Grubhub "driver care" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Grubhub Employee Reviews about "driver care"

Updated Jul 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
507 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some restaurants wind up giving you a sample of free food and/or a drink(in 68 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is huge at Grubhub(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Wear and tear on vehicle, need to manage your own expenses(in 33 reviews)

  • "Although it can take a bit to get a response to some customer service issues(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "driver care"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Not reliable, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE ANOTHER SOURCE OF INCOME!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for more than a year

    Pros

    None, they say you can make your own schedule. But that's dependent on you completing the slave wage orders they send and they do send alot. But expect to be penalized for not excepting 4 dollars to drive for 40 mins in rush hour traffic.

    Cons

    Long drives, low pay, long waits in restaurant, bad communication between driver care and driver.

    Advice to Management

    No advice as any feedback or concerns will surely be swept under the rug and not regarded as valuable.

    Grubhub2019-07-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of Support for Drivers, Easy to lose App Access"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver 

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Good wages for deliveries + paid mileage

    Cons

    If you take a break in deliveries after 60 Days you automatically lose driver app access ( which no other delivery company does) No local office for driver support (have to call driver care) and they aren't able to help in all issues Very Hard to update information, such as banking account or insurance- (have to email and wait for days for a response, (in my case weeks) for information to be updated Driver... Specialist does NOT respond to emails Very Disorganized Lack of Support for drivers Randomly lose driver app access for no reason at all/tech glitches, etc. can only contact Driver Care during business hours

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See Cons above

    Grubhub2019-03-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Delivery Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 

    I have been working at Grubhub

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good money for easy work

    Cons

    Inconsistent pay, driver care hard to get a hold of

    Grubhub2019-01-13
  4. "Inconsistent so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Delray Beach, FL
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    work on your own schedule

    Cons

    company is a little cheap and the driver care is pretty much useless

    Advice to Management

    look after your drivers and your company will be the most successful above all other competitors in the same market.

    Grubhub2019-01-14
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Grubhub is VERY misleading with their pay and do not seem to care about their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Choosing your own blocks/schedule Direct deposit on time

    Cons

    The company cheats you out of money all day every day. They'll say you are guaranteed at least minimum wage per hour, but God forbid you reject or even miss an order because they'll take the pay you had gotten from earlier in the day away from you!!! There were times when an offer came in right when I'm delivering to the customer and I missed it. Do they want me to tell the customer "hold on I'll give you your food... after I accept this next offer"???? Also, your tips go towards your hourly pay. You can make like $7 in tips on an order, well that went to your hourly pay. (I learned that it's best to tip all food delivery drivers and servers in restaurants in cash cause it helps them better, I recommend everyone else doing the same) So if I'm lucky I get $10.00 an hour, and that's usually what I make. You can make a little bit more if you work during the busy times, but still it's not that much more. I seem to get offered one order per half an hour. A lot of sitting around in your car, trying not to look like someone sketchy hanging out. Plus it sucks when it's really extreme weather outside when you are waiting around. So much wear and tear on your car. I do this on the side, I thankfully have a full time job so this is side money. I wouldn't want to do Grubhub full time. Their driver "care" doesn't care at all, at least their phone reps. I had an order at the local hospital, which that is already a pain because of having to park in the parking garage and that taking so long to deliver (plus the restaurant of course had to be one of the ones that take a really long time) I called the driver care number to see if they could let the customer know (I think it would look better if they did) and the rep said "I don't understand what you want me to do!", I just hung up. They don't care. It's easier to text customer care when you are at a restaurant and the food is late, they respond saying they'll let the Ch know. They'll send you order offers while you are still on the one you have, even before you delivered. They don't understand if you are in a place where it's going to take longer than usual (like the parking garage issue). At least wait until we have checked the "delivered" box on the app. And you try to avoid missing or rejecting an order because you'll lose your pay or your acceptance rate and getting future orders is in jeopardy. You only get paid mileage for the driving you do between the restaurant and where the customer is. THAT IS ALL!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your delivery drivers better! Stop stealing our money because we have to reject or if we miss an order. Set up the app to only send drivers offers after they have delivered the order they are on. Even if we click on "arrived" to the customer's address doesn't mean we are about to set the status as "delivered" a minute or two later, because we can be in a place where we have to park far away (like a... parking garage) or the customer's exact address is hard to find, especially at night in the dark. Offer bonuses/incentives to drivers when you send us the app message that more blocks are available to work at that moment. With my input and the posts from the others on here it sounds like your competitors like Door Dash and Uber Eats pay better and treat their employees better and are the way to go.

    Show More
    Grubhub2019-01-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid working here if at all possible, they do not care about you at all and will drop you with no warning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Delivery Driver in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Shift freedom/flexibility: -You can pick up as many or as few shifts as you want each week. -You can drop shifts at any time including during the shift. -You can choose to not work at all for up to 2 months before they deactivate you. Autonomy: -You choose what orders to take or reject (rejection rate does not matter except for receiving minimum pay). -When you get an order offer, you can see the total... amount you will make and see a map of where the restaurant and customer are. At one point you could even remove an offer you accepted on your own, but now you have to call into support for help. -You can wear pretty much whatever you want, you do not have to wear Grubhub gear. Other: -You occasionally get free food, either from customers who don’t answer the door for 10 minutes (or provide the complete wrong address) or from restaurants that make the wrong food. -You are not obligated to deliver the food to a new address if you arrive and discover the customer provided the wrong address. You are also not obligated to drive back to a customer who was not able to accept the food in the 10 minutes after you arrived for the delivery. Summary: this job is perfect for someone who needs to make spare cash around their existing schedule. It is very flexible and gives you a lot of autonomy.

    Show More

    Cons

    Unreliable: -There is essentially no guarantee of minimum income with this job. Some nights will be busy and you'll make $20/hour. Some nights they will send you nothing until the last 5 minutes before your shift is done, then send you an order very far away that they hope you will not take so they do not have to pay you the $12/hour minimum for accepting at least 85% of your orders for the day. They DO NOT... CARE AT ALL about their drivers: -The software is always full of glitches, they are changing the app all the time and seem to take NONE of the feedback given to them by drivers. They have limited the information that drivers can see about the order, we used to be able to see drinks, pizza sizes, and more about the order and now we cannot. This appears to be a tactic to force accountability on the restaurant to give the complete order to the driver, but makes it impossible for drivers to predict the size of the order they are picking up or verify that they have the complete order. -For the longest time they also did not mask the driver's OR customer’s phone number when drivers had to call the customer, meaning the customer now has your unblocked phone number to harass you if they choose OR your delivery driver can harass you by phone if you don’t tip. -Their driver care call line is awful in so many ways. The hold music seems designed to drive you crazy and make you hang up, it goes dramatically up and down in volume and has silent moments to make you think that someone has gotten on the line. The hold time is typically 10 minutes minimum, which means 10 minutes where you cannot make more money. It is always up to chance whether you will talk to someone helpful or someone who just wants to get you off the phone. -You will have to send multiple repeat messages to get an answer solved via email, if they ever respond. They have several email addresses to send different issues to, plus your “local driver specialist” to contact about problems. I have had issues getting responses from all of them, they do not seem to be adequately staffed. -THEY WILL DEACTIVATE YOU WITH NO WARNING: this happened to me and two of my friends on separate occasions. We went to log into the app for our shifts and were unable to do so. We received NO prior warning that we would be deactivated, and were not informed of the reason for deactivation. We had to email and call our local driver specialist many times before we got a response. We were eventually told we were deactivated for clocking out of a shift too early and not dropping the remaining hour of the shift so someone could pick it up, and we were also told they did not respond to our emails and calls initially because “there is nothing they could do for us”. This exact scenario happened at least 3 times, to myself, my roommate, and my friend. Grubhub DOES NOT CARE about their drivers, and will happily deactivate you with no warning and leave you with no way to make an income. Summary: Grubhub does not care about their drivers at all. They do not take your feedback, they do not respond to your messages, they do not care about your problems. They barely make the app functional enough for use. You cannot rely on this job for a steady income, and in fact they might just drop you with no warning and leave you to pick up the pieces.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to your drivers. I know myself and my friend gave constant feedback on how to make the app better and how to make the driver experience better. I NEVER saw any of the feedback we provided put to use. It regularly felt like Grubhub could not care less about me as a driver and did not want my feedback, even after 3 years of working for them.

    Grubhub2019-01-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Delivery driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Freelancer - Delivery Driver 

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Hourly rate, make your own schedule

    Cons

    merciless management Expect you to have deliveries done from one town to the next in a "timely manner" of 20 mins with no regards to traffic and distance. Can't forget if you speak up and give "feedback" for unfair treatment ,means you will be put under review for following instructions layout in an email from GrubHub personal as a result from genuinely wanting to improve your ranking after being unfairly... judge by the last driver care agent that supposedly tried to "help" instead make deliveries I lot more difficult. When it comes to review your garanteed hourly rate taken away. Do you have to make an appointment to fgiure out what wrong but they will call you an hour before agreed amount appointed time to work things out with you. Want to be treated less than a human being? This is the job for you!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    High expectations results from high support. No support you get what you give.

    Grubhub2018-12-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Driber"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Logansport, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    No boss to report to.

    Cons

    When you call driver care for one it shouldn't even be named driver care because they do not care! there is no one to go to when driver care is acting inappropriate especially when you have screenshots and proof and you have no one to turn to! They will take your whole day's pay from you and treat you unfairly!

    Advice to Management

    Clean house in the driver care department because they don't care.you also need to look at your region you should not offer a 35-minute delivery when regions are an hour from one end to the other long.

    Grubhub2018-12-05
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Just confused about the actual mileage pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own schedule Work alone

    Cons

    I’m pretty sure they tell legal white lies about your mileage pay You spend a lot on gas Customer care can suck App crashes a lot They do not respond to emails Technical difficulties Can barely understand driver care representatives (thick foreign accents)

    Advice to Management

    Don’t lie about how you pay your drivers when it comes to mileage! We put a ton of miles on our cars already! The least you can do is pay us accordingly! 50 cents per mile is nice...but when I drive 12 miles I expect my $6! Not some bull crap mileage you came up with! I will be documenting my mileage and adjusting it on my taxes! I don’t know how legal what you are doing when it comes to the mileage pay! I’ll be... finding out though! The concept of Grubhub is great because it really does allow me to try and contribute to my household now that I’m a new mom. My baby only breastfeeds and refuses a bottle! I went from $3000 a month to NOTHING a month until I signed up for Grubhub! Please do right by your drivers! If you’re making 6 figures or more... you should find it in your budgets to pay us properly!

    Show More
    Grubhub2018-09-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Unrealistic delivery timeframes, rude support staff, random missed orders never received"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Driver in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty easy money and can be fun

    Cons

    I have had orders pop up as declined or missed that I never received. I once got hit 3 times for the same order and they refused to fix it even though it was an obvious system error. I have been sent orders that are already very late and had driver care call me and ask me why I was late when I had literally just received the order a minute before. They will sometimes overload you with orders where you have no choice... but to decline some of them. The timeframe that they give for some orders are unrealistic. It’s not possible to deliver food in 10 minutes if the customers home is 30 minutes from the restaurant. If you are on the phone with customers or driver care and an order gets sent it will automatically get declined some of the time.

    Show More
    Grubhub2018-08-26
Found 33 reviews