Halfords "staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Halfords Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Halfords Chief Executive Officer Graham Stapleton
Graham Stapleton
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Getting to go through the back, listen to your own music and build bikes is great(in 32 reviews)

  • "Good benefits in terms of staff discount(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "No progression for part time staff(in 20 reviews)

  • "Hard work and can be long hours(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Fitter in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Halfords for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits in terms of staff discount

    Cons

    Poor management. Check your payslip for adjustments and be aware that your breaks will be put through at a higher rate than what you actually take. Be prepared for a LONG journey in terms of progression, but look forward to a total of 80p p/h salary increase through achieving gears 2 status.

    Continue reading
    Halfords2020-02-18
  2. "Dont bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Halfords part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    staff discount on some things, although sometimes cheaper to go with trade customer discount

    Cons

    long hours unpaid, no staff, often working whole floor on own, no backup to customer complaints, rubbish money, never get bonus anything for years 100% attendance service, expected to do aload of training at home in own time, long hours, only shut 1 day a year and they take this out of your hol, nothing extra for bank hol, 1 day off for xmas, H&S rubbish, never use accident book, very stressful

    Continue reading
    Halfords2020-03-10
  3. "fun job when you get the support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gear III Fitter Auto Department in Saint Helens, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Halfords full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work on lots of different cars which can be challenging but its all part of the fun. Working outside Some great staff always willing to help. Good stepping stone introducing you to auto tech role Training is available when you can get on it and following it you do get a pay rise (when you get put on it). you do get staff discount which is nice and you do get discounts on other sites.

    Cons

    Been doing the role now for 8 months, still not technically qualified to do the job. Halfords have a internal training courses that staff should have been enrolled onto before carrying out certain roles, such as; - Auto awareness (roof bar, boxes and cycle carrier fitting) - Gear 3 tech fitting (Radio, satnav hardwiring, dash cam hardwiring and reverse camera fitting) - Air can re-gassing - Child seat fitting you have an incentive to do these training courses because, 1 - you get a pay rise for specific courses 2- you have some idea what you are doing when it comes to fitting into somebodies car whether it is a £500 banger or a £100,000 mercedes The term "when the shoe fits" gets mentioned a lot when it comes to being trained, as you shouldnt be carrying out the above work if you havent been trained however when the shop is low on staff and the management dont want to risk getting a complaint then regardless of whether you are trained or not then you end up doing the work anyways. So "when the shoe fits" I can recharge air con, fit roof bars boxes and cycle carries and fit radio etc. all without being trained. I find it frustrating because I actually enjoy doing this job, but when you have to keep mentioning to your store manager that you want to go on the training course month after and still nothing happens then you are left with not many other options other than to look for a new jobs as I currently feel that they are taking complete advantage of me and I am missing out on the extra income I should be getting for doing the job You dont really get a home/work balance as you are always being mithered on your day off. Some of the manager are great but in my case ive just had to work down the list as I have brought it up with my store manager then our area manager when she visited the store and ive ended up just mentioning it over and over again to my assistant managers.

    Continue reading
    Halfords2019-06-07
  4. "OK if You want Part-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bikehut Colleague in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Halfords part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Depends on Managers but they do stick to agreed hours/days. OK wage for retail and can be fitted around study/family commitments but that has to be negotiated when you work. The more flexible you are the more they will reciprocate. Excellent staff discount. Wages can be incremental through Gears in house training. Good managers will allow elearning to be done in store.

    Cons

    Computer system is still a bit of a joke. Not difficult to navigate but certainly not seamless. Finance is difficult - well more complicated than it needs to be. Considering they've spent a lot of money on IT it should be more effective. New customer service depends on management and how busy the stores are. Working in a bigger store requires a lot more input than smaller stores with no pay differentials. Currently want their pound of flesh and cutting staffing to bare minimum. Through put of staff makes it difficult for team dynamics. Considerable amount of training supposedly undertaken in own time which you don't get paid for

    Continue reading
    Halfords2019-04-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "You're just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Redruth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Halfords full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Staff discount is quite good

    Cons

    Awful pay considering our skill set.

    Continue reading
    Halfords2018-09-17
  6. "Good training and wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Mot Tester in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Halfords

    Pros

    Training And wage with the tech grading system and the staff discount in the retail store and autocentre. Days of during the week every fortnight

    Cons

    Not enough staff in centres. Always expected to do over time or ship u around other centres. Managers ain't got a clue, being a good mechanic doesn't make u a good manager. Managers only care about figures but don't realise one 2 techanicans can't do 5 people's amount of work. Equipment are terrible. The obd scanners r cheap and crap

    Continue reading
    Halfords2017-11-10
  7. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Halfords part-time

    Pros

    clearance list and staff discount

    Cons

    under staffed, under trained, threat to remove Gears (training) supplements, management pushing staff to hit targets with no rewards.

    Continue reading
    Halfords2017-10-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Part Time Sales/3B Fitter/Bikehut"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Tewkesbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Halfords part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team spirit within branch; good staff discount; good number of hours available; opportunities to learn on the job

    Cons

    Often short staffed; training wasn't very well structured; pay isn't amazing; very hard to get weekends off; feel disjointed with upper management - they are sometimes very ambitious with targets

    Continue reading
    Halfords2017-08-25
  9. "Halfords Bike Hut"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bike Mechanic 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Halfords part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount and comradery with fellow underpayed staff.

    Cons

    The mental capacity of some customers (eg customer leaves bicycle outside in there garden for 6 months without use and then proceding to become aggressive when we would try and explain that steel components will rust funnily enough due to oxidiation which is nit covered by warranty but would then threaten us with the nearest item to hand for example swing at a member of staff with a malletor other such tool left near the work counter) another great example is customers arriving 10 minutes before the store would close on christmas eve attempting to buy a bike for their child and becoming aggressive due to the fact we would have massively diminished stock levels as it is CHRISTMAS in less than 12 hours time so they would not be able to get little timmy his fireman sam bike. How Tragic.

    Halfords2017-08-22
  10. "Great Colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Bike Mechanic in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Halfords for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours, good staff discount and rewarding at times

    Cons

    Lack of pay scale, lack of industry standard training and little opportunity to progress

    Continue reading
    Halfords2017-07-24
Found 30 reviews