Handy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Handy Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Handy CEO Oisin Hanrahan
Oisin Hanrahan
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "My wife was using it for cleaning gigs, but they lowered pay for housekeepers so now she only cleans her own houses(in 46 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule is the only pro(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Cleaners pay A LOT of "service fees"(in 90 reviews)

  • "The Customer cancellation rate is extremely high(in 67 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Marketing Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Handy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunch, great office, amazing people.

    Cons

    wages are lower than average

    Handy2019-09-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment focused on growth. The company definitely acknowledges peoples' hard work and successes. Feedback is highly encouraged across all levels. Alongside quarterly and annual reviews, most people have regular 1:1s with their team leader as well. Accessible C-Suite/Execs. Good Benefits & Perks (for the most part) - Unlimited PTO (they really do mean it, so long as you get your work done!),... great family leave policy, catered lunch and dinner, regular team outings

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing major. No 401K match - but fingers crossed it's happening soon.

    Handy2019-09-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - There's a huge focus on feedback. There are channels set up to encourage feedback across all levels and all departments. Hiring managers go through extensive training to ensure they know how to support people as *real* people. Consistent quarterly reviews + annual review for everyone. - So many brilliant and creative coworkers! I feel lucky to work along side the team at Handy. The executive team is well... respected but has not been put on some sort of pedestal. Very easy to talk to. Open door policy. - Work hard play hard. Teams are encouraged to go on team outings to get to know each other outside of their day to day jobs. The company wide retreat is something I look forward to every year. - Free snacks, lunch and dinner are always a nice perk too.

    Show More

    Cons

    Continue to work on communication and transparency to broader org. It's critical everyone is aligned and has a clear view into upcoming goals and growth.

    Handy2019-08-29
  4. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Frequent acknowledgment of your hard work, constant new, challenging projects to work on, visibility & transparency on company performance and high-level goals, people managers who actually care and develop their teams, unlimited vacation as long as you're getting your work done, best maternity/paternity leave policy of anywhere I've worked, nice & cool co-workers.

    Cons

    If you want an easy job where you just coast this isn't the place for you.

    Handy2019-08-29
  5. Helpful (5)

    "shady company with shady business practives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    typically tech company benefits, unlimited* vacation

    Cons

    this company engages in duplicitous and unethical business practices towards its customers and contractors alike. It's even trying to change laws to screw its contractors even more

    Handy2019-07-28

    Handy Response

    August 30, 2019SVP of People

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review to our Glassdoor page. With millions of completed jobs & an average customer rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars, we are proud of our service offerings and disagree with your characterization of how we treat customers & pros alike. And we proudly support efforts to modernize laws that allow companies to provide additional support to workers while also supporting the platforms by clarifying existing laws, ultimately keeping existing jobs and paving the way for future growth. Unfortunately, when someone posts a message to our page, Glassdoor is unable to fully verify their identity in relation to their employment. This means you may or may not actually work here. But if this review is indeed from a Software Engineer at Handy I strongly encourage you to talk to me personally about your concerns. I am likely only sitting a row or two away from you. Or, you can use any of the multitude of internal feedback channels and we will work hard to address any issue that you raise. Thank you, Mike Wanderer SVP, People Operations

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great job for early career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY

    I worked at Handy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fairly easy to get in Friendly staff Straight forward expectations

    Cons

    Metrics driven You will be watched like a hawk

    Handy2019-05-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Place to Advance Yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I interviewed with a number of companies on my way to accepting my role here, and Handy stood out immediately with the efficiency, honesty, and thoroughness of their recruiting process. After a first email with them, I got on the phone with the recruiter the next day, and scheduled a follow-up call with the department head the following day, where we discussed the role in detail. They gave me a case study to give a... presentation on the following week. The project was highly relevant to my role, which gave me confidence that they knew exactly what kind of person they were looking to hire. Handy flew me out to New York for a final round of interviews with the exec team the week after that. I accepted an offer shortly thereafter. The whole process took about 3 weeks altogether. Since I've joined, I've noticed that the efficiency and honesty I enjoyed during my recruiting process are seen throughout this company. Everyone is incredibly bright, projects get off the ground fast, and there really aren't a lot of politics with my work. The open communication here makes all of this possible. Every company should strive for more of this.

    Show More

    Cons

    As far as startups go, people tend to work longer hours here than other places. I'd say this is more of a result of the very high bar of expectations rather than a culture of "last person in the office is the most impressive" though. So, not necessarily a bad thing -- for me this was actually a refreshing change of pace, and necessary for my personal career development. But if you aren't willing to have some... longer days than you're used to every now and then, it could be a con for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please keep the bar high in your recruiting process -- the thing that sold me on Handy when I was interviewing was how smart everyone was that I talked to.

    Handy2019-01-15
  8. "Companies with development potential and long-term cooperation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in La Plata
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Handy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I came to Handy to work on the recommendation of my friends. The environment here is really good. Free lunch and dinner. Solve the problem of eating for single people like me. Leaders are also very friendly to their employees. If you are willing to work hard, the company will give you the opportunity to cultivate potential employees, which is a company worth looking forward to.

    Cons

    Work is tiring, leaders need to be more concerned about the physical and mental health of employees

    Advice to Management

    Different employees have different personalities, and leaders should treat them differently. Only in this way can the relationship between employees and leaders be more harmonious.

    Handy2019-01-14
  9. Helpful (22)

    "Do not work here - company is going nowhere fast bc of poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you like companies that aren't growing where nobody is held accountable for their results, definitely work here! If Oisin and Umang like you, you can keep failing upwards as long as this backwards company stays solvent. People have gotten promoted all the way up to senior leadership despite their projects consistently flopping (just google cheapo cleaning, like seriously) because anyone who's any good left... this sinking ship long ago. It's pretty clear that senior leadership should've stayed for their second year at business school instead of dropping out.

    Show More

    Cons

    Company is not growing. Your equity will be worth nothing. Company treats the cleaners and handymen on the platform like they're not even human. The only reason the company is still solvent is that the legal team and their lobbyists have succeeded in getting the courts to effectively pay cleaners below min wage as quasi-legal independent contractors. As an engineer, it was very frustrating to have extremely... little input in the business side of things when it was clear that the people in charge of the business side had no clue what they were doing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better. Stop sacrificing the long-term for short-term profits. Stop lying to your employees to get them in the door.

    Handy2019-02-01

    Handy Response

    March 1, 2019SVP of People

    Thank you for taking the time to write this. The issues you raise are concerning and inconsistent with our core values and what I see each day in the office. Particularly on the engineering side where we have a strong and deeply tenured team. Our people and culture are our greatest assets and we are committed to developing a world class team. If you are willing, I would like to take the opportunity to talk to you about this. Please contact me directly to discuss. Thank you, Mike Wanderer SVP, People Operations

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Very Different Experiences Depending On Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Handy full-time

    Pros

    Team events. You're encouraged to get to know the people you work with, even if you are not part of the same business team. The company itself experienced an enormous amount of growth which felt exciting to be a part of. The meals and snacks are appreciated--even if it is just a way to keep you in the office working. Depending on which team you work with and who your supervisor is, you may find yourself working... with someone who would provide you many opportunities to learn. There are several really great middle managers and the ceo is friendly while serious and brilliant.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'm sure the company and management has advanced and changed some of their policies since I ended my employment there, but a few of the things I disliked that ultimately led me to seek other employment centered around the internal culture. I had fun getting to know coworkers at happy hour events, but there was a heavy drinking culture. There were expectations to be available near round the clock. There were... evident office politics and a hierarchy based on favoritism. I did not work within customer experience, but the hierarchy consistently put customer service associates down when they were some of the hardest working and highest contributing members to the company, which was at times hard to witness. I'll never forget having a conversation where I learned how little they made but yet how much was expected of them. While most of the company can enjoy and afford to take time off for vacationing, that was not a reality for CX. Finally, the lack of clear advancement and learning opportunities outside of favoritism was an issue I knew I did not want to attempt to ride out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work on transparency. The all hands meetings were great, however more education should be provided on what metrics actually are and how they are computed and why they are focused on would help more employees from more areas of the company get a better understanding of company goals. Find a way to share the bigger picture and vision management as a whole has for the next 6 months, even if perhaps it isn't... likely to be obtained, so that more people understand why certain goals would lead to it. Encourage managers and subordinates alike to treat every peer with respect and on an equal playing field personally, that rudeness or cliques will not be tolerated, and handle employee issues or those behaving with a superiority complex very quickly.

    Show More
    Handy2019-01-07

    Handy Response

    January 17, 2019SVP of People

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are continuously working to cultivate an open, transparent, and results driven environment (“Data Beats Opinion!”) where everyone has the potential to develop personally, professionally, and deliver real impact to the platform. And we are always looking for ways to ensure that folks are bringing their whole selves to work ("Enjoy the Journey!"), where they feel valued, are treated fairly and with respect, and maintain a healthy work-life balance. It is regrettable that this was not your experience here. If you are open to it, please feel free to provide further feedback to me directly on ways we can improve. Thank you, Mike Wanderer SVP, People Operations

    Show Less
Found 109 reviews