HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY CEO Lyndon & Jamie Cormack
Lyndon & Jamie Cormack
26 Ratings
  1. "Great company and people - if the money's right, take the job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Energetic workforce that is generally very positive and encouraging (think the opposite of a draining workplace). -Pays on time - a lot of people think this is a given but you'll be surprised how bad other employers are about this. -Opportunity to rise as it's a growing company that is expanding organically. There isn't a lot of formal career progression mapped out, but I know they're working to fix this... quickly.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Being a younger company, some areas/depts don't have as much structure. However in other ways this is a positive (more flexibility, less red tape, more opportunity to craft your own change).

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. The company has grown rapidly and will start to plateau. This is where your resolve to run a stable ship will be valuable... also don't try to take the company!

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2018-10-19
  2. "Good Entry Level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good brand to have on your resume, relaxed culture, good work life balance

    Cons

    Low pay, disorganized, slow to promote

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2019-12-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A disappointing experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My colleagues were great. They are enthusiastic, friendly and supportive. I appreciated my team very much and I wish they had the support structures in place to let them excel.

    Cons

    It is a company of young people with little experience in typical business workflows. Plans are made and abandoned. There is no concept of having a project planning pipeline and no BAs or PMs who can negotiate priority and time between business and development. As a result, tasks were poorly planned and their completion fell to people on the frontlines even though the main issues were due to planning and (lack of)... the sign-off/approval process. Upper management is a mixed bag. Upon hiring, my recruiter and I were repeatedly reassured that my pre-requisite of working from home several days a week would be respected, after an initial in-office onboarding period. However, I (and my team) faced repeated passive aggressive comments regarding my work schedule even when I was only wfh once a week. I also was criticized for working from home for medical reasons (concussion symptoms) despite having a doctors note. To me, this reflects a level of unprofessionalism that is not appropriate for this size of company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your failure to plan your business objectives does not constitute an emergency on the part of your frontline employees.

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2019-11-08
  4. "Worst Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Facilities in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A few of the staff werevery nice tow work with

    Cons

    A lot of the staff were horrible to deal with

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2019-11-05
  5. "Thumbs up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    -awesome office with great people -great experience for growth

    Cons

    -product mentality is not too concerned with keeping up with environmental demands -for a design role in the city compensation is on the lower end

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2019-09-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "They don't pay enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    Interesting variety of work, good team of strong and talented people, fun and relevant business.

    Cons

    Compensation is lower than competitors.

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2019-04-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company to Start Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Accounts Payable in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to get your foot in the door in the field of accounting. Management team are supportive and is always willing to listen. The expectation is always high and

    Cons

    -Limited room for growth -employee training program are limited -on going coaching(1 on 1's) are far in between -Salary is slightly below market

    Advice to Management

    Invest back in your greatest assets: your employees. Although focus in growth, sales is crucial to the business; none of it would happen if it wasn't for the team that works under you.

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2018-09-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    young, fun, flexibility, work/life balance

    Cons

    lack of accountability. No defined rolls or responsibilities

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2018-07-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It's a special place - but it's not for everyone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    - high-growth, fast-paced environment - some of the most passionate people work here - opportunities to learn, build and create. - growth is there if you are proactive and can function outside of what's "traditional".

    Cons

    - not clear on what the company is about - values, purpose, etc. - lack of structure and processes - this will be important to focus on as the company continues to grow.

    Advice to Management

    It's time to get a CEO and start focusing on culture and developing your employees. Build your foundation now, so you are solid for the future.

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2018-06-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company avg salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY full-time

    Pros

    - Fun brand to work for - beautiful offices - good location

    Cons

    - salaries are not the best - not a ton of room for growth

    HERSCHEL SUPPLY COMPANY2018-03-26
Found 41 reviews