Grubhub "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Grubhub Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated 24 de Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
507 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some restaurants wind up giving you a sample of free food and/or a drink(in 68 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is huge at Grubhub(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Wear and tear on vehicle, need to manage your own expenses(in 33 reviews)

  • "Although it can take a bit to get a response to some customer service issues(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Hostile Work Environment and Workplace Bullying - Don't Work Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Specialist - Care Department in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    $30 of free food every week.. that's pretty much it.

    Cons

    -Low pay, especially for a call center in downtown Chicago -Incompetent managers, who are promoted based off of favoritism, and not education or experience. -Workplace bullying and discrimination. When reported, it went totally ignored by HR, and then made the reporter a target for further retaliation, High turnover- the toxic workplace culture led many to quit, and the department was frequently understaffed which made the workload difficult at times.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-11-24
  2. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in New York, NY

    I worked at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of exposure, free food

    Cons

    Nothing really. Everything was perfect

    Grubhub2019-10-15
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Toxic, Hostile, Manipulative, Etc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is competitive and benefits are decent, although the healthcare is several steps below most of what I've experienced. Free food is good too, I guess.

    Cons

    Everything else. This was the worst job experience I've ever had. I hesitate to go into my full position or office location for fear of further retaliation, but suffice it to say that upper management and HR completely dismissed multiple complaints of harassment, unprofessional behavior, and discrimination that I raised, instead retaliating against me, working together to make my life a living hell by gaslighting me and undermining my authority and respect until I either quit or had such a severe nervous breakdown that my work suffered and they could fire me.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-11-12
  4. Helpful (4)

    "OK job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, happy hours, free food all the time including $30/wk to spend on Grubhub, laid back atmosphere, good location

    Cons

    Zero professionalism. Almost all employees are young and there’s a lot of drama. Certain people can get away with anything and there are no fair standards. Territories can make or break your paycheck and competitors are making it a very tough sell. Grubhub does not adjust their business model accordingly to help with competitors passing us in the market. If you think you’ll ever get promoted, you won’t. Stock has went down over 50%, and although we do get RSUs, we’ve lost so much of them and you have to wait 4 years to vest. High turnover rate makes it difficult to feel stable.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-06-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "More negative than positive for me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Care Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. $18 a week in free food credits to your Grubhub account. 2. You can wear really anything you want..... really ANYTHING. *please see cons about the negative side of this. 3. You get some stock after your one year mark and then up until, i think the 4th tear. It is just a bit confusing and no one really knows how to explain it to you. 4. The break room is huge and usually a some apples or bananas for free. (Sodas to..if your into that..)

    Cons

    1.People show up in pajamas, short-shorts, or mid-length shirts. People also walk around wrapped in blankets with no shoes. So It is always just feels a bit non-professional. 2. The break room may be big BUT about 95% of the people on the floor are as messy as a 2 year old. You may want to cover your nose, and keep some hand sanitizer in your back pocket. (THE HAND SANITIZER WAS NEVER FILLED) 3. The work environment can be a bit chaotic. You have your good agents then the really bad ones. There is really none in between. 4. The rules and policies kept constantly either how you spoke on the phone, various things on the back end, or just a work-flow policy. 5. Not one single lead would ever be on the same page and it all just got confusing. 6. It really seemed as I was a machine tied to my desk. 7. Leads and managers have their prized people and they make sure you know it. I could probably go on.. If you can handle a stress, lower paying (compared to other call centers down town) , chaotic, frantic managers, anxiety-riddle, passive-aggressive emails blaming you but thanking you at the same time, then you should have no problem working here!

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-04-30
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Sinking Ship!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Used to be awesome. Free food occasionally.

    Cons

    Grubhub, once a thriving, culture rich company has taken a sharp turn for the worst. This place is quite literally a sinking ship, competitors seem to have figured this out as well and DoorDash is now leading in market share. The CEO Matt and his sidekick Adam (CFO) are running the place straight into the ground. Their egos have clouded their ability to make sound decisions by hiring Senior Leadership equivalent to a bunch of conceited frat boys. The culture is driven by this new leadership whom are outwardly disrespectful to lower ranking employees and continue to push female employees out of positions of power. Adam drives the ship and stands behind an HR department that prefers to let talent go over addressing countless complaints against leadership. Don’t be fooled by their offers of RSU, the stock has and will likely continue to tank as leadership has no vision and competition continues to grow. Run, don’t walk away from this place!

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-03-28
  7. "Great for self employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for more than a year

    Pros

    Scheduling flexible Fun environment Big tips Free food No one to bother you

    Cons

    Traffic Minimum guarantee not worth it

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-01-30
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Simple work for simple pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    The job pays weekly. Scheduling is very flexible, especially if you're granted access to hours earlier. Staying above 85% of your acceptance rate is key to give you that flexibility. For the most part, customers are pretty happy with getting their orders. Some restaurants wind up giving you a sample of free food and/or a drink. Not a bad side job if you like to drive.

    Cons

    Driving in major cities can be very stressful. Many restaurants and customers don't have ample parking available at their establishments. Drivers are constantly pressured by restaurants, customers and even customer service to temporarily live park or pull into spaces that are designated for handicapped or other types of service vehicles to pick up and make deliveries. Some meter maids and police do not take into consideration the plight of the delivery driver and are quick to ticket your vehicle even if you're only gone for a couple of minutes. In some cities, tickets can range from $50-$100 easily for one offense. Unless you're working full time hours, one ticket can take away almost everything you've earned for that one day. Pay is highly dependent on tips. Certain areas can be high on calls, but very low on offers. Some customers do not tip at all, and any rejection or missed call can forfeit any contribution made by Grubhub to ensure a $12/hr pay rate. Grubhub's contribution to gas is also very minimal. Depending on your vehicle, the contribution doesn't even cover one gallon of gas for several hours of work. The job is highly reliant on your cell phone, which can cause a major distraction while driving if an offer comes in, or if customer service calls to get the status of a delivery. Almost every issue tends to be scapegoated onto the driver, when many of the problems are things a driver cannot control.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-01-17
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Job would be so much better if managers knew what they were doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free food and pop and employees are cool

    Cons

    managers suck!!! They promote managers based off favoritism and then the managers behave like children. Highly unprofessional. management make you feel like they don't want you to succeed. management make this a terrible place to work and they are not at all flexible.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-01-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "????????"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Operations Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool co-workers. Young culture. Lots of free food. Great office location/amenities, fun after-work drink events/holiday stuff, TONS of coffee, meal credit every week so about 2-free meals

    Cons

    Can't speak for the whole company but data ops is a micro-managed culture where everything you do is mindless and robotic. You basically edit menus and input/update menu information on a "point" and "review" system so if you don't hit a certain number of points a week, you get penalized. No room for advancement. Did I mention its BORING? Some people legit watch netflix as they do their job ....I worked this job for a year and not sure how you can do it for longer....it was very difficult. Super high turn over rate. Pay was not great as well.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-01-06
Found 68 reviews