Guusto Gifts Reviews

Updated Feb 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Guusto Gifts Co-Founder Skai Dalziel
Skai Dalziel
13 Ratings
  1. "Great workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1 - Good culture, teamwork, and good benefit. 2 - They treated their co-ops very nicely. It gave them lots of experience in the industry. 3- Very flexible hours.

    Cons

    1- Needs more methodology and planning in the office. Uses any process for delivering tasks as (Scrum or Agile or waterfall).

    Guusto Gifts Response

    February 6, 2020Co-Founder

    Thanks for taking the time to provide a positive review and feedback on how we can get better! We'll look to implement your suggestions for more processes and planning.

  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice environment opportunity to try new technologies flexibility remote job benefits

    Cons

    i dont have any cons

    Continue reading

    Guusto Gifts Response

    January 27, 2020Co-Founder

    We'll continue to look for the best and brightest people to join our team and share our vision to change corporate cultures around the world! We'll empower them to be leaders and celebrate their amazing results :)

  3. "Be a Part of Something Special"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Founder in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Accelerated career trajectory - Exciting and fast-paced - Your ideas matter - Flexible work schedule - Encouraged to be your awesome self - Downtown Vancouver office - Living our core values (Listen, Learn, Leap, Lead) - Helping companies create cultures of appreciation and recognition - Social impact

    Cons

    Tech startup life is not for everyone. We expect our people to work hard and be passionate (but then go home!). During hyper-growth (our current state) priorities can change quickly. As a result, there are always new challenges to tackle. People require a level elasticity, in their role, and an openness to being adaptable, in order to get things done collaboratively. The initial salary is also a bit lower than working for an established corporation. But for those willing to roll up their sleeves, there is a tremendous amount of learning, and the opportunity to fast-track their career.

    Guusto Gifts Response

    January 27, 2020Co-Founder

    We'll continue to look for the best and brightest people to join our team and share our vision to change corporate cultures around the world! We'll empower them to be leaders and celebrate their amazing results :)

  4. "Guusto is awesome! Such a rewarding place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere that encourages learning and values hard work. I continue to learn and grow so much in this position as I started out as an intern one year ago. My experience with Guusto has been nothing but positive and extremely rewarding!

    Cons

    Could not think of any!

    Continue reading

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 16, 2019Co-Founder

    So great to hear that you've had such a positive experience working at Guusto! We'll continue to do everything we can to encourage you to LEARN, LEAD, and take LEAPS. We're committed to helping you accelerate your career growth, so never hesitate to chat with us about your career vision and goals. Muucho Guusto :)

  5. "A fantastic place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guusto Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people that care about what they do. It was a pleasure to be part of the team; I always felt that my work and opinion were valued. The work can be challenging at times, but the atmosphere at Guusto does not make it feel overwhelming at all.

    Cons

    Not really, keeping doing the amazing work that you are doing

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 10, 2019Co-Founder

    Thanks for the kind words! The pleasure was all ours, and we hope your time at Guusto really helped you leap forward in your career. Fingers crossed we have the opportunity to work with you again in the future. Stay in touch, as things are growing fast, and we could have a lead developer role available next year. Muucho Guusto :)

  6. "Amazing team and a great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing & Customer Success Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing, work is always a fun environment! A lot of flexibility to focus on projects that interest you. Learning opportunities are endless. Great mentorship from co-founders, with a great deal of encouragement and recognition.

    Cons

    Fast paced environment, so be prepared to adapt quickly.

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 10, 2019Co-Founder

    So great to hear you're learning a lot and enjoying the work with your fellow Guustonians. Ultimately, it's our people driving company success, so we'll definitely continue to encourage and support you however possible. Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review! Muucho Guusto :)

  7. "Had a great co-op experience at Guusto!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I would rate my time as a co-op student at Guusto a 5/5 and I felt recognized throughout the term. Joe took time out to recognize my work on sales and that really helped motivate me to do even more.

    Cons

    I think one thing that would have made it a 6/5 is receiving more responsibilities as I became accustomed to my role.

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 3, 2019President

    Glad to hear you had a 5-star experience working at Guusto! Based on your thoughtful feedback, we'll work on adding more responsibility to junior sales positions, and strive to earn that 6th star. Muucho Guusto :)

  8. "Great product, great people to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guusto Gifts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Guusto provided an opportunity to start my career in Canada as a software developer. It was lot of fun working closely with founders. They are very supportive and working with them have helped me learn lot of things about startup and its functions. I made connections with people in tech community while I was working at Guusto and ever since it has helped me boost my career. Landing job at Guusto built strong foundation for my career and I couldn't have done it without their support.

    Cons

    I was the first developer hired. Although I had an opportunity to work on different projects, it would have been nice to have few other developers on the team to help with the projects.

    Continue reading

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 3, 2019President

    Thanks for the glowing review! We really enjoyed working with you to get the company off the ground, and couldn't have done it without you. We look forward to hopefully having you re-join our growing team in the future. Muucho Guusto :)

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great work environment, lots of flexibility, project oriented"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing & Client Success Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Direct Communication with Founders Team-based decision making High employee investment Flexible hours for part-time workers Fun work environment The co-founders, Joe & Skai, are always open to new ideas and very trusting in their employees - no micro-managing, but are always available for guidance. Working here has vastly improved my skills and confidence in my professional ability.

    Cons

    Not necessarily a con, but things move fast here so potential employees should be able to adapt quickly to client needs.

    Continue reading

    Guusto Gifts Response

    September 29, 2019President

    Great to hear you've had a positive experience working at Guusto! It is indeed a fast paced environment, so we'll continue to do everything we can to support your efforts to adapt quickly to changing customer needs. It's a treat for us a founders to work with such a capable team of people! Keep up the great work :) Muucho Guusto, Skai - Co-Founder

  10. "Great place to work at"

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guusto Gifts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn and work on high-profile projects. Friendly environment filled with very smart people. Skai and Joe are two great mentor who highly value the opinion of their employees, and are always open to new ideas. The company is growing a lot, which makes us proud of our work.

    Cons

    Not as structured as a big company, but that's part of the working-in-a-startup deal.

    Guusto Gifts Response

    October 3, 2019President

    So great to hear that you're proud to work at Guusto!! It has been a major team effort to get the company where it is today, and we're equally proud of all the talented people that have made it happen. Also, we're working on adding a bit more structure to company operations (e.g. weekly department/all team meetings, regular performance reviews), while maintaining a creative environment that encourages innovation. Keep the feedback coming, as it always helps us get better. Muucho Guusto :)

Found 16 reviews