Handy Customer Experience Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Handy Customer Experience Associate Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Handy CEO Oisin Hanrahan
Oisin Hanrahan
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "So so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Handy

    Pros

    Benefits. Food. Friendly staff. Set working schedule.

    Cons

    No support. Favoritism. Low pay

    Advice to Management

    Invest in real career path advice for your staff.

    Handy2016-12-11
  2. Helpful (18)

    "Couldn't imagine a worst first job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Handy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people I met here were awesome and are still my friends to this day. They provide free food which saves you more money than you'd think.

    Cons

    The management is awful. The platform for how they treat their cleaning professionals is literally immoral. This company screwed all of it's employees out of paid time, medical expenses, lied about actual end dates. They will do anything slimy they can for an extra buck. Mass public firings were common. This job was a nightmare. I learned more about binge drinking and who was sleeping with who then I ever did about what...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop while you're ahead.

    Handy2016-02-21
  3. "Excellent company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Handy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I worked full time for this company as a customer service associate in New York. The work environment was great, mostly due to the great colleagues with who I worked. The senior staff was also a huge help to me when I first started working there. Sadly, I had to leave the company when I moved to a different state, but I've recommended this company to friends as good work experience in this field. Now, I thought I could...

      Show More

      Cons

      Drank more coffee than I used to when I worked part-time? Haha. Seriously though, I don't have anything negative to say about my experience working for Handy.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work. I haven't worked for any company before where we had people in management that gave their all.

      Handy2015-12-03
    • Helpful (32)

      "Customer Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Handy

      Pros

      You will gain a lot of experience in a very short time. Your coworkers will be solid, and you will need them because management is a unique mix of arrogance and incompetence, from the founders down to the supervisors.

      Cons

      First off, don't trust a single glowing review of Handy posted here - they are transparent attempt by management to cover the very high turnover rate of both employees and cleaning contractors. You will see the earliest reviews here from cleaners had a direct response from the CEO that their opinions were null because they were not considered full-time employees, but now they are flooding this board and driving the score...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You put mindless growth before mindful culture and you have failed because of this. Have fun with your model before it gets outpaced by competitors that know how to treat their customers and employees.

      Handy2015-06-28
    • Helpful (3)

      "Amazing Leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Handy (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Customer service can be a drag. There can be a lot of frustration when things don't go exactly as someone hopes they would. Having to mitigate peoples' displeasure can be a frustrating task. Thankfully, even when things get bad with customers, the management is always there to help the customer, and you. They take the flak off of you, and always offer constructive suggestions for how to handle sticky situations.

      Cons

      If you can't deal with people's frustration then this isn't the job for you.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work. The culture here is the envy of all businesses.

      Handy2015-05-11
    • Helpful (49)

      "Nice fake reviews, social media team! Here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Handy

      Pros

      It pays the bills. There's medical and dental. There's a free meal every shift, and snacks and soda. Although the soda is rationed because the staff was 'drinking too many.' You get a free Handy cleaning each month. And that's about it.

      Cons

      Seriously, where to begin. Handy Customer Experience team members are managed by sheer intimidation. The company provides free meals because there isn't time to go get food and come back and eat - and if you're a minute late, you'll be written up. Late to work? So are the managers, constantly. However, you do it and it's a write up. Which also usually comes with a healthy dose of being belittled by the management team,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      A team works harder when they believe in the product, the company, and the managers above them. Motivation is key. Currently, you have none of these going for you. You lie to your employees without blinking.

      Handy2015-05-15
    • Helpful (23)

      "Terribly Mismanaged Company with a Middle School Mentality"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Handy full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Free lunch and dinner, and many of your coworkers will be amazing people... just don't expect them to stick around when they're being overworked and exploited by upper management.

      Cons

      Upper management plays favorites, will not pay you for breaks (even though it's legally required), will not provide adequate training on new systems and then will punish you for not maintaining your metrics. Does not have an HR department and it SHOWS. Rampant sexism and racism from upper management.

      Advice to Management

      For gods sake, stop listening to Carrie, take a look at your overworked and under appreciated customer service people and start making real changes, not trying to distract everyone from the issues by buying them kegs once in a while. Conduct exit interviews and stop outsourcing!

      Handy2015-05-15
    • Helpful (25)

      "Deception at every turn."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Handy full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Some really great co-workers. Free meals, snacks and drinks. Comprehensive health benefits package.

      Cons

      Terrible division between CX and everyone else that naturally stems resentment. Constantly shrinking paychecks with no explanation whatsoever. No real advancement opportunities.

      Advice to Management

      Aim for a better office culture. The office is teeming with gossip and petty jealousies that permeate from the top-down. Also be much more transparent and accountable for company-wide decisions. These effect people's lives.

      Handy2015-02-28
    • Helpful (24)

      "STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS FRATERNITY!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Handy

      Pros

      free mediocre food and horrible coffee

      Cons

      - low salary - outsourcing - micromanaging - low morale - negative atmosphere Overall, not how they sell themselves at ALL. All employees started at 35k/year then were dropped down to hourly wages. Soon after they began letting people go under mysterious circumstances and opened up cs centers in Tampa and Arkansas where they pay them much less. Recently, money is mysteriously missing from direct deposits....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Care a little. Stop micromanaging. Get organized. Try compensating your overworked and micromanaged employees properly instead of blowing money on kegs and cheap liquor constantly.

      Handy2015-04-01
    • Helpful (22)

      "I met a lot of great people at this company, unfortunately many of them left."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Handy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Handy is superb at recruiting interesting and intelligent people to work for them. Events we're fun, when we had them. Employee benefits are definitely great, like catered lunches and snacks.

      Cons

      Management was very deceptive in terms of moving up within the company, only lateral movement and seldom any raises with such movement. Policy changes were commonplace, but would always take effect before the information was disseminated to staff. In terms of business ethics, I found that certain decisions were questionable. I felt uneasy most of my time at Handy.

      Advice to Management

      Re-evaluate your core values. At my time at Handy, I found that none of the core values were ever openly expressed and definitely not practiced.

      Handy2015-02-05
    Found 15 reviews