HUB International Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

HUB International Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 471 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
HUB International CEO Marc Cohen
Marc Cohen
69 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "low pay, not too much room for growth(in 16 reviews)

  • "Poor management - condescending and does not know how to manage a team or provide training to entry level positions(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Organization, Great Employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Insurance Advisor in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    A lot of opportunity for career development. Great people to work for and amazing people to work with.

    Cons

    No complaints, very positive place to be.

    Advice to Management

    None. Keep up the good work!

    HUB International2018-08-28

    HUB International Response

    March 27, 2019Manager, Personal Insurance

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience working at HUB. We are glad you see opportunity for career development.

  2. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at HUB International full-time

    Pros

    Nice environment to grow

    Cons

    I don’t have any problem with this company

    HUB International2019-04-04
  3. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HUB International full-time

    Pros

    Innovative, flexible, growth oriented, opportunities for people starting their careers.

    Cons

    Depending on department can be high turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Keep lines of communication open with front line staff and be open to feedback.

    HUB International2019-05-12
  4. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HUB International full-time

    Pros

    Great people and office environment.

    Cons

    High turnover and no bonus for admins.

    HUB International2019-04-30
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Low pay for workload & lack of culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - no real pros to discuss - casual Friday's - somewhat of a work/life balance

    Cons

    - low pay - low appreciation - no opportunities for advancement within the organization - high volume work - high turn over - no motivation

    Advice to Management

    - support talent and provide carrier development - pay accordingly - offer bonuses to Associates & Assistants

    HUB International2019-05-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Account Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at HUB International full-time

    Pros

    Good environment to learn and grow your knowledge

    Cons

    Barely any salary increases. Lots of politics.

    HUB International2019-03-16
  7. "Personal Insurance Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Insurance Account Manager in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment. Supportive management. Low stress most times. Fair commission structure. Plenty of perks during and outside of company hours.

    Cons

    Hard to think of any cons. I remember the initial training process takes a bit of time and isn't structured like most jobs I've had, but management understands that and has realistic expectations. The company knows about this and I believe will improve it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. It's nice to not have management hover over you while you work. They are there to support you and they actually still have their own small book of business so they know what's going on in the industry.

    HUB International2019-02-24
  8. "Personal Lines Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Lines Account Manager in Saint John, NB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So far I have had more appreciate and kinds words than I did with a company I spent 10 years with. It really goes a long way with an employee feels gratitude.

    Cons

    I have not complaints as of now

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are!

    HUB International2019-02-20

    HUB International Response

    April 4, 2019Manager, Personal Insurance

    Thank you for sharing your feedback as it relates to training. We realize it can be overwhelming and our aspiration is to ensure our employees are fully trained to be successful in their jobs. We welcome ongoing feedback.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Do Not Recommend - Avoid Accounting/Finance Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Financial Analyst in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Provides tuition reimbursement, discount insurance benefits and good general employee benefits.

    Cons

    The worst job I've ever worked in my life. Poor management - condescending and does not know how to manage a team or provide training to entry level positions. Got screamed at and compared to other employees by the controller with their office door open and coworkers and other departments cubicles beside their office at 3 months into the job. The pay is below market average. The team sees extremely high turnover, probably...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ensure those in position of management know how to manage. Hold management workshops and listen to employee concerns. Address departments with usually high turnovers, it happens for a reason.

    HUB International2019-03-20

    HUB International Response

    April 9, 2019Chief Financial Officer

    Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear about your experience. We take comments like this very seriously and are always looking to improve. Month end reporting can create the need for extra work hours at times, and we make every effort to provide advanced notice if longer hours ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Lack of culture & on boarding/low pay for work load"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HUB International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not many pros to discuss

    Cons

    Management looks the other way at lazy employees. Lack of on boarding organization. Very slow to adapt to what employees are looking for..will have trouble retaining top talent. Behind the times in regards to online presence

    Advice to Management

    Offer your employees better pay commensurate with expectations. Offer bonuses to Associates & Assistants

    HUB International2019-02-16

    HUB International Response

    April 4, 2019Chief People Officer

    I’m sorry to hear about your experience at HUB. We are continually improving our employees' experience, including the onboarding process. We are exploring tools and resources to help create an organized, informative and fun experience at HUB. We continue to look at ways we can retain ...

    Show More
Found 471 reviews