Guusto Gifts Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Guusto Gifts Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Guusto Gifts CEO Skai Dalziel
Skai Dalziel
15 Ratings
  1. "Great company with Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Business Development 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guusto Gifts for more than a year

    Pros

    Joe and Skai are caring individuals who are not only passionate about the business, but also about the development of their team

    Cons

    No cons at all in my book!

    Guusto Gifts2019-10-18

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 21, 2019Co-Founder

    Thanks for the kind words!! We care deeply about helping our people develop and reach their goals, as they put so much into helping the company reach it's goals. We hope to get to work with you again in the future. Muucho Guusto :)

  2. "Guusto is awesome! Such a rewarding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere that encourages learning and values hard work. I continue to learn and grow so much in this position as I started out as an intern one year ago. My experience with Guusto has been nothing but positive and extremely rewarding!

    Cons

    Could not think of any!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work guys :)

    Guusto Gifts2019-10-15

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 16, 2019Co-Founder

    So great to hear that you've had such a positive experience working at Guusto! We'll continue to do everything we can to encourage you to LEARN, LEAD, and take LEAPS. We're committed to helping you accelerate your career growth, so never hesitate to chat with us about your career vision and goals. Muucho Guusto :)

    Show Less
  3. "A fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guusto Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people that care about what they do. It was a pleasure to be part of the team; I always felt that my work and opinion were valued. The work can be challenging at times, but the atmosphere at Guusto does not make it feel overwhelming at all.

    Cons

    Not really, keeping doing the amazing work that you are doing

    Guusto Gifts2019-10-06

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 10, 2019Co-Founder

    Thanks for the kind words! The pleasure was all ours, and we hope your time at Guusto really helped you leap forward in your career. Fingers crossed we have the opportunity to work with you again in the future. Stay in touch, as things are growing fast, and we could have a lead developer role available next year. Muucho Guusto :)

    Show Less
  4. "Managers are passionate about the company and your growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Product Designer and Web Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company of passionate, enthusiastic people who are invested making in the company better. Managers are very open to feedback to become better managers themselves. They regularly recognize you and your work as well as do a wonderful job of empowering their employees. A lot of creative freedom and very much feel valued and included despite being the one designer among larger teams.

    Cons

    There currently isn’t a design team. Instead you work in multidisciplinary teams of marketing and developers. If you’re seeking to be a design manager or director, this is the place to learn to be at the center of it all and have a lot of ownership!

    Guusto Gifts2019-10-04

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 10, 2019Co-Founder

    Thanks for the glowing review! We love getting feedback that can help us get better as managers and a company. I'm excited to let you know that with all the recent growth, we likely have another designer starting soon to collaborate on projects with you. Muucho Guusto :)

  5. "Amazing team and a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing & Customer Success Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing, work is always a fun environment! A lot of flexibility to focus on projects that interest you. Learning opportunities are endless. Great mentorship from co-founders, with a great deal of encouragement and recognition.

    Cons

    Fast paced environment, so be prepared to adapt quickly.

    Guusto Gifts2019-10-03

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 10, 2019Co-Founder

    So great to hear you're learning a lot and enjoying the work with your fellow Guustonians. Ultimately, it's our people driving company success, so we'll definitely continue to encourage and support you however possible. Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review! Muucho Guusto :)

    Show Less
  6. "Had a great co-op experience at Guusto!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I would rate my time as a co-op student at Guusto a 5/5 and I felt recognized throughout the term. Joe took time out to recognize my work on sales and that really helped motivate me to do even more.

    Cons

    I think one thing that would have made it a 6/5 is receiving more responsibilities as I became accustomed to my role.

    Guusto Gifts2019-10-02

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 3, 2019President

    Glad to hear you had a 5-star experience working at Guusto! Based on your thoughtful feedback, we'll work on adding more responsibility to junior sales positions, and strive to earn that 6th star. Muucho Guusto :)

  7. "Great product, great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guusto Gifts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Guusto provided an opportunity to start my career in Canada as a software developer. It was lot of fun working closely with founders. They are very supportive and working with them have helped me learn lot of things about startup and its functions. I made connections with people in tech community while I was working at Guusto and ever since it has helped me boost my career. Landing job at Guusto built strong... foundation for my career and I couldn't have done it without their support.

    Show More

    Cons

    I was the first developer hired. Although I had an opportunity to work on different projects, it would have been nice to have few other developers on the team to help with the projects.

    Advice to Management

    I have seen tremendous growth at Guusto in recent years so keep doing what you are doing! I know the team is growing and I hope to someday come back and be part of Guusto team again. :)

    Guusto Gifts2019-10-01

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 3, 2019President

    Thanks for the glowing review! We really enjoyed working with you to get the company off the ground, and couldn't have done it without you. We look forward to hopefully having you re-join our growing team in the future. Muucho Guusto :)

  8. "Skai and Joe are the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing and Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guusto Gifts for less than a year

    Pros

    I would rate my experience working for Guusto 5 stars. It was my first real work experience so I'm very grateful for learning a little bit of everything as it was very transferable to the future work I've done. I always mention Guusto during job interviews! I learned so much from Skai, Joe and the whole team. There was a lot of independent work, which was good for me as it allowed me to grow, gain confidence and... learn from my mistakes.

    Show More

    Cons

    I honestly would not change anything from my experience working at Guusto.

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend setting clear goals and expectations at the beginning of the internship and checking in once a week to make sure everything is going well on both ends. This will give you both a chance to receive feedback from each other.

    Guusto Gifts2019-10-02

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 3, 2019President

    The best? Stop, you're making us blush ;) We're far from perfect, but it's nice to hear you enjoyed your internship experience, learned a lot and gained confidence. Thank you for the thoughtful recommendations. You'll be happy to know that we've implemented monthly performance reviews to set goals and share feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to work with you again at some point. Muucho Guusto :)

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great work environment, lots of flexibility, project oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing & Client Success Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Direct Communication with Founders Team-based decision making High employee investment Flexible hours for part-time workers Fun work environment The co-founders, Joe & Skai, are always open to new ideas and very trusting in their employees - no micro-managing, but are always available for guidance. Working here has vastly improved my skills and confidence in my professional ability.

    Cons

    Not necessarily a con, but things move fast here so potential employees should be able to adapt quickly to client needs.

    Advice to Management

    Moving in the right direction - keep it up!

    Guusto Gifts2019-09-27

    Guusto Gifts Response

    September 29, 2019President

    Great to hear you've had a positive experience working at Guusto! It is indeed a fast paced environment, so we'll continue to do everything we can to support your efforts to adapt quickly to changing customer needs. It's a treat for us a founders to work with such a capable team of people! Keep up the great work :) Muucho Guusto, Skai - Co-Founder

    Show Less
  10. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn and work on high-profile projects. Friendly environment filled with very smart people. Skai and Joe are two great mentor who highly value the opinion of their employees, and are always open to new ideas. The company is growing a lot, which makes us proud of our work.

    Cons

    Not as structured as a big company, but that's part of the working-in-a-startup deal.

    Guusto Gifts2019-09-30

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 3, 2019President

    So great to hear that you're proud to work at Guusto!! It has been a major team effort to get the company where it is today, and we're equally proud of all the talented people that have made it happen. Also, we're working on adding a bit more structure to company operations (e.g. weekly department/all team meetings, regular performance reviews), while maintaining a creative environment that encourages innovation. Keep the feedback coming, as it always helps us get better. Muucho Guusto :)

    Show Less
Found 18 reviews