HUB International "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

HUB International Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
HUB International President Marc Cohen
Marc Cohen
104 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work / life balance is excellent(in 36 reviews)

  • "Ability to provide input - make suggestions - take calculated risks - opportunity to learn and grow - great people - collaborative work environment(in 33 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best Internal Transfer Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The process was pleasant and seamless. - HR personnel that guided me through the process was nothing but amazing. She was professional, attentive and friendly. She went above and beyond and is a true definition of what a good HR person should be. - Great supporter of flexible work schedule allowing their employees to have a healthy work life balance. - Provides opportunity to advance in your career - open door policy - great working environment - considers employees input

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of at this time

    Continue reading
    HUB International2020-01-09
  2. "Good Job, not good paya"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Insurance Renewal Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Active work environment, co workers

    Cons

    The pay is not very high

    HUB International2020-01-17
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work if you like swearing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Developer - Pacific Home Warranty in Surrey, BC

    I worked at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fully stocked gourmet kitchen, casual work environment

    Cons

    Negative and highly unprofessional work environment, many staff swear (the managers doing most of it), high turnover, job uncertainty for sales positions due to fluctuating home building market,

    Continue reading
    HUB International2019-08-25
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Unionize to have a voice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Broker in Windsor, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Our group of brokerages was previously under Cypher Systems Group until HUB acquired the business 1 year ago. We are now called HCC. The process has felt nearly seamless, with most jobs staying the same. Working hours are what is expected when providing services across the country. We have some good leaders and employees who truly care and improve the working environment. There are some employees banding together to form a union because they know that it is better to have a collective voice. Bettertogether.ca is the site if you are interested. With more of us banning together we can create a better environment for all.

    Cons

    As I said, some leaders are really good, but many are stepping down because being good at your job is not enough, you need to be ruthless to succeed. We have lost benefits since HUB took over, and the RRSP contributions are extremely worse, it's almost to the point where they are saying we dont care about your future. Pay is lousy, and inconsistent. And there is a lack of quality communication to employees on what is going on withing the company.

    Continue reading
    HUB International2019-08-01

    HUB International Response

    August 26, 2019HR Manager, HUB Customer Central (HCC)

    Thank you for your feedback and service with the company. We have worked hard over the past year to successfully transition to HUB and we are happy to hear you feel the process was seamless. Our employees are an integral part of our business and we agree that our leaders and employees care about what they do and that we continually look for ways to improve and evolve. We most certainly care about the future of our employees which includes their financial stability, career development, engagement and overall wellbeing. Since becoming part of HUB, most employees have benefited from HUB’s benefits and perks and while our RRSP structure has changed, HUB is committed to ongoing review and analysis of all benefit programs. We are committed to reviewing pay throughout the company on a regular basis through annual salary reviews to ensure we are meeting our goal of providing fair and competitive wages to all employees that appropriately reflects their role and performance. Open communication with our employees is important and an area that requires continuous improvement. As you know, employees recently had the opportunity to complete HUB’s annual engagement survey to share their voice on what is working well and opportunity areas. We are currently holding focus group sessions to better understand the feedback from the survey and to share ideas on ways we can be better. We look forward to listening, learning and taking action where needed to support employee engagement. We encourage you to join these sessions as another avenue to share your feedback. Please also feel free to connect with your manager or HR to further share your input or any concerns you may have. Together we can continue improving and making HUB a great place to work!

    Continue reading
  5. "Personal Insurance Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Insurance Account Manager in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment. Supportive management. Low stress most times. Fair commission structure. Plenty of perks during and outside of company hours.

    Cons

    Hard to think of any cons. I remember the initial training process takes a bit of time and isn't structured like most jobs I've had, but management understands that and has realistic expectations. The company knows about this and I believe will improve it.

    Continue reading
    HUB International2019-02-24
  6. Helpful (6)

    "What do you do when HR is the problem?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are so many other employees who suffer the same horrible treatment from the Chief of HR so you always have someone to commiserate with

    Cons

    The HR department is run by a bunch of children (average age is early 20's) with zero experience who are sycophants one believes can be manipulated. If you show you have a mind of your own or a conscience then Chief's quickly turn on you. There is no support for employees. This department in not run by anyone who has the employee's best interests at heart. Instead the desperation to be accepted by the rest of the executive team means lower level employees get thrown under the bus so a Chief can save face. If leaders within HR treat employees this bad then imagine how the rest of the company treats one another. If a Chief is allowed to bully employees, yells and swears at them then how can you expect respect from anyone else? Employees have tried reaching out to the highest level in the company's HR department in Manitoba seeking support for things such as sexual harassment, medical issues and even mental exhaustion due to their work environment only to have individuals at the highest level of this department flat out reject an employees claim, offer no support, speak about these issues to other employees, and inevitably lose that person as an employee. A truly terrible environment.

    Continue reading
    HUB International2019-03-15
  7. "Personal lines Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Lines Underwriter in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive work environment. Great work -life balance. If you are willing to work hard, the management acknowledges it and helps you grow in your career. Its an ongoing learning process here, as you get to work with some of the well experienced underwriters.

    Cons

    So far, I do not have any cons regarding this workplace.

    Continue reading
    HUB International2018-10-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Personal lines Accounts Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Lines Account Manager in Oakville, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hub is a great place to work. The work environment is great. Hub is growing in the right direction in the insurance industry. My managers are great and very understanding and empathetic towards their employees. My team is great. We all work together to make it better everyday. My team and managers is the reason why I go to work everyday, my second family. Hub encourages work life balance and they work with you to make sure that you can achieve that. If you like challenges ,fast working environment and balance in life with a sense of achievement HUB is the place for you.

    Cons

    No work place is perfect, but you make it perfect with a great team and thats what you will get at HUB International, Oakville.

    Continue reading
    HUB International2018-06-06

    HUB International Response

    June 15, 2018Manager, Personal Insurance

    We encourage ongoing feedback informally and formally. HUB recently launched our Company-wide Annual Engagement Survey for feedback and welcome constructive feedback to focus on areas of opportunity. Thank you for sharing your positive employee experience and for your support!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "HUB International.....a GREAT organization with strong values!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Resoure Manager in Leamington, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As an employee at HUB International, I speak first handedly about the incredible opportunities for professional growth with an organization that continuously strives to make the work environment better for their employees. The strong core values & benefits help us manage our work / life balance. Being recognized for a job well done, or rewarded for going above & beyond, or the employee appreciation days, HUB is a great place to feel appreciated while you learn and evolve your skill set.

    Cons

    There are no cons in my opinion.

    HUB International2017-12-15
  10. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at HUB International

    Pros

    Terrific work environment with awesome people and leaders Huge company with many opportunities

    Cons

    Some work is repetitive, but it's not awful

    HUB International2017-06-29
Found 39 reviews