Halogen Software Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Halogen Software Reviews

Updated 24 February, 2017
83 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Leslie Rechan
25 Ratings

83 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great people; Halogen invests in development of its employees; the company cares about its culture and is trying to be a great place to work (in 9 reviews)

  • Lots of fun events, of course the free pizza, fruit , etc (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • At times we have lost our direction, but management is quick to adjust and get us back on track (in 3 reviews)

  • Talent Management principles/corporate vision not being applied successfully e (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    "Winning with Talent"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support
    Current Employee - Support
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Halogen Software full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent culture. We are a team and always support each other to do well for ourselves and our customers. New CEO has made some positive changes and the culture is massively improving.
    I love coming to work everyday!

    Cons

    Development of employees. This is changing as we are now more focused on recognizing internal talent, but it would also help if we focused on providing more training opportunities for people to make cross-functional moves.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to grow the company, invest in your employees and live "Your people matter most. Win with Talent" Halogen for Halogen.

    Halogen Software Response

    16 May, 2016 – Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback :)


  2. "Help Desk"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Halogen Software (More than a year)

    Pros

    great benefits, company cares alot about employee's personal fullfillment

    Cons

    most issues relate to persisting issues in product development

    Halogen Software Response

    31 Jan, 2017 – Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it!


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Inside Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Halogen Software full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great work environment! Management very kind and have an open door policy. Company culture-- professional and fun! Lots of development opportunities.

    Cons

    Hard to move up in sales, rarely any openings, but to be fair they are pretty transparent about that and they are happy to help you develop even if it means potentially losing you to another company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, kindness, and transparency. Perhaps they could be a little more open to letting people work from home.

    Halogen Software Response

    26 Jan, 2017 – Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

    Thanks so much for your feedback, we appreciate it!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "QA"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior QA Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Former Employee - Junior QA Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Halogen Software full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very nice workers. Amazing dynamic and a great company overall!

    Cons

    Personally, not a big fan of their choice of back end (coding) languages.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being great

    Halogen Software Response

    26 Jan, 2017 – Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it!


  6. "Enjoyed my time"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kanata, ON
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kanata, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Halogen Software (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent place, some very good employee engagement initiatives, some very smart people to work with too

    Cons

    they need to improve the functionality of the product (cohesion and cross functionality of some of the modules)

    Halogen Software Response

    26 Jan, 2017 – Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it!


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Still a great place to work.. but less "fun""

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Halogen Software full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I'd recommend Halogen to anyone looking for an engaging workplace. It's an opportunity to work at a company that cares about positive outcomes for its customers.

    Cons

    The executive team has changed greatly over the years. The new leaders are great, but communication of change still leaves much to be desired.

    Change is hard, I get it. But the small perks that literally "made my day" when I first joined the company - like our Christmas party being free for our spouses - are slowly disappearing.

    Advice to Management

    Each employee values and perceives perks differently. There is a big difference between cost savings and a meaningful pivot to change existing culture.

    Halogen Software Response

    14 Nov, 2016 – Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.


  8. "FUN, Engaging, Rewarding!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Halogen Software full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Halogen contineus to be a special place to work. There was some concern/fear of change as we transitioned from our long time CEO to our new one but we found a renewed focus on our culture, accountability and profitability. All this was definitely not at the cost of the things that make the culture at Halogen so special. The culture is fun, supportive, accountable and professional. Halogen continues to make multiple investments to sustain and support this culture from regular all staff lunches to regular social events, wellness events and events to support the chosen charities. The culture is actually sustained by multiple employee-run committees... that's right... employees! We choose much of what keeps our culture fun!

    Cons

    The only con is being rectified...we're bringing a cafe into the building! A con no more...

    Advice to Management

    .

    Halogen Software Response

    17 Nov, 2016 – Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate Development"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Research Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Current Employee - Market Research Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Halogen Software (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Get to work as a company moves away from organic software development and begins to address the need for M+A to be a part of their long term growth plan. Also get to watch as company shifts more towards consulting.

    Cons

    There is not an effective change management strategy in place, and new strategies or directions seem to be developed on an ad-hoc basis without waiting for the dust to settle.

    Halogen Software Response

    14 Nov, 2016 – Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "From on extreme to the next"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Halogen Software full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good people. Other departments are treated well.
    First 3 years working there were great. The last 2 were very difficult, the environment changed.

    Cons

    QA noticed that they were treated with less respect then other departments.

    Advice to Management

    Well you did what needed to be done. I hear it is better now.

    Halogen Software Response

    14 Nov, 2016 – Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it.


  11. Helpful (9)

    "Country Club"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orleans, ON
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orleans, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Halogen Software full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Not many to list. Halogen does not live its values. They are not the example for the next generation of Human Management/employee development.

    Cons

    Difficult environment. Leaders are interested in themselves and not in supporting their staff. Halogen does not live up to its corporate values. Their products are not developed for use, but more for marketing purposes.

    Advice to Management

    Live your corporate values. Stop trying to be the CEO's best friend!

    Halogen Software Response

    14 Nov, 2016 – Manager, Global Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback.



Showing 83 of 84 reviews
Reset Filters