HUB International "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

HUB International Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
HUB International President Marc Cohen
Marc Cohen
104 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work / life balance is excellent(in 36 reviews)

  • "Ability to provide input - make suggestions - take calculated risks - opportunity to learn and grow - great people - collaborative work environment(in 33 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best Internal Transfer Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The process was pleasant and seamless. - HR personnel that guided me through the process was nothing but amazing. She was professional, attentive and friendly. She went above and beyond and is a true definition of what a good HR person should be. - Great supporter of flexible work schedule allowing their employees to have a healthy work life balance. - Provides opportunity to advance in your career - open door policy - great working environment - considers employees input

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of at this time

    Continue reading
    HUB International2020-01-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not a Good Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auto Associate in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros very cheap company

    Cons

    No training, work life balance, poor pay and benefits

    HUB International2020-02-26
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Interesting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HUB International

    Pros

    Good place to get your foot in the door for insurance. Since there is no on boarding program, the learning curve is steep and will be beneficial in the end.

    Cons

    - Work life balance is nonexistent. Demands on teams and account associates/assistants are outlandish. Some people will get to work from home time to time, but only if you are in someones good books. - Divisions between teams and departments: everyone acts like the are in high school and will form cliques or will act like they terrified someone is coming to take their job. No real knowledge sharing or communication between departments. The culture can be very negative at times. - If you have no education or proper insurance experience but are one of the executives or managers friends/family members you will do well and move up quickly. Lots of opportunities for the connected. If you are not lucky enough to be on the friend or family list be prepared for: hard times, eye rolls, constant criticism, and doors slammed in your face. Nepotism is king here. - No on boarding or training what so ever. No shadowing key team members. No introductions. No written instructions. Nothing. - Some people will get invited to carrier or broker events, again, mostly the connected people will actually be invited. Managers don’t think to invite their team members just the select few. - Tons and tons of unprofessional, sexist and down right bad behavior is accepted here. It’s an old boys club. Won’t get rid of the rotten apples because it would be too much to pay them out. - Lots of egos and people wanting bragging rights but no real rock stars. - No education for people who want to branch out, can have a difficult time getting this “education tuition reimbursement” if you are not on the right team, working for the right person, doing the right job. Other brokers it’s standard that if some one expresses interest in education they go and get it. At HUB you need to justify everything and pray you get a chance to grow.

    HUB International2019-11-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great atmosphere, decent benefits, subpar pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Chilliwack, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A very collaborative atmosphere, managers and executives are easy to talk to. Good work/life balance - very rarely work overtime. Benefits are great for dental.

    Cons

    Poor vision benefits. Pay is below average (sacrificing pay for the culture). Confusing c-suite structure - so many executives and VPs!

    Continue reading
    HUB International2019-09-06
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Low pay for workload & lack of culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - no real pros to discuss - casual Friday's - somewhat of a work/life balance

    Cons

    - low pay - low appreciation - no opportunities for advancement within the organization - high volume work - high turn over - no motivation

    Continue reading
    HUB International2019-05-02

    HUB International Response

    June 6, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your review and sharing your feedback. The Assistant and Associate positions can be busy as they are account support roles. HUB supports career development of its employees and actively promotes our Education Tuition Reimbursement Program. We advertise all career opportunities on a weekly basis and encourage internal applications. Please speak to your manager regarding your concerns and to discuss your career goals. HUB strives to provide competitive compensation packages and conducts ongoing compensation reviews against the external market. Alternatively, feel free to speak to your HR Manager.

    Continue reading
  6. "Personal lines Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Lines Underwriter in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive work environment. Great work -life balance. If you are willing to work hard, the management acknowledges it and helps you grow in your career. Its an ongoing learning process here, as you get to work with some of the well experienced underwriters.

    Cons

    So far, I do not have any cons regarding this workplace.

    Continue reading
    HUB International2018-10-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Personal lines Accounts Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Lines Account Manager in Oakville, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hub is a great place to work. The work environment is great. Hub is growing in the right direction in the insurance industry. My managers are great and very understanding and empathetic towards their employees. My team is great. We all work together to make it better everyday. My team and managers is the reason why I go to work everyday, my second family. Hub encourages work life balance and they work with you to make sure that you can achieve that. If you like challenges ,fast working environment and balance in life with a sense of achievement HUB is the place for you.

    Cons

    No work place is perfect, but you make it perfect with a great team and thats what you will get at HUB International, Oakville.

    Continue reading
    HUB International2018-06-06

    HUB International Response

    June 15, 2018Manager, Personal Insurance

    We encourage ongoing feedback informally and formally. HUB recently launched our Company-wide Annual Engagement Survey for feedback and welcome constructive feedback to focus on areas of opportunity. Thank you for sharing your positive employee experience and for your support!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Disheartening Experience Overall Working as Sales/Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager/Hybrid Sales in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team, cohesive approach, educational drive

    Cons

    Ineffective management style, ratio of customers to every account manager was incredibly high (1200 customers to 1 account manager) therefore there was no work/life balance as you are always putting fires out & scrambling to get to people. Upper management wants a customer focused approach but this is far from the practice at the moment!

    Continue reading
    HUB International2018-03-13

    HUB International Response

    April 19, 2018Personal Insurance Leader

    Thank you for your candid feedback. One of the challenges of a growing company is ensuring the quality and delivery of training and coaching is at our desired standard across the board. We have engaged a Personal Lines Trainer to assist new hires with a smoother onboarding and hearing positive results. We are also reviewing our structure for our Account Managers to ensure they are set up for success. We take multiple factors into consideration such as broker experience, systems, and Best practices experience when assigning client / policy volumes to our new and existing employees. Our goal is to ensure a healthy, work / life balance while continuing to engage and offer growth within the corporation.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "HUB International.....a GREAT organization with strong values!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Resoure Manager in Leamington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As an employee at HUB International, I speak first handedly about the incredible opportunities for professional growth with an organization that continuously strives to make the work environment better for their employees. The strong core values & benefits help us manage our work / life balance. Being recognized for a job well done, or rewarded for going above & beyond, or the employee appreciation days, HUB is a great place to feel appreciated while you learn and evolve your skill set.

    Cons

    There are no cons in my opinion.

    HUB International2017-12-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Taking care of new Hires"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Warm welcome from management who made the effort to stop by and welcome the new member of staff *Being introduced to the team and given a guided tour of the office and the essential areas *Inclusive culture and supporter of work/life balance clearly demonstrated in the first week *Staff helpful and attentive to get a new hire settled in the new environs *Most staff met during the first day detected that I was new to the organization and gave me a great HUB welcome *One does note require a laptop to work remotely - there is an easy sign-on *IT team very responsive and timely *The workday paper work was sent ahead of my arrival at the firm and this is an efficient way for the new hire to fill out personal information in a private setting at home and making one being able to focus on setting up to be productive rather than filling in HR forms on the first day. *My manager has a team meeting every Monday morning that sets the tone for the week. Each team member shares what is on their agenda for the week. *Welcome message from the HR person who was your contact during the hiring process greatly helps as it gives it a personal touch to the experience *Being surprised with a birthday gift from a colleague two weeks after being on the job was a very considerate and thoughtful gesture.

    Cons

    *My desk was not completely made ready for me, it had documents from the person who previously occupied it *New hire training was scheduled days after I arrived on the job and after I had already gone through the teething pains of setting up my computer and phone.

    Continue reading
    HUB International2017-11-21
Found 49 reviews