HD Supply Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
36%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
HD Supply CEO  Joe DeAngelo
Joe DeAngelo
470 Ratings
Pros
  • "As a former employee, I was able to work with great people, assist in multiple projects on all the product teams(in 48 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance, great coworkers(in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "Constant shift with upper management with increase of workload whilst minimal compensation(in 55 reviews)

  • "Very little concern about work life balance(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    people, pay, room to grow, good hours

    Cons

    nothing is bad about this company

    HD Supply2020-02-29
  2. "N/A"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time

    Pros

    Not much to give any pro rating

    Cons

    Very poor leadership in BC

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2020-04-24
  3. "Good"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Shipper/Receiver 

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family culture which is great

    Cons

    Micromanagement by branch manager and supervisors

    HD Supply2019-11-08
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible work environment"

    1.0
     

    I worked at HD Supply

    Pros

    They offer great services for their customers.

    Cons

    The work environment at the terminal location is hostile. They do not appreciate helpful suggestions for their business. The store on terminal ave is the dirtiest place I've ever been/worked. They hardly ever clean (expect to get sick) During the hiring process I was told it's possible to be out of the store and on the road as a rep in as little as 3 months so I made that my goal but every time I brought it up I was told to slow down and expect to be there for 8 - 10 months. There is a woman working at that store who treats customers and fellow employees horribly. Consistently felt like I could never do anything right despite receiving compliments from other staff about how hard I was working and how fast I was picking things up. There was no real training process, I was not told any goals for training and had to figure a lot of things out for myself (I could understand that because they were short staffed). It didn't seem like they cared about my development as an employee at all.

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2019-07-09
  5. "Excellent Potential Career with Opportunity to Advance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counter Sales Representative in Vaughan, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in one of the branches in the GTA as a counter sales clerk, one of the more busy locations, and got to develop a lot of new skills in sales, administrative duties, pricing, receiving and product ordering. It's not just a mindless customer service job like Home Depot or Walmart. You get regulars from a variety of trades who love to talk about their work, so even without any experience in the trades you can pick up enough product knowledge pretty quick just from chatting with customers. The supervisors and managers encourage asking questions, and would rather you ask then guess, so again, learning is quick. Upper management, IT, HR, Shipping and Receiving, and the warehouse personnel are all wonderful people ready to help or stop and chat. The benefits are incredible too, and you qualify after 3 months of employment. Work in any branch or office position runs Monday to Friday, generally no later than 5pm. Additionally, they like to hire from within, so once you start in the company, you can find yourself in other positions throughout the company after a year of continuous employment.

    Cons

    The company's sales and inventory software is complicated and can be a bit of a learning curve. There is heavy lifting up to 50lbs, and the shelving is high, so there may be difficulties for shorter folks like me. They don't have part-time availability, which makes it hard if you're trying to upgrade your schooling for advancement. As well, most upper-level positions are located in Vaughan, Ontario, so if you want to advance beyond the branch or district manager level, you may have to relocate.

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2019-04-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Company was not what was sold to me."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply

    Pros

    Branch was close to home.

    Cons

    Company has no employee retention plan. Company has high turn over rate. In my one year at the branch five employees left the the branch, two being management. Branch was always short staffed. Company expects long hours, in the name of team while not demonstrating team work themselves. Company expects excellent performance in sales and product knowledge but will fail tremdously in providing training. Of the four positions in the branch I worked in, two of them are management. The district level management create a feeling of us and them.

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2019-05-01
  7. "Counter Sales Associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time

    Pros

    Friendly team members that are always eager to assist.

    Cons

    - Poor management - No room for advancement

    HD Supply2019-03-26
  8. "Inside sales"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Horrible company lack of support no fun at work, not even how was your weekend

    Cons

    high expectation low support understaffed all the time all they care about is sales and share holders

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2018-10-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of experience to gather and most customers appreciate your service

    Cons

    Mgmt team doesnt have a clue how to grow a business in a new market. They also hire managers based on who can tell the best stories and spout rhetoric...not on vision and leadership.

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2018-06-06
  10. "Administration"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Terrific organization with opportunity to learn.

    Cons

    Minimum communication between Management team and support staff

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2017-12-08
Found 931 reviews