers happy. I quit due to them nickle and dime me.

    I had an established cleaning company before Handy, and realized an ad in my small town home paper was way better than working for a company who penalized me and the customer for believing in them.

    Advice to Management

    Stop saying you have email assistance, what is that? Once two of us "Handy" employees showed up at the same house, me and a man, to clean really? He checked in so did I he claimed he'd done it before and gotten paid. I cleaned the house, believing I wouldn't get paid, but felt bad for the customer. I got paid too, that let me know you guys do not have things together, emails, apps and fees do not equal actual caring compassionate humans. I'm shocked this isn't basic customer service knowledge for you? And how are you treated the "workers" making you the money? Like thieves. I'd regroup, and find the humanity in your company again. Apps and emails aren't cutting guys, clearly. Thanks

    Handy Response

    27 Nov, 2017 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    We do have email support because we believe it's faster and more efficient than phone support, which had long wait times. If two professionals show up to a job that means the customer scheduled two... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer
    Former Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    -Set your own schedule
    -Pick your jobs

    Cons

    -Ratings based.
    -Company sides with customer
    -Can only contact through email
    -Crappy customer service

    Handy Response

    16 Oct, 2017 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for all your hard work. We will take your feedback and continue to work hard at supporting all the professionals on our platform.


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Surprised they are still in business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Contractor Cleaner in Seattle, WA (US)
    Former Contractor - Contractor Cleaner in Seattle, WA (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    None I can think of, compared to what competitors offer.

    Cons

    Too many to list. Pay is ridiculously low. Working for $15/hr as an independent contractor equates to working for Handy as a $10-$11/hr employee. As an employee, Handy would have to pay 7.65% for SS/Medicare, pay for supplies/equipment, pay for any damage the cleaner does, pay for gas mileage, driving time, parking and tolls, pay for workmen's comp and unemployment insurance, pay for the time it takes cleaner to carry supplies/equipment from car to customer and then back to car, pay for any extra time beyond booked time it takes to complete the cleaning, pay even if the customer is a no-show, shows up late or claims the job was done poorly and receives a refund. And Handy would not be able to charge the cleaner a cancellation fee or application fee.

    Handy has never made a profit and is desperately trying to become profitable to satisfy its venture capital investors. Its rating system is designed to keep cleaners from advancing to the higher paid tiers. The cancellation fees are designed to provide badly needed income. The sneaky recurrent booking system is designed to trick customers into ordering cleanings they didn't want. Customers and contractors hate Handy's email-only customer service. Handy replaced human customer service reps with email-only customer service to save money, not improve customer service.

    IMO. Handy is doomed. The turnover among cleaners is very high. They are always looking for new cleaners. Their reputation among customers and cleaners is terrible. Recurring customers are unhappy with always getting different cleaners showing up. When they get one they like, they will try to deal with them directly and cut out Handy. Cleaners know Handy is keeping 50-60% of what
    the customer pays and are willing to cut Handy out too. And, if they are good,
    they know other cleaning companies will pay them more than Handy does.

    Advice to Management

    You offer customers no advantage over other cleaning services. Most cleaning companies now allow customers to book on-line too. It's time to acknowledge
    your model is fatally flawed, will never be profitable and close shop. Don't worry. You won't be missed.

    Handy Response

    16 Oct, 2017 – Social Media Engagement Specialist

    We believe we offer competitive prices to customers and offer competitive pay to professionals based off the industry and other businesses similar to us in the market. Professionals are not... More


Showing 50 of 628 reviews
Reset Filters