Grubhub Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Grubhub Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO  Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
14 Ratings
  1. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in New York, NY

    I worked at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of exposure, free food

    Cons

    Nothing really. Everything was perfect

    Grubhub2019-10-15
  2. "Growth depends entirely on your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time

    Pros

    1. Smart and friendly collegues 2. Cutting edge technology 3. Awesome products

    Cons

    1. Slow growth 2. Managers tend to keep scapegoats in their teams

    Advice to Management

    Reach out to your engineers and focus on transparency. People are leaving the company because of slow growth and politics.

    Grubhub2019-09-23
  3. "good work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work life balance, location, food, smart folks

    Cons

    one week sprints, some managers are particular about hours per day

    Grubhub2019-08-20
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Nice place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Easy working environment and no pressure - Up-to-date technology - Unlimited Paid time off - Helping seniors and management - Opportunity to grow the career - Stocks RSU grants - Located right in the heart of Manhattan - Great work life balance - Meal perks ($18/week) and lot of food in cafeteria

    Cons

    - Meal perks $18 is just a 1.5-2 meals. - Base salary is less then most big companies in New York

    Advice to Management

    - Increase Meal Perk to cover at lease 3 meals. $18 in Manhattan is not enough - Increase base salary to match with other big tech companies in New York

    Grubhub2019-04-24
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation, atmosphere, office amenities, innovation

    Cons

    Competitive amongst each other, lacking service perks

    Grubhub2019-03-31
  6. "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly environment, amazing support, smooth interview process

    Cons

    Project not decided before you start internship

    Grubhub2019-03-14
  7. Helpful (23)

    "A great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Good and improving engineering culture. * Good and improving transparency, no silos or inter-departmental secrecy. * General relaxed, friendly atmosphere. * Customers love the company.

    Cons

    I found no major downsides.

    Grubhub2018-12-17
  8. "Fantastic place to learn with a great support system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    - People were incredibly nice. Way nicer and more supportive than I expected. It's clear that the software engineers like to work at Grubhub - Great culture and benefits - Going into work was genuinely a great time every day. I did interesting work and during breaks my coworkers and I chatted - Intern experience is well thought out and well executed

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of many...this was a dream come true internship

    Grubhub2019-02-22
  9. "A great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment. Management appreciate hard work

    Cons

    I can't think of any at this moment.

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you are doing

    Grubhub2019-02-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in New York, NY

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work life balance. fast growth

    Cons

    base salary is lower than big tech companies

    Grubhub2018-07-25
Found 23 reviews