Handy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Handy Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 714 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
13%
Approve of CEO
Handy CEO Oisin Hanrahan
Oisin Hanrahan
421 Ratings
Pros
  • "My wife was using it for cleaning gigs, but they lowered pay for housekeepers so now she only cleans her own houses(in 44 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule is the only pro(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Company treats the cleaners and handymen on the platform like they're not even human(in 85 reviews)

  • "The Customer cancellation rate is extremely high(in 51 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Handy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - House Cleaner in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Handy for less than a year

    Pros

    Make my own schedule

    Cons

    Difficult to catch the time

    Continue reading
    Handy2016-07-15
  2. "Treat their workers like they are nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cleaner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy for less than a year

    Pros

    good if you have at least 3 months experience cleaning good if you have a car customers will usually offer you cleaning materials

    Cons

    have to buy your own materials and they make you buy a ton of unnecessary things good luck carrying these things on a bus in a suitcase and making it on time no training just a few vague youtube videos they let customers rate you even when they are not home and you had no choice but to leave after they fire you from one wrongly given one star review there is no way of contacting them they just shut you off from the app since you meet no one to get this job you will not have references for future jobs

    Continue reading
    Handy2019-06-26

    Handy Response

    July 10, 2019Customer Experience Manager

    Hello there! We'd like to let you know that professionals at the Handy platform are independent contractors and may use the platform in full time or part time as you will be free to accept or decline jobs according to your preferred schedule. With that being said, pros will be responsible for the expenses when completing a job, in accordance to the Professional Service Agreement. We require months of experience, and provide tips and tricks to ensure quality service. In any case that the service was not provided and the customer rated you poorly, you may reach out to support@handy.com for assistance.

    Continue reading
  3. "Terrible Company, scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pro's to working with Handy.

    Cons

    clients try to pile up tasks after accepting the job, and pick the 2 hour minimum, and then leave bad reviews if you dont comply.

    Continue reading
    Handy2019-01-24

    Handy Response

    January 25, 2019Customer Experience Manager

    Hi there, and thanks for being an independent service provider on the Handy platform! We provide the tools and flexibility for professionals to control how much they'd like to work and who they'd like to work with. This puts professionals in full control over their schedules. If you need to remove a customer from your schedule you can do so directly in the Handy pro app and you'll no longer see any of their bookings. We'll be sure to share your feedback with the team here at Handy HQ!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Crap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - House Cleaner in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing much, ocassional good pay

    Cons

    Everything, the proxy booking is a joke. They would not reverse me an unfair fee after 20 emails back and forth. Do not bother, corporate arrogance from them.

    Continue reading
    Handy2018-07-15

    Handy Response

    July 18, 2018Social Media Engagement Specialist

    If you received a fee it was because you were late to a job or didn't show up to a job. You will need to explain what occurred to our support team. We offer proxy bookings because it's a great opportunity to give pros more work on the app.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Handy Cleaner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Handy Cleaner in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy for less than a year

    Pros

    Getting paid Quickly, Make Your Own Schedule

    Cons

    Rating system, cancellation policies, Pro help, fees, etc

    Continue reading
    Handy2018-02-04

    Handy Response

    February 8, 2018Social Media Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your experience. Certain fees are in place to provide a 5 star experience to customers. It's not an enjoyable experience for the customer if a professional doesn't arrive to a job, arrives late to a job, or leaves early from a job with out asking the customer if there's anything else that can be cleaned. We offer email support because this eliminates waiting times that can occur over the phone and we can efficiently provide support to the many customers and pros using the platform. We strive to respond to emails in minutes for urgent issues. Please follow up with our Pro Experience Team at team@handy.com. We want you to be as successful as possible while working on the platform.

    Continue reading
  6. "Cleaner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner in Toronto, ON
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Handy for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Paid directly to bank account Good tips Meet nice people If the customer is not at home they still paying you

    Cons

    You have to buy the cleaning supplies and carry them every day. They don't reimburse you that expense. No benefits Let you know the address one night before. Customer expected you to finish on the time they book. Customers not always mention they have pets

    Continue reading
    Handy2017-02-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Working with Handy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Handy for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, good connections, regular pay, variety of location options, if you need a job that pays weekly with no experience required, Handy is a good place to start.

    Cons

    Poor rating system, pay could be better. Customers expect too much from contractors and many will not just give you a 5 star rating. Some customers make you do a lot of extras without tipping you at the end.

    Continue reading
    Handy2016-08-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Cleaner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Handy Cleaner in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Handy for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, pay is not that bad.

    Cons

    Not being able to see customer's address in advance anymore. Before I would Commute like 10, 20 mins and now is like an hour because I can't choose anymore.

    Continue reading
    Handy2016-08-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away from Handy Toronto"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cleaner Contractor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy

    Pros

    Handy may not have a phone number in Toronto for customers and contractors to call but they provide fast communications via email through the app. The app always work and no issue to contact customers.

    Cons

    Handy states in their contract there will be a cancellation fee for jobs contractors claimed and removed. There was a problem with the app in that when I was on a specific day and switch from schedule to claim the app slide to another day. I did not plan on working the evening the app selected due to my b.day celebration. As soon as I realized the wrong day was selected it was removed immediately less than 1 minute. I then reached out to handy and explained handy decide to go ahead with the fee. I explained I can not work for a company that charges a fee for a simple error .. handy happily removed all jobs and say goodbye over a $20.00 fee.

    Continue reading
    Handy2016-04-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "I like working for Handy but... There just so happens there are more cons then pros."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Handy for less than a year

    Pros

    I can work when I have free time.

    Cons

    I didnt recieve training, and i'm already getting a notice that i might be let go. I don't have a Handy t-shirt so sometimes it makes me feel some what awkward trying to appear "professional ". I have to pay for my own products. I didn't get no free vaccum or free products to start with. I am having troubles with my payments. Also, some people tend to book a 2 hour shift, but will have 3 floors to do in their apartment, and then give me a horrible review, I only received $35 for that job . Also, I was told it could be a problem if I don't have mobile data on my phone. I've been on time everything but sometime it takes time to sign into WiFi...

    Continue reading
    Handy2016-01-22
Found 714 reviews