Grubhub Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Grubhub Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
315 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some restaurants wind up giving you a sample of free food and/or a drink(in 67 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is huge at Grubhub(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Although it can take a bit to get a response to some customer service issues(in 33 reviews)

  • "Inconsistent pay, driver care hard to get a hold of(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Totally nonsense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, not required to be on phones.

    Cons

    This place is a gong show, nothing is consistent, they exploit all workers from all sides, paying absolutely minimal wages and expecting miracles screwing over restaurants with their absolute unreliable services and stressing already tired and money pinched companies to refund unintelligent, aggressive and lying customers. This place is going to go down the drain fast.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2018-06-09
  2. "Great People, hampered by US who hold the pursestrings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time

    Pros

    Culture, staff, UK mgmt and salary

    Cons

    Old product, no marketing

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-10-22
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Save yourself!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co-workers are great. They feed you sometimes too much!

    Cons

    Working there! The company is flawed. Full of a bunch of smart kids playing with toys. They do no think of who and how their work impacts others. Major outsourcing . The care department is full of back-stabbing liars who are in charge. They are also users who will chew you up and spit you our as soon as you are not of service or they can find someone else to use. Little to no opportunity for growth and development, no advancement opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-10-22
  4. ""Scrappy""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get free lunch, but it's only valid within 1 mi. of the office.

    Cons

    "Scrappy entrepreneurs" is a slogan at Grubhub; Google defines "scrappy" as "consisting of disorganized, untidy, or incomplete parts", which is 100% accurate. Working in Grubhub's marketing department means working with disorganized and incomplete parts, every day. You will be asked to do things at the last minute, your coworkers will gossip about you if you insist on work-life balance, and you may be made to work a weekend if you were sick during the week (as a salaried employee). Don't take the company stock RSUs as compensation, because you will leave with half of what you started with. There is very little room for personal/professional growth, and no resources at the company to help you.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-11-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic, Hostile, Manipulative, Etc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is competitive and benefits are decent, although the healthcare is several steps below most of what I've experienced. Free food is good too, I guess.

    Cons

    Everything else. This was the worst job experience I've ever had. I hesitate to go into my full position or office location for fear of further retaliation, but suffice it to say that upper management and HR completely dismissed multiple complaints of harassment, unprofessional behavior, and discrimination that I raised, instead retaliating against me, working together to make my life a living hell by gaslighting me and undermining my authority and respect until I either quit or had such a severe nervous breakdown that my work suffered and they could fire me.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-11-12
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Be prepared to be under valued and put your career goals on hold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on interesting projects.

    Cons

    Zero opportunity for career advancements, training, recognition, and overall success. Pay is pretty low compared to other companies as well.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-10-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with Grubhub for almost 3 years, and I am still excited to come to work! It is a fast paced environment where I am challenged to solve new problems on a daily basis. The teams are very supportive, collaborative and excited to be making an impact.

    Cons

    No real cons that I can think of. As mentioned above it is a fast paced environment, sometimes there is little direction and you have to be able to think on your feet often.

    Grubhub2019-09-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Grubhub

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on cool projects and take ownership out of wheelhouse.

    Cons

    No opportunity for career advancements, training, recognition, and management is a non existent. Salary is pretty low too.

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-10-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture & Tons of Room for Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tons of room for growth and development. This place is an innovation hub

    Cons

    Pay structure needs to be revisited

    Grubhub2019-10-12
  10. "Growth depends entirely on your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time

    Pros

    1. Smart and friendly collegues 2. Cutting edge technology 3. Awesome products

    Cons

    1. Slow growth 2. Managers tend to keep scapegoats in their teams

    Continue reading
    Grubhub2019-09-23
Found 523 reviews